We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tours but horrible rooms”
Review of Breeze Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breeze Guest House
Ranked #14 of 19 Mawlamyine B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Even at a cost of $12 a night these rooms are overpriced. The place is a dump with uncomfortable beds, dirty bathrooms, and noisy fans. The only reason to stay here is because everything else in town is full. This place, like so many other budget accommodations in Burma, needs to be gutted and rebuilt. If you stay here you'll at least survive but you'll be hunting for a room elsewhere (good luck finding one).

Like most places the staff is friendly and we went on an excellent tour of Ogre island. It's possible to do it yourself, but the convenience of going through Breeze is well worth it. We explored lots of different homes and small village shops including rubber production, bamboo hats, people making bean and rice cakes, coconut rope and mats, and wooden sculpted canes. It was a good day and the cost was acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 198 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms are crappy and very small, service not so great, and i have not heard any positive reviews from fellow travelers. There are much better options in town thank this dump. Cheap so if you are on a very very tight budget, stay in this hole.

Room Tip: See room before you confirm your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Burma right now is FULL of tourists, it's basically impossible to travel ad hoc, reserving hotels well ahead is essential (and don't expect to get your first choice either). We did this for the Breeze, securing a $25 room with bath as we were arriving in the evening having spent 10hrs on the train from Yangon. We phoned twice to confirm our intentions, one week and two days before. When we got there although we 'had a reservation' the guest house was full, and up to a dozen more people in our situation arrived while we were waiting. We were given a concrete cell with room for a bed and nothing else. Roasting hot and with plenty of bugs, for $12. The lobby remained full of homeless new arrivers with 'confirmed bookings' for hours, god knows whether they all got rooms somewhere in the end. We were tired and dirty from a day's travel and couldn't even unpack anything (no room!), and the shared bathrooms were permanently occupied. We'd have walked away but daren't risk not getting a bed for the night as we checked out 3 or 4 nearby and all were full. We were lucky and got in at the Cinderella for our second night, great value for Burma right now at $30 and fabulous facilities. Sorry but in our view Breeze needs to be boycotted until the owner realises he can't treat paying customers like this ... It's NOT about the quality of the rooms first and foremost (although they are gross, and he is packing guests in like battery chickens), but about having a 'reservation' that means nothing and may leave you utterly stranded.

Room Tip: Ha ha! Perhaps travel in the wet season when tourist numbers are significantly reduced. Otherwise ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all I have to admit that I only stayed here because everything else in town was full (this is one of only four or five accommodations available in this city of 300,000; so make sure to book your preferred property well in advance via email or phone).

The only available room was one with a shared bathroom. It was a small room with a low ceiling, a small old table with a dusty (but working) fan on it, a spittoon (we are in betel nut territory after all), a stained cement floor, walls with stains in some places, two narrow single beds with thin pillows, a thin sheet on each bed (these sheets and pillow cases were the only things that appeared clean in the room). There was a small window with a ragged old teatowel acting as a curtain. There was little ventilation, and with the high humidity in Mawlamyine it was far from confortable, although I did manage a few hours sleep. OK it cost USD 8 which may seem little but for just over three times that you can have an amazing room at the Cinderella which makes the USD 8 look quite overpriced.

The (large) shared bathroom was shared with six other rooms. I was lucky and only found it occupied once (it had a lock so only the entitled room occupants would have access to it). In the evening the shower only had cold water, in the morning only very hot water (not possible to mix).

Cheap places need to exist but it is not that hard to put in some effort and cover the cement floor with something, and tidy the place up and keep it clean. After all USD 8 is more than a monthly income in large parts of Myanmar, and that's what this room brings in every night. So to me it looks like a lazy operator maxing out the profit. The latter I have no problem with, we all want to make a buck, but at least they could look after the place in a better way.

Staff were friendly, although I did not interact with them much.

If you really need to stay at the cheapest place in town and don't care about much else I guess this will do. Otherwise, stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms are large though not spotlessly clean by any stretch of the imagination. The real draw of the place is the staff- from the owner who will join you for breakfast and regale you with Buddhist legends, to the famous Mr Anthony (check your Lonely Planet) an excellent tour guide and all round good human being. It's also a good for being on a budget- we paid $14 a night for a double with fan and shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here because it seemed to be one of the only options for foreigners in town. The guesthouse is in a lovely old colonial building. The rooms, however, are gross and depressing. The first floor has been converted to hold many small tiny rooms, reminiscent from the hallways of dark, crampe railway cars. We had booked weeks in advance, but when we arrived, they didn't have our reservation and were all full. They eventually gave us a room with attached bathroom. The bathroom was full of bugs, and my husband described our room as looking like something from the movie Saw (that is NOT a compliment!). Small "windows" (holes with no glass) at the top of the walls made it very loud - you could hear lots of noise from people nearby. The second floor, where the owner and his family stay, was very nice - a proper colonial-style house. There was one tiny room up there, though I think without AC, and it was cute. If you're going to stay here, try for that one! Otherwise, pay a bit more and check out the Cinderella hotel. The worst part of the hotel, though, was having to pay $20 to stay there. I've stayed in places half the price that were much nicer! (Though prices in Burma do seem higher than in neighboring countries.)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I first stayed at the cinderella then moved here when funds were running low. I loved it here and prefered it to the cinderella. I thoroughly recomend the services of Mr Anthony, an elderly tour guide that works for them. He is a real gentleman of the old school and has a real sense of humour. The hotel overcharged me slightly and i didnt notice. Sometime later the owner came to me and said they had overcharged me and appologised and gave me $10 back. Thats honesty for you. Thoroughly recomended.

Room Tip: Choose a front room with a seaview if they are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mawlamyine hotels
0.6 mi away
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
#1 of 4 in Mawlamyine
112 reviews
2 mi away
Royal Hinthar Hotel
Royal Hinthar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mawlamyine
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinderella Hotel
Cinderella Hotel
#1 of 19 in Mawlamyine
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pinlon Pann Motel
Pinlon Pann Motel
#13 of 19 in Mawlamyine
11 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
#2 of 19 in Mawlamyine
64 reviews
0 mi away
Sawasdee Hotel
Sawasdee Hotel
#12 of 19 in Mawlamyine
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breeze Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breeze Guest House

Address: 6 Strand Road, Mawlamyine, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mon State > Mawlamyine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Mawlamyine
Price Range: $13 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Breeze Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Breeze Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing