We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Angeles City
Reviewed July 28, 2012

was staying for 2 nights with friend. Quick response from staff when checked availability of rooms thru email. Coffee is great,will go again. Only minor problem is there were no phone in my room but was told it is under repair. Its ok,small matter.....

VJ

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank aidozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

I found this hotel through Tripadvisor and based on the recommendation of 5 top hotels around the area. And i booked it through Agoda. I can't say if i was disappointed with the hotel or the reviews. We didn't expect to see the heartbreaking scene along the way to the hotel. We also didn't know that cars are not allowed into the area at night so we had to walk with our heavy bags along the seedy premises. Quite a daunting experience. The entrance of the hotel looks ok with a cafe but the reception area was uninviting it was bare with bad lighting. But the hotel staff were friendly enough. Very helpful and accommodating. Our room was quite spacious with jacuzzi and sauna. It's a premier spa room after all! There were 3 of us and I asked for extra bed but they didn't any. But was offered a comforter instead. So i just took it. The bed was big enough for the 3 of us but i was coughing so much and didn't want to disturb my friends' sleep with my cough! The tap water smell awful. I had to use bottle water to wash my mouth with. I think this hotel needs a big face lift to make it look lively and inviting. I guess most of the reviews came mostly from from guys so i can understand the 4 and a half stars rating. Will i come back and stay in this hotel again? Probably not...

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCentralHotel, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Hello, thank you for your feedback of our property. We are going through quite a few changes in the lobby area - there is a new restaurant coming in soon and everything from the street to the reception will be upgraded. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to walk your bags to the hotel from your vehicle. Having a hotel on "walking street" where the road is shut down daily to vehicular traffic is a definite nuisance for some. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that your continued travels are spectacular. (By the way, try "Cloud 9" in Siargao Island in the province of Surigao del Norte for the best surfing waves around.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. Its right in the middle of the famous night life Balibago is famous for. I requested for the room facing the streets, the intention was to experience the activities of the streets, but I got the room facing the back of the hotel. How lucky I was, the room was quiet, I had a very good rest while I was there. Even I switch off the lights in the room, its lit up from the led of the AC, nice rest that I have.

The staff is friendly, though a little shy, but overall approachable. I booked the hotel through my email and deposit was made through Western Union. No fused.

If I ever come back to Angeles City, this hotel will be in my mind. And I'm going to miss the cafe latte. Really enjoyed the afternoon coffee, watching the activities at the streets. Don't worry bout eateries, there are lots of them nearby...

Room Tip: Rooms facing behind the streets is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgtenn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed around five days in a deluxe room. I thought their rates were a little expensive for a night there, but I really like the place. The shower with good water pressure is rare in the Philippines, the huge tv was cool, bed and pillows was comfy and being to choose a front or rear facing balcony... it's a very nice addition. I can easily get some fresh air out of the room and have a nice sit at the mini balcony. Meals I brought back to the room are enjoyable to eat there too.

The staffs were accommodating, I'll be a repeat customer for sure. The only bad thing I have to say is the bbq chicken from room service was too sweet to finish it. :P

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Central during the last week of April and it was my best vacation ever! Great Beds, Awesome TV and a balcony that is the best people watching place in Angeles and where I spent hours soaking in the sights.

The staff was very good and one of them is super hot.

Thumbs up to Grand Central.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony. It is like Mardi Gras every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Spend 4 nights in this hotel and can only speak of only good things. Nice rooms, friendly staff even great food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel in the middle of March 2012 along with my wife and 6-month-old son – I found the hotel a great place to stay and the staff very helpful and professional. The rooms were in very nice shape and comfortable they looked like newly remodeled. The staff would go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable and they were very nice to speak too. The only down fall to staying there was that the Hotel restaurant belonged to another company so your restaurant bill could not be charged to your room. I also would not recommend this Hotel to any family coming to Angeles City to visit. The hotel itself was great but the location for anyone with a family is bad, it is located on a street that in the early evening turns into a street that is full of women of the night and it filled with heavy drinkers and people wanting to have a very good time. Not a place for children – the hotel safeguarded against any of that entering into the hotel itself but a child could easily look outside of the window and see things that they should not see. If there were no children involved, I would highly recommend this hotel to stay. warning: the taxi.. Warning about the taxies – get a price before you get into the taxi – the hotel arranged for a taxi for me to go to Olongapo City, the hotel told me the price for the taxi but when I got to Olongapo City it was a 1000 more pesos’ then what the hotel told me they were suppose to charge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vamp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandCentralHotel, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Hello Sir - I wanted to respond to your review regarding the taxi service. Grand Central Hotel uses an outside agency to do all of our transportation. After having read your review I immediately called for a meeting with the owner of the taxi service. I discovered that for your trip all 7 of his regular drivers were already in transit, at which point he had to rely on another agency to send a backup. I am still trying to discern whether that agency had a different rate than what you were quoted and if there was some miscommunication on the part of our service, or if the driver at the time was acting out of his own self interest. Regardless, price changing is unacceptable. Often, drivers will ask for a tip or occasionally ask for more if the destination a person had in mind was difficult to find (for example, driving around for an extra hour or two looking for a place that no one can easily spot.) Grand Central does not condone price changing at the last minute and would like to advise anyone who uses our transportation service to notify the hotel via email (info@gchac.com) or phone (+63-045-892-0998) to report such behavior. I would like to offer a refund of the additional charge to you so please contact us at your earliest convenience or let us know on your next stay so we may rectify the problem. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Angeles City hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
Hotel Royal Amsterdam
#9 of 71 in Angeles City
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
Pacific Breeze Hotel & Resort
#15 of 71 in Angeles City
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Park Tower Resort
Central Park Tower Resort
#7 of 71 in Angeles City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Score Birds Hotel
Score Birds Hotel
#11 of 71 in Angeles City
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penthouse Hotel
Penthouse Hotel
#28 of 71 in Angeles City
154 reviews
2.5 mi away
Valentino's Hotel
Valentino's Hotel
#18 of 71 in Angeles City
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 132-A Fields Avenue | Balibago, Angeles City, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly The Orange Lion)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Pampanga Province > Angeles City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Angeles City
Price Range: $48 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grand Central Hotel, a spacious, 3-story boutique hotel located in Angeles City. We are equipped with an in-house security system and security guards. We have free high-speed Wifi internet in every room, the outdoor bar, and restaurant. Our restaurant is always open and room service is available 24-hours a day. Our showers are extremely hot and we have extra-large high-pressure shower heads. When visiting Angeles / Clark, you'll feel right at home at Grand Central Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 2.0 km away, this 3.5-star hotel can be easily accessed from Clark Airport. Also within easy reach are Fields Avenue, Bayanihan Park, Fontana Golf and Country Club. Whatever your reason for visiting Angeles / Clark, the Grand Central Hotel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. Whatever your reason for visiting Angeles / Clark, the Grand Central Hotel is the perfect venue for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing