We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Cinderella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cinderella Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Mawlamyine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Spent 2 nights at Cinderella. Very good Hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and I really liked all the complimentary snacks and drinks and the well stocked mini bar. Breakfast was eggs, toast and fruit. Is better than the Altran hotel where I have also stayed, however the Altran has a better location. WIFI can be a bit slow but hey this is Burma and is to be expected.

Room Tip: Away from the street, street rooms can be a bit noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    125
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
172
88
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed a week in Mawlamyine, and Cinderella Hotel is the best option in town....but do read on and be warned. For what it's worth, I rate the new Strand Hotel by the river as second best - although its beautiful rooms are something of a facade - for example, what's the point of having state-of-the-art bathrooms with no hot water?

The Cinderella hotel is uninspiring from the outside, but take a look - the corridors are full of lovely objets d'art, the rooms are reasonably-sized, bright, airy, clean and if you get a room at the back on the top floor you get fabulous views over the town and the palm fronds to the river. Throw open those windows when you wake up - it'll put you in a good mood. The rooms all have quite large balconies with bench seats - very pleasant for watching the sunset or for reading. Otherwise, there is everything you might need - hot water, air con, refrigerator, TV and so on. The typical mid-range facilities, in other words. Like another reviewer, I couldn't get the wifi working either, but there are internet terminals downstairs. Do try to get a room at the back, though - otherwise you will be facing a busy road with associated traffic noise beaming into the room.

The staff started off being exceptionally friendly, helpful and service-minded. Nothing was too much trouble, doors were being opened for me at every opportunity, the gentleman re-stocking my refrigerator wore white gloves (!).....but then this seemed to fade the longer we stayed there. The service, on occasions, became sloppy. I noticed more and more occasions of staff standing around idly, chatting and joking. Disappointing, although it didn't ruin the experience.

There were a couple of incidents, though, that did spoil things:

(i) We specifically requested from the hotel front desk an air-conditioned car and English-speaking driver to take us south of Mawlamyine for the day. What turned up was a driver who, almost literally, did not speak a word of English and the most beaten up vehicle I think I have ever seen. It had been stripped down to bare metal in many places where it shouldn't have been, and a couple of bits actually fell off during the trip. AIr con meant winding down a window. Not good. I know this is Myanmar, but please....don't lie about it. If you can't supply what we've asked for, just say so.

(ii) We paid, on a separate occasion after initial check-in, for 3 extra days. This was gratefully accepted at the front desk. Then, around 6 p.m. on day 2, it became apparent there was some kind of festival or party nearby because music and associated commentary was coming into the room so loud that it felt like I had turned on the TV at maximum volume. I'm not exaggerating. To cut a long story short, we found out (not from the hotel) that a 48 hour festival was being held one or two streets away, and it rendered our rooms uninhabitable. We had to check out and move elsewhere in the early hours. So many local people knew about the festival that I simply don't believe the people at the hotel front desk didn't know about it. They took our money with full knowledge of what was going to happen. That's just dishonest and unacceptable. It's really a shame, because otherwise I would have highly recommended this hotel...but they put profit before integrity. Cinderella Hotel, please note - running a hotel business is not just about maximising profit at every single chance.

For your travel arrangements, I suggest you speak to the guys at Breeze Rest House instead. They can also rent motorbikes, if you want one.

By the way, another reviewer said something along the lines of "there isn't much to do in and around Mawlamyine". Excuse me? What about the following:

- the amazing Moulmein Pagoda, as mentioned in Kipling's "Mandalay".
- the Death Railway cemetery.
- the old colonial churches.
- visiting some of the remaining Anglo-Burmese residents.
- the extraordinary scenery on a boat trip to Hpa-An. Don't miss this!
- the monastery on Shampoo Island.
- the forest meditation centre, established by a renowned Burmese meditation master.
- the Nwa-La-Bo temple, which is as good as anything you'll see at the golden rock temple.
- watching the sunsets over the river from a cafe, restaurant or teashop on the Strand Road.

...but actually the main pleasure is the soaking up the ambience and enjoying interaction with the locals in this extraordinary location.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Sn0wLe0pard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I found this hotel by accident while looking for another place that has apparently closed.
First the bad news: the rooms have carpeting. I don't like carpeting in hotels, especially in Asia. Also, the bathroom in my room had peeling paint and some mildew. A ventilation fan would solve these problems.
Now the good news: The rooms are very clean, including the sheets and towels. This is very important to me. The television and a/c were excellent. Hot water shower was hot! The rooms are large and nicely furnished. The rooms have balconies! The breakfast was excellent. And finally...the staff. In a word, wonderful. I stayed for 3 nights and they began to anticipate my needs. It became humorous actually. I would love to stay here again. So if you're going to Mawlamyine you must stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are close to a very big, old tree with lots of birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxjimOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is best hotel I have stayed in Myanmar .I highly recommend you stay here as it is wonderful value for money ...The room is spacious and there are so many complimentary gifts .The breakfast is delicious and I just hope the hotel can maintain this high standard .
Staff friendly but limited English .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganesha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The service in this hotel was absolutely incredible; particularly from a young man who speaks excellent English. We were offered glasses of free fresh juice often throughout our stay - and this was especially welcome upon our arrival when we were so hot and tired. The breakfast is actually quite big compared to other places we stayed in Myanmar. The restaurant is open in the evenings also (it's quiet - the town itself is quiet) where the food was good. The hotel has a computer room where the internet was a lot faster than we had experienced elsewhere in Myanmar.

Very clean spacious room. Fully working A/C. Satellite TV (with channels like Discovery and CNN - also rare for a hotel in a small town in Myanmar!) The minibar was ridiculously well stocked (see photo) and the beer was cheaper than in a local restaurant nearby.

There isn't terribly much to see in Mawlamyine itself so you only really need a couple of days. We took a local bus to a memorial to allied prisoners of war who died building the Siam-Burma railway. It was very moving and worth a visit.

If you're going to Mawlamyine, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you visit mawlamyine, don't forget to stay in Cinderella Hotel. It is so great.. . The best services among all hotels in Mawlamyine. Although we are very tried of visiting around Mawlamyine, when i reach Cinderella hotel , all stress and tiredness are released .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mawlamyine hotels
0.5 mi away
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
Ngwe Moe Hotel Mawlamyine
#1 of 4 in Mawlamyine
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hinthar Hotel
Royal Hinthar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mawlamyine
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mawlamyine
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
Hotel Queen Jamadevi
#2 of 18 in Mawlamyine
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel
Mawlamyaing Strand Hotel
#11 of 18 in Mawlamyine
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Attran Hotel
Attran Hotel
#6 of 18 in Mawlamyine
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinderella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinderella Hotel

Property: Cinderella Hotel
Address: No. 21 Baho Road, Sitkei Gone Quarter, Mawlamyine, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mon State > Mawlamyine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mawlamyine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cinderella Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cinderella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing