We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor checking in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mikie Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Berastagi
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Workers are desk are confused with check in? why need to call medan office when not sure. no communication. not 4 star. Toilet dirty all water every where. Promise welcome drink but never got one. No good when first arrive. must train staff to have good communication. dont say sorry as we had a long drive coming from parapat with road condition not so good.

Room Tip: noisy room. very danger steps. dont call it grand when it is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahchoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA.

We sincerely apologies for all your unhappy experience at Mikie Holiday Resort. We acknowledge all your comments and we definitely must improve on our co-ordination and customer service delivery. New measures have been implemented to ensure there will be no recurrence. Moving forward, with new management in place, we aspire to be the best hotel in Berastagi.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

the hotel is situated about 3km before you reach Berastagi coming from Medan so it's around 25mins to walk to town. Rooms are big enough with very high ceilings but quite sparsely furnished.The style is modern contemporary, quite unusual for the area. Wifi worked fairly well in our room. Bathroom was good but hot water is limited to a few hours in the morning and evening....not unique in the area but hard to understand why hotels do this. There's no aircon...and it's easy to understand why....it's very cool and in the evenings can be almost cold. The one thing we really didn't like was the lack of a top sheet between the bottom sheet and the bedcover....a strange concept and on reflection i should have asked for a sheet. breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious room and furnishings during your stay with us. We apologise on your encounter on the water heater duration, we will take measures to improve in this area. We also hear your concern on the lack of a ‘top sheet’, kindly beassured that our housekeeping department takes cleanliness very seriously, we change all removable sheets including the duvet covers every day. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel and our breakfast buffet, it is our pride and pleasure to serve delicious food to our guests.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The weather is cold here in Berastagi.Booked this hotel last minute and could only manage to get a family room due to other rooms which were fully booked. Room is clean but due to the cold weather here the room floor was a bit wet and cold.The bathroom is clean but was a bit smelly.The lobby of my room was facing the road so it was a bit noisy.Breakfast was nice with varieties to choose and eat.The staffs were friendly and very helpful.It was a peak season and was crowded during our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort,managed by ARIVA.

We regret that you felt the room to be a bit cold due to the inclement weather and we apologize for the unpleasant odour from the bathroom. The Housekeeping department will put more emphasison this and ensure all areas are according to standard.
Your kind comments on our staff being friendly and helpful have been shared. We place great emphasis on customer service and ypour kind comments will definitely give us even more momentum to provide service that delivers beyond expectations.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Overall the hotel is a great value. It was Christmas time and the hotel was beautifully decorated and the spirit of X'mas was in the air.
Had 2 connecting apartment style rooms on the ground floor away from the swimming pool hence it was pretty quiet. However we were triple sharing in one of the rooms; instead of providing an extra roll on bed, they could only offer to put a spare mattress on the floor! Which was one of the reasons I gave this hotel a 3 star rating. Luckily it was just for one night; try not to imagine any creepy crawly coming in under the door as the mattress can only be placed nearest to the door after shifting some side chair and table and pushing one of the beds slightly further into the room.
Breakfast was buffet style and they had a lot of choices to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA.

Thank you for your kind comments on our Christmas decorations and the great atmosphere during the festive season. Mikie Holiday Resort is happy to provide family cheer for every occasion.
We have noted your comment on triple sharing in the room. The room has been designed for double occupancy and additional bedding will result in some space constraints. Thank you for your compliments on the breakfast buffet, it is our pride and pleasure to serve delicious food to your guests.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Christmas was just around the corner when we stayed here. We were so tired when we reached the hotel but the moment we saw the beautiful interior & exterior decorations, we knew we made the right choice to put a night at this hotel.

Azalea Restaurant - we had ala carte dinner here, food was average but good buffet breakfast. To save cost, our package did not include buffet breakfast for children but this hotel just let the children enjoyed the scrumptious buffet breakfast unlike the other 2 hotels that we checked in.

Room - They gave us 6 rooms for our 6 families (13 adults & 10 children) on 1st floor, facing swimming pool. There's a balcony for us to enjoy the view. Beds were comfortable, large screen tv, many channels, free wifi, complimentary drinks & toiletries, clean towels. Try not to stay on the ground floor, can be noisy sometimes.

Service - We asked for extra bed & within minutes, we got it. Good service.

We didnt get to enjoy the theme park due to time constraint. The theme park opens only on Fri-Sun & they charge minimal entrance fee.

The only let down, when we woke up early in the morning to perform prayer and there was water disruption for about half an hour.

Other than this minor let down, we truly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emyliamohdnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on our Christmas Decorations and the great atmosphere during the festive season. Mikie Holiday Resort is delighted to provide cheer for everyone and for all occasions.We also appreciate your compliments on the breakfast buffet, we know how important a good breakfast is for the start of the day. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our rooms, our priority is to ensure that our rooms are well-equipped and guests are comfortable. We are pleased to inform you that Funland theme park opens every day during the school holidays and public holidays.
Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

One of the greatest hotel you can find in Berastagi. Stayed here for several times. breakfast was very good, had various of food and not so bad. Room was clean, but remember to avoid the standard rooms located behind the pool, cause had so many mosquitoes. if you had that room, your sleep might be a bad one. Also avoid stay here at peak season, can be so crowded, noisy and the price was way too high. The hotel has a very good theme park, one and only in berastagi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA. We are delighted that you have chosen Mikie Holiday resort on several occasions for your vacations.

We appreciate your kind commendation on our breakfast buffet.Indeed, we have been receiving positive feedback about our buffet from our guests all over the world. Regarding your concern on mosquitoes, please be assured that our housekeeping department practices pest control in the hotel grounds and all the rooms, it is our priority that guests feel relaxed during their stay with us.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very nice hotel with outdoor theme park, but, it was not opened during our stayed. As per traveler comment, the outdoor & indoor entertainment only opened during weekend. We stayed at the standard /superior room. Approximate USD43 per night included breakfast. The standard room is located at ground floor, facing the main road, or you can see the outdoor theme park. Every room has balcony, room space is consider very big. With flat screen TV & very comfort, clean bathroom. We checked in at night, so, never have chances to explore the Brestagi town. We only took our dinner in hotel at Azalea Restaurant. Surprisingly, those food all very nice. Must try the (fried) banana fritters with cheese & chocolate, really superb nice! Regret, that time the hotel did not provided buffet breakfast, maybe not much guests, so, they only served us with A-la carte breakfast. Not bad too. With the cool weather & big swimming poor, it's definitely a very good relaxing hotel. It suit for family to stay, and business trip as well. For backpacker, of course no problem. If I'm back to Brestagi, sure will stay at this hotel again, comfort room and yummy food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liiwa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

MikieHoliday, General Manager at Mikie Holiday, responded to this review
July 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Mikie Holiday Resort, managed by ARIVA.

We appreciate your kind feedback on our spacious rooms, room facilities and other amenities. It is our priority in making sure our guests are comfortable during their stay with us. At Mikie Holiday Resort, we serve wide variety of great tasting food, it is our pride and pleasure in providing great food for our guests.

Once again thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Chendry Kusmana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berastagi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sibayak International
0.3 mi away
Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
23.1 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 76 in Medan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sinabung Resort Hotel
Sinabung Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pondok Brastagi
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sinabung Hills Hotel & Cottage
21.2 mi away
Taman Simalem Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikie Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikie Holiday Resort

Address: Jalan Letjend Jamin Ginting, Berastagi 20151, Indonesia (Formerly Mikie Holiday Funland)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Berastagi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Berastagi
Price Range: $50 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mikie Holiday Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mikie Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikie Holiday Hotel Berastagi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing