We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best diving spots”

USS Liberty Shipwreck
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Full-Day USS Liberty Shipwreck Scuba Diving in Tulamben
More Info
$109.00*
and up
USS Liberty Shipwreck Scuba Diving Tour in Bali
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Snorkeling Package at Tulamben USAT Liberty Shipwreck
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The USS Liberty Wreck is the most famous dive site in Bali. It is also one of the best sunken ship wrecks in the world! If you come to Bali, you absolutely have to dive there The liberty ship was hit by a Japanese torpedo then was beached near Tulamben. In 1963, the eruption of Mount Agung caused the vessel to slip off the beach, and it now lies on a sand slope in 9 to 30 m of water.The wreck is about 130 m long with the shallowest part at about 5 m deep and the deepest on the other side of the wreck at about 30 m deep.
Veszprem, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best diving spots”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wow! No matter when you visit the wreck, the variety of it's inhabitants will surprise you. Sometimes the current can be strong, but usually it is an easy dive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    342
    76
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dozen bumphead parrotfish heading out at 6:30am”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We heard complaints about too many shore divers, but on two dives we didn't have a problem. I haven't seen large bumpheads since we went to Sipadan. Lots of larger fish used the deck of the Liberty as a cleaning station.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug_from_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great diving site less the rocks”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loads of nice corals and fishes to see underwater, also got to see the uss liberty shipwreck down there, with beautiful sightings and fun underwater.

Entry and exit point for diving could be better without the slippery rocks by the bay~

Will be back after i have my advanced open water diving certificate for more deep sea fun marine animals~ :D

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy882012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Crowded but easy dive, with difficult entry and exit due to rocks”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We did a group dive with friends. My son, a junior open water diver, and myself being newly certified. Our group also had experienced divers and another new diver. The entry and exit points were very difficult due to the large rocks along the "beach". There was little sand at the shoreline, which made the entry and exit difficult.
The spot itself is nice. The location is always crowded due to the nature of the dive (easy wreck dive). The ship is covered with flora and fauna, which makes for very interesting viewing. Lots of fish swim around the wreck. The condition of the wreck is good, and people seem to respect it.
I think we entered during a low-time for divers. In other words, there were a couple hundred divers on shore when we went in. Yet, the location was busy still with divers, but couldn't imagine having all those other divers in the water at the same time.
It was worth the visit because it was for both my son and I our first certified dive. I couldn't see us returning though. I would recommend it as an easy dive with the right dive center. Our dive center is not one we would recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank steven_nagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still crowded, but very worth to dive...”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The (probably) most famous dive-site of Bali, so sometimes very crowded. Try early morning dives or night-dives for having the best experiences.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Liberty Shipwreck also viewed

Tampaksiring, Bali
 

Been to USS Liberty Shipwreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing