We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to the underwater world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Desperate to learn to dive and inundated with options for where and who to learn to dive with me and my partner were drawn to the all inclusive package offered by TWD, turns out we made the right decision.
We were picked up on time and in a very comfortable car from our hotel in Legian. The drive to Tulamben was as described about 2 1/2 hours and very beautiful. On arrival we were met strait out of the car by our instructor the fantastic Erik. He sorted us out with BCDs, wet suits, boots etc. and then we were driven down the road to our room.

The room was fantastic, clean, cool, spacious, equipped with a tv/DVD, safe hot/cold water and a cute little pool. So far so good. 15 minutes after settling in Erik came down to our room to meet us, he gave us our manual, leant us the PADI open water DVD and arranged for our first afternoon pool session.
Erik was a brilliant instructor, attentive, enthusiastic, friendly, and greatly experienced basically everything you could want in a teacher. We did 4 dives in open water, at the wall, coral garden and 2 on the famous wreck, every dive was fantastic, he stayed with us,made us feel safe and confident, and genuinely let us enjoy our first experience of scuba diving.

Owner Wayan was also great, we had some problems transferring money and he was happy to give us 2 days to sort this out. Also contrary to popular belief and writing there are now ATMs in Tulamben. Wayan also sorted out our onward boat journey from Amed to Gili T.
There is also a selection of DVDs on sale at the dive centre, and DVD players in every room, a great way to end a long day of diving. Tulamben itself is small, the restaurants are well priced, highly reccomend the Nasi Campur from the joint opposite TWD offices.

The included breakfast wasn't sensational but it was a fine way to start off the mornings, and the included fruit juice was always tasty. If you don't fancy the suspect bacon there is always fruit salad and corn flakes.

I haven't really got anything bad to say about Tulamben Wreck Divers other than the Wi-fi at the resort didn't reach our room which didn't really matter thanks to the DVDs and studying to keep us entertained but might bother some. Thank you for such a great first experience of diving.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We first met Toni at the Bangkok Dive Expo and he very humbley described his resort and dive shop. We were swayed by his laid back manner and the brochure so we booked for a one week stay this October. The The excellent service started with our airport pick up and the three hour drive. We arrived late in the evening, placed our dinner order at the restaurant and ate in our room having had the food delivered. The resort staff picked up our dive gear and transported it to the shop and dropped off a motorcycle for our use. The dive guides are wonderful, the diving top notch, the food excellent, and the overall experience great! Toni and Dot take great care of the resort and new rooms are currently ready for use. Toni believes in ongoing maintenance and upgrades, unlike so many establishments that are reactive rather than proactive. The number of repeat customers (we will number among them) attest to the wonderful service and overall experience. This is a reasonably priced top notch holiday destination and we truly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you want a true Balinese experience, then visit this village. Excellent diving, particularly for macro stuff. Our dive guide Wayan was excellent and we did over 20 dives in one week. Was really sad to leave, saw turtles, mola mola sunfish, manta rays, bump head parrot fish, reef sharks and as mentioned lots of awesome macro stuff. Will go back for sure, excellent food, clean rooms, friendly people!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Meggan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loving this dive resort, the atmosphere is very cozy and we really love the small open pantry where the staff cooks us fresh breakfast every morning. We are on the block connecting to the dive shop. Rooms are spacious and clean, and it only takes us 2 minutes to walk from our room to get ourselves ready.

In terms of diving and going to the major dive sites, this is what I liked:

1) Range of dive sites avaiable both beginners and experienced divers
2) Couple minutes walking distance from USS Liberty
3) The Dive shop allowed us the option to start real early (6 am kind), so we avoided the crowd
4) The visibility is ultra good, and it's very bright underwater. I have a red filter attached to my cannon G12 and the pictures are really good (see attached pic with this review)
5) We had a really good instructor/ guide - Erik, who apart from taking us to the dives, he also introduced us to some of the truly local food!

I got myself the nitrox certification at the resort, and my friend did the OW and AOW. Probably the only part that I didn't enjoy is entering into the sea from shore. The entry can be a bit rough... would be really nice if there's a bridge/ a pathway that makes it easier.

All in all, Tulamben is somewhere we'll definitely love to re-visit, and we'd love to see how the new section of the resort will look like next year!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms, so you'll have more space to air dry your gears
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muse m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Tulamben, staying and diving with Tulamben Wreck Divers. As Tony would say we are definitely repeat offenders. The resort has evolved over the years and now has a variety of accommodation - we stayed at the villas for the second time but different villas to last time. We had a group of 6 people and had the four villas grouped together # 7 - 10. This was perfect with a large outdoor area with two lounges and dining table and kitchen with fridge and microwave. Not to mention our own secluded garden and pool with beautiful ocean views on our doorstep. The other accommodation is also nice, but without ocean views. The rooms at the dive shop are comfortable and convenient. The hotel is just down the road and has it's own pool and restaurant. You can run a tab at the restaurant no matter which of TWD accommodation you're staying in, then just pay at the end of your visit. This is great for after dive lunches when you may not have your cash with you. New accommodation is being built next to the dive centre, maybe we'll stay there on the next visit.
Because we were a group with a lot of camera gear we were able to borrow a car to go to and from the villas, or sometimes the guys would pick up or drop off on bikes. At any time you just need to ask and they work it out and get you wherever you want to go.
Breakfast at the villas is always nice, and the lovely ladies will do their best to make sure everyone is happy. They also do laundry for a small fee and some of them double up as massage ladies in the afternoon near the pool - aaah bliss!
If you have the opportunity to take part in the Balinese feast night at the villas, don't miss out. The food is beautiful and it's a great opportunity to mingle and chat with other divers.
The diving was excellent but we did notice that there are twice as many dive operations in Tulamben now and that means twice as many divers in the water - too many sometimes! Our dive guides were great and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. My 16 year old son did his Advanced course, a great way to keep him busy and increase his skills, good value too.
Thank you to Tony, Dot, and Wayan - we'll be back to offend again!

Room Tip: Choose the villas for lovely ocean views but you may need to ride a motorbike or get a lift in a car...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margynicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights as part of our dive package deal. We dived at the Tulamben wreck as shore dives as the resort right across the road.

We had a ground floor room which was clean and spacious. The rooms on the 1st floor have a better view. In case possible do ask for the upper rooms.

BF was good nothing special to mention.

We got a massage done which was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor room which has better view and bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were traveling on a budget so we chose Tulamben Wreck Divers' Superior Room. We got more than we bargained for, everything was clean and surprisingly well-equipped. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The dive masters and instructors were professional and knowledgeable. I started my PADI AOW but had sinus issues so couldn't continue, the dive shop and instructor Erik discouraged me from diving and really looked out for me. I highly recommend this dive shop/resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelineKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.2 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
2.3 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akasa Villa
Akasa Villa
#10 of 12 in Tulamben
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort

Address: Jl R Singaraja,, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#5 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range: $16 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Standard, Superior and Penthouse Rooms are at our dive centre hotel, right in the centre of Tulamben. Our Beachfront Villa Suites are about 1km out of Tulamben and we provide free scooters or car shuttle to get you to our dive centre and/or local restaurants for meals - breakfast is served at the villas. We recommend the Beachfront Villa Suites for guests who like very quiet accommodation. Both locations are set in tropical gardens with sparkling pools, modern and very clean. All rooms have air conditioning & ceiling fans, hot/cold water, fridge / mini Bar, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player for playing DVDs (there is no TV program) Our room rates include full, cooked, breakfast - we even have vegemite! Tulamben is a small village, about 3.5 hours from the international airport and famous tourist destinations such as Kuta, Legian, Seminyak, Sanur, and Ubud. The village is almost completely geared towards scuba diving - there is also some snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulamben Wreck Divers Hotel Tulamben
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing