We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oceanfront Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scuba Seraya Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Positive experience for my 1st travel and dive experience in Bali. I traveled solo and had no dive buddies which posed no problems at all. This was my 1st stop in a multi destination dive trip lasting over 30days. I stayed 6 nites and did up to 5 dives a day including night dives. Great start to what was an awesome Indonesia dive vacation

Resort staff was very accommodating to my needs even though I arrived after hours, nearly midnight. Airport to resort transportation went smoothly. Accommodations were excellent, property manicured and maintained. Ocean front views even from garden bungalows. Outside open air covered dining hall.

Dive staff experienced and very knowledgeable and accommodating. Dive staff adjusting the dive schedule based on what I wanted to do. Water temp(78F) and visibility(35-100Ft) was much better than I expected. Dive guides sought out and located nearly all the critters I requested. Guides were caring and cautious of the fragile aquatic life.

I arranged to do several land based tours that I did on my final day as I traveled back to Denpasar to continue my travel plans. Excellent resort experience.

Room Tip: Did not make use of any services besides dive and restaurant which were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Divereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautiful ocean view villas, quiet and peaceful. With warm and excellent staff also great food. Located right in front of the best macro diving in Bali. Just jump in the water and you'll find the most amazing critters. The guide is also very good and helpful. The best place for weekend getaways.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linasur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Recently stayed for 6 nights and did 4 dives a day. The resort is intimate, incredibly peaceful and very well spaced out along a substantial oceanfront block. It felt a million miles from the busier and more densely-packed operations 5 minutes away at the Liberty wreck. We stayed both in a maisonette (1 night) and an ocean view villa (5 nights). I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious outdoor bathroom of the maisonette, but the ocean view villa is really worth the upgrade for the great outdoor area with a private ocean view bale, a second ocean view veranda and a spacious room with plenty of storage space. Also, there was no fridge in our maisonette.

The food is fine for a few days - it does get a bit boring after a while but it's tasty and does the job after a lot of diving.

The dive operation is top notch. Our guide, Paing, was a standout and possibly the best guide we've had over a decade of diving. We had him to ourselves all week, and our dive schedule was basically whatever we wanted it to be. We nominated times and sites and, for the most part, these could be accommodated. They will try and schedule boat dives so that 2 small groups share a boat but the sites are so close together that each group can dive a different site at the same time. We also went on several boat dives with no other group. Everything is very easy and flexible and personalised. The Liberty wreck gets pretty busy (it seems like there are A LOT of really, really inexperienced divers there) but is very worthwhile (we did several day and one night dive there) but the real stand out sites for us were Seraya Secrets and Coral Gardens. Seraya Secrets is a site that never gets boring for muck divers, especially at night. This is another major advantage of the location of the resort - Seraya Secrets is the best night dive in the area, and it's right on your doorstep. We've dived all over Indonesia, including Raja Ampat, and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the muck diving, especially as it is so accessible in comparison with other areas.

We were unable to get into Villa Markisa next door so Scuba Seraya was our second choice. However, from now on Scuba Seraya will be our number 1 pick, and we will definitely return when we next have a long weekend to spare.

Room Tip: Ocean view villas are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellinAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Quiet, beautiful setting, breakfast by the sea, shade from palm trees at lunchtime, nice rooms, good pool, good food, great service. Diving is of course excellent. If your partner wants to shop or engage in other activities make sure you visit Ubud first as Tulamben has little to offer. Perfect for that 1 week getaway from busy Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This resort is set in a beautiful oceanfront location and feels private and serene. We stayed in Villa 1 right by the pool and it was nice to be so close to the pool. The resort has a small boutique feel and the meals were very good. The dive operation is wonderful with most of the sites just a few minutes away. This was our first time muck diving and we were blown away. The dive guides are fantastic and you need them to point out all the critters. We will be back!

Room Tip: The villas are bigger and if you want more privacy, select the ones off the pool. It seems no one u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I really enjoy dive resorts, this place included. All the guests share a common interest which always leads to making new friends and having some inspiring conversations with fellow divers. The well kept grounds and rooms are arranged to give the guests plenty of room for relaxing during surface intervals. The pool was one of my favorite places to cool down. We stayed in a beach front Villa (highly recommended) and enjoyed the crashing out on the day bed to watch the sunrise/sunset.

The diving is mostly muck with a good wreck and some reef. So if you are into muck diving, you will enjoy most of the sites. If you are not, there is plenty else on offer, just ask the guides. You can expect warm water (29-30C) and a 3mm full wetsuit will suffice. The guides, and their manager Doris are always on hand to make sure you have a good diving experience. If you want to see/do something specific, just ask.

The resort staff are well trained, helpful and always have a smile. The food was good but would like to have seen a little more depth in the menu. Also, good value here.

Room Tip: Go for the Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinsinamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I travelled here with friends for an out of season diving holiday. The resort is a little out of the way from other island attraction. However we were very happy to base ourselves at the hotel as we were diving most days. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and endeavoured to meet any need or request.

This is a dive centre resort and the dives were schedules around individual needs and desires, including times and locations of dives. As a professional diver I enjoyed the diving experiences and the opportunity to hire cylinders for beach dives and night dives from the resort beach.... very active and interesting local reefs. I'd also recommend the local wreck dive and taking photography equipment for the Macro sea life.

The dive centre also linked us with another centre able to transport us to the West side of the Island for more open dives, where we were able to dive with numerous Mantas and Bola Bolas falling in a short boat ride, well worth the cooler temperatures and stronger currents!
For a non-diving day the resort arrange, at extra cost, a lovely tour of attractions around the North of the Island. This was a great chance to experience a little of the culture and life of Bali and a well thought out tour.

A lovely, relaxing, quiet resort. Not for party animals as the resort closes down at night, with no entertainment, but prefect for a quiet drink listening to the ocean and early nights for early morning diving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semperfides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
1.6 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
4.0 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
90 reviews
7.2 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
1.6 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Seraya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Seraya Resort

Address: Desa Tukad Dabu, Tulamben, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range: $64 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Seraya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have all the ingredients to make your next dive vacation an experience you will always remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Scuba Seraya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scuba Seraya Hotel Tulamben
Scuba Seraya Resort Tulamben, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing