We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming old hotel in a lovely setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunza Serena Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hunza Serena Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunza
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi, Pakistán
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming old hotel in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Serena hotel chain is managing the renovated Hunza Baltit Inn hotel. The rooms are neither too spacious nor too small. Rooms have cable a TV and free wifi. Each room has a small veranda which offers a wonderful view of Karimabad and Nagar as well as three ice-capped peaks. Staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Restaurant offers a variety of menu. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arshadsiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have visited the Serena on many occasions. It is a lovely hotel with outstanding views ands well trained staff. The rooms are small but one has a porch to see on and look over the valley which is the best room of all. The food at the restaurant is the best in Karimabad with a lovely dining room or sitting on the patio.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank lostwithsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Serena Hunza Baltit Inn during a recent visit to Northern Pakistan. Everything that I had heard about the Hunza area and the Serena Hunza Baltit Inn met and exceeded my expectations. In my opinion, the views of the mountains and valleys afforded from the Serena cannot be overstated. It really is a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

All of the rooms face the magnificent panoramic vista. The rooms themselves are quite adequate in size and appointment ... though I'm not sure that there are any queen-size beds. The service, as is my experience at all Serena hotels, is very good. The breakfast services started slow, but once everything was out it was a good buffet -- of course, eggs to order: try the Pakistani omelet.

Check-in and check-out was a breeze; Internet works just fine; the beds are comfortable (enjoy that mountain air); shower (only) with good water pressure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BLA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Its indeed the best place to stay in Hunza. Its in the heart of the city and all other areas are easily accessible from this place. Though its a small one but quite comfortable and well maintained property. The staff took me to their garden and i tasted the cherry from their own garden which was very good. The view from the balcony is magnificent and they also have beautiful three huts having view to the valley. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadiq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Perhaps the best place to stay in Hunza. The property is small but the ambience and services are very good and impressive. The room is small but clean and is equipped with all necessary things you'd need including a heater. Every room has an open balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the magnificent Hunza valley. You can enjoy the breathtaking view of Hunza right when you open the door. The iconic Baltit Fort and the imposing mountains are just located on the right above the property. The Lady Finger Mountain is just in front of your eyes. The staff are friendly and attentive. Food is excellent. Free wifi internet is available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrapassornNathonglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having done my research as to where to stay in Hunza we ended up at the Hunza Baltit Inn - although it was a little bit more expensive it was well worth it for many reasons.
1. The location is great. You get fabulous views across the valley, superb views of Baltit Fort as well as of Rakaposhi (from the garden)
2. You can walk easily to the main bazaar (which is full of cobbled stone streets lined with shops selling antiques, handicrafts, local dried fruits and nuts and filled with interesting characters.)
3. You can also easily walk to Baltit Fort (in fact I recommend you walk and dont drive as you meet locals along the way and get a much better feel for the Bazaar and old town)
4. The food is also excellent - lots of local Hunza dishes which we loved trying as well as some old favourite desi karna dishes from the south.
5. The hotel organised fantastic day trips for us. I thoroughly recommend the trip across Attabad Lake to Gulmit to visit the Al Amyn school and to see the black glacier and borith lake - its a long day but so worth it - just amazing.
We also walked across Pakistan's fastest moving glacier - Hopper Glacier - took us about 4 hours to walk across it and back.Its a steep walk down to the glacier so you need to wear good walking / hiking shoes. We took a picnic and sat with incredible views of the glacier as well as the surrounding valley. All the days trips aside there is so much to see and do in the local area - Ganesh (ask for Ifthikar the guide - he is soooo knoweldgeable), Baltit Fort and Altit Fort are also brilliant - a big congrats to the Aga Khan for their restoration work.
We also had lunch Kha Basi cafe at Altit Fort (cooked for by local women. Be sure to order your lunch before you do the tour of Altit Fort as it takes a little time) and make sure you call into the see the Women's social enterprise - they make beautiful furniture - we were so impressed seeing women carpenters in action.
So all in all Hunza Baltit Inn provided us with an excellent base, with excellent service and food and with so many things to see and do.

We stayed in both the tents and the rooms and actually loved the luxury tents as they have more privacy and superbs views. If you prefer to stay in a room the best rooms to ask for are the first two rooms as you enter the hotel - they appeared to be the most spacious.

We cant wait to return to Hunza (its one of the most beautiful places in the world) to do some more trekking and we will definately book Hunza Baltit Inn.

Room Tip: The luxury tents are fantastic (there are only 3) otherwise if luxury camping isnt your thing then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank upmarketadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here two nights and just loved it. Friendly staff, lovely cosy room and excellent restaurant. Wished we could have stayed longer. The perfect getaway spot with the most spectacular scenery. Ideal for walkers and climbers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happyhiker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunza
0.0 mi away
Hotel One Skardu
Hotel One Skardu
#2 of 2 in Skardu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunza View Hotel
Hunza View Hotel
#1 of 2 in Karimabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#1 of 9 in Rawalpindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elites
Hotel Elites
#2 of 30 in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl-Continental Hotel Gwadar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarai Silk Route
Hotel Sarai Silk Route
#3 of 10 in Hunza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunza Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunza Serena Inn

Property: Hunza Serena Inn
Address: Karimabad | District Hunza, Hunza, Pakistan (Formerly Serena Hunza Baltit Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Gilgit-Baltistan > Hunza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunza Serena Inn is located at a 2-hour drive north of Gilgit in the ancient town of Karimabad, formerly known as Baltit. The Inn stands in a magical setting surrounded by lush green terraced fields, apricot & apple orchards, awe inspiring snow capped mountains and offers breathtaking views of Mount Rakaposhi, Diran, Golden Peak, Ultar, Lady Finger and the Hunza Valley. The Hunza Valley not only provides outstanding natural beauty but it is incredibly rich in culture and history. At Hunza Serena Inn we offer a plethora of unforgettable authentic experiences for adventure, cultural and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hunza Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing