We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet for Tulamben”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scuba Seraya Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best bet for Tulamben”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

likes about this hotel: Huge garden so children can run around having fun, 5 minutes away from all best dive spots, food were very good, staff from dive center are friendlier than restaurant staff (but they are all friendly and attentive) rooms are very clean but basic. The only property in Tulamben with walkable beach. Even though this hotel is kids friendly, I must say that this hotel will not be too shabby for honeymooners either. They use Dinghy for diving, so no cramp jukung here.
Dislikes: I wish the pool is bigger.
Conclusion: For diving in Kubu, Tulamben, Seraya even to Amed. This is the best place to stay, as simple as that. This is clean,friendly and peaceful resort that give you excellent value. It is not hip,trendy, luxurious or any of that stuff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suami_intan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    25
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
55
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Small, extremely friendly and with great attention to detail this resort was fantastic. We had a beach side room with windows from floor to ceiling on 2 sides, a lovely little patio garden and a fantastic 4 poster day bed with the sea on one side and our private garden on the other. Extremely professional, always present but never intrusive the staff took great care of us. The dive team were brilliant, they seemed to really want us to have a great experience and handled our kit and cameras brilliantly. With no fuss they assembled, carried and cleaned our gear probably better than we would. They were always quick to help but in a very relaxed way. Our stay was a real pleasure. An example of how good the staff were was when I needed to see a doctor because of an ear infection. Again without any fuss they immediately booked me an appointment, arranged a taxi (who then really went out of his way to find the medication and make sure I knew how to take it) and gave me cash to pay. They made everything easy and relaxing, allowing us to enjoy fantastic diving.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Our second stay in Scuba Seraya. There is something amazingly serene and comfortable about the resort. Probably to do with the character of the owner - relaxed yet completely organised.
We were more than happy with the maisonettes with their comfortable beds and super outdoor showers. We were upgraded for a few days to a villa, which was much more spacious and highly recommended if money is no object. Neither suffer from any noise from roads or otherwise - except the odd passing boat or cockerel!
We really like the ability to dive the Liberty Wreck before most people get there, and then return to our fresh fruit juice and cooked-to-order breakfast. The boat dives are close by and varied enough for a 10-day stay. We always dived the house reef in the afternoon, taking our time, watching and photographing all the extraordinary and numerous critters in the area. You can pretty much set your own agenda and timings for diving, assuming it fits with other people's requests. Trips to other local diving areas, including Nusa Penida for Mola Mola are well organised. It would be helpful if you had a general bias towards small critters, although the resident barracuda and school of jacks on the wreck are not so small. The dive staff are very good and extremely helpful.
The air clarity is extraordinary (both visits in September), and the beers at the end of the day are always cold. The food is of a high quality, if slighty limited in choice, but with always smiling service. We have never yet bothered to leave the resort to eat or drink elsewhere. Prices are the same as eating out in by the beach in Kuta or Legian.
Yes, it will take you 2.5hrs or so from the airport or the noisier parts of Bali (as above), but the scenery en route is very pretty. It is well worth a long stay if you are looking for peace and quiet and good diving, but if you can only make it for one or two nights, then we would highly recommend this resort. And we were particularly grateful for the large (and free) chocolate cake that arrived for a birthday! We look forward to returning this September.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skubakat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Pleasant, small resort in reasonable state of repair (AC went out and had to move rooms after delay; outdoor shower near beach not working; many biting ants in a few of the areas made them effectively offlimites). The dives of the Tulamben wreck are convenient from here (early dive, trip by boat beats the hoards). Most of the dives in the area are quite similar, so unless you are really into muck diving you may not want to plan a long trip here. The diving intro started with a description of how great the place was 6 years ago and the species we were no longer going to see, but despite that we saw interesting species. The dive tanks are almost never full. There is a certain laziness about taking you to "boat dive" sites more than 50 meters from the resort, and you should ask about prices before you rent things and check your bill carefully. Availability and pricing through internet sources more advantageous than direct booking. The massages are not worth the $12. The beach is a black sand beach with a lot of rocks and a somewhat strong current, so it's not good for swimming. There are 2 types of rooms, the maisonettes that are small and pleasant but near the kitchen and some with a blocked view of the ocean, and larger suites. I generally go for the luxury option, but here I would stay in the comfortable maisonettes again. Oh, and it's a long 3 hours from Denpasar.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Torvald2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

This was the promise when enquiring with local expats on where to stay in east Bali when you want to dive the Wreck.

So being in Hotels myself we decided to take the advice of those who know, we were not disappointed, the resort is very well manicured, the villas we spacious, with a great sea view.

A slight let down was that the "plunge pool" was more like an outside bath, it was not full for our stay, is it has a plug, and you fill it with a tap.

Other than that there was nice pool area, where my partner had an enjoyable massage, and well priced, the villa was clean and reasonably priced.

We did a good dive on the wreck, and enjoyed it throughly, the highlight of the trip for me was when the dive shop manager offered to take us out on his traditional sailing boat, being a keen sailor i loved the offer.

Many thanks to Nuyman who made the experence that much more enjoyable, and to all those looking for a nice place to stay in East bali, its worth a look, i have lived in bali for almost a year, and was pleased to discover this hidden gem,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeftravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband & I have just returned from Seraya, having spent 12 glorious nights there. This is a dive resort first & foremost, so as a non diving partner I was a little worried, but I had a great time.
It is quite a long drive from the airport, 3 hours on Indonesian roads is a little unpleasant, but you drive through some amazing scenery so that helps.
The resort is small & simple, but has been built with love & passion. We stayed in an ocean villa, which are spacious & lovely, although a lot more pricey than the standard rooms.
The small eating area is intimate, but with a good choice a la carte menu, and the meals are very reasonably priced. Breakfast is included, with very little choice but adequate. The girls are so lovely & really pretty too!
The gardens are beautifully kept, and a pleasure. The hotel sits on the black sand beach, which offers seraya secrets dive site, and is only a couple of mins by boat to the liberty wreck, great photograhic diving.
The pool is small, and is very hot to sit at due to it being almost totally enclosed, but within the next few weeks, they are building a sun deck which will jut out over the beach.
As a none diver I was very happy, and as all the diving was local my husband was only away for the actual lenghts of the dives.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Nice resort. 2.5 hours from the airport in Denpasar. Been there 3 times in 2007 to chill and dive. It has 10 chalets, clean and simple with ensuite, reasonably priced. No TV or phones, but with steady power supply and good cellphone coverage if you need these. Food is ok, beer is cold, but staff willing to direct you or arrange for a drive to nearby restaurants.the staff were friendly and helpful and always met my requests with a smile.

Ask for the sea view chalets right in front of the beach.You can dive off the resort beach or dive shallow wrecks within 30 mins by boat. It has dive shop and the guides are great. Look for a Mr Komang Lara, great dive guide, knows great spots for little critters and big fishes. Always nice dives (except jan and feb, when it rains) with little or no current.

All in a rustic resort with modern comforts.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kopiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
1.6 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
4.0 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
83 reviews
6.9 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
2.0 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Seraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Seraya Resort

Property: Scuba Seraya Resort
Address: Desa Tukad Dabu, Tulamben, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Seraya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have all the ingredients to make your next dive vacation an experience you will always remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Scuba Seraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scuba Seraya Hotel Tulamben
Scuba Seraya Resort Tulamben, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing