We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disagree with past reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mimpi Resort Tulamben

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disagree with past reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

We booked our stay at the Mimpi through a dive operator in Kuta. Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, we were apprehensive about our stay here, and prepared ourselves for the worst.

We were very pleasantly surprised by how different the Mimpi Resort was from some of the other reviews. We loved the ocean view rooms, with their lounge area overlooking the ocean, and found the surroundings to be very pleasant. The staff was cordial and helpful. We took advantage of the spa at the hotel, and they were very accommodating of our last-minute reservations.

There are a couple things I agree with from previous postings. First, this is primarily a scuba dive hotel, but is not a "dive". If you do not plan on diving (or are not with someone that is diving), by all means stay somewhere else. There won't be much for you to do here (little shopping to speak of, no nightlife, etc.) except sit by the sea and watch the local fishermen on their catamarans.

Second, the ever-present peddlers along the beach can get a bit irritating. However, if you avoid eye contact and give them a firm "No", they'll generally move on to other targets. Just don't show any interest. If you are interested, keep in mind that many of the things being offered can be purchased at the airport gift shops for 1/3 to 1/2 of what their first "best offer" is on the beach. I'm sure you could get this stuff for even cheaper elsewhere on the island.

FInally, it is true that the "beach" is very rocky, with many of the rocks being at least golf ball sized and some softball sized rocks. You're not going to have a great experience trying to "lay out" on the beach. If you are diving, I recommend bringing hard-soled dive boots. After the first few treks up the beach to the dive site, my feet were killing me (hence the need for the massage mentioned above!). On the second day, I got smart and wore my Keens until it was time to get in the water.

  • Liked — World-class scuba diving and snorkeling steps away from the hotel
  • Disliked — Stony beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diveaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    71
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
30
78
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

This review comes a year late but hey I didn't know about trip advisor then!

Anyhow, verdict is I won't go Mimpi 'Resort' Tulamben again simply because there's no genuine service and really nothing to attract me.

There's no real beach-it's mostly rocks and black pebbles (some coarse black sand too) and painful to tread. The seaview rooms were also not worth the money. Food was nothing memorable. Whatever smiles we got were pretty forced and service was really non-existent. In fact, the staff looked pretty darn unhappy all the time-felt liked we owed them money or something!

My husband was pretty ok with the diving at the Japanese wreck but that was it. The 'resort' really doesn't have a nice vibe to it. We couldn't even relax at the poolside because of the touts who kept wanting to sell us t-shirts and whatnot. It was, and still is, the only time I've been away with my husband on a diving trip and felt abandoned whenever he was off diving!

Needless to say-we quit the moody place after 2 moody days and escaped to a humbler and cheaper resort in Sanur. Boy were we happy to be out of that grouchy unhappy place!!

Final verdict-don't travel all the way to Tulamben unless you're really keen on the dive. Anyway, you get waters that are just as good at other parts of Bali, e.g. Amed. And really, you can find much better resorts ANYWHERE else!

  • Liked — Outdoor bathroom
  • Disliked — Bad service, touts, 'beach', 4 hours' travelling time from airport
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and beyond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed at the sister resort in Feb 07, wanted to dive on the Tulamben wreck so booked this Mimpi and stayed from 20th to 24th May 2007. I booked with Asia Rooms and the price was cheap enough including breakfast at around 70 Sing dollars per night.

The hotel was OK it did what was asked of it and that for me means they achieved my expectations but they did not exceed them. The hotel is in small but pleasant surroundings right on the beach although the hawkers were a bit irritating. In my experience in Indonesia over the last year of living there many businesses are in real need of a renovation. But either due to the poor numbers of tourists or the lack of willingness on the part of the hotels this has not always been done. Sadly this Mimpi is in need of a tidy up in the rooms (big damp patches on walls, loose tiles in bathroom) and the communal areas too (cracks in wash basins, tired furniture). So just to be aware of that.

Staff are friendly and full of smiles as with all staff in Indonesia. However do not ask them to think outside the box it will cause confusion and problems!

I would probably not stay in Mimpi again but choose one of the other businesses if I was to return just for a change.

Friends were staying close by and we dived with them at Tulamben Wreck Divers (nice and professional) so I can not comment upon the dive shop.

There is not much to do in Tulamben except dive or snorkel. You can of course sunbathe (beach is big rocks and stones), you can go for walks and you can arrange car/moped hire too.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pandpwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

I just returned from an almost perfect 2 week holiday in Bali. The sole black spot on our journey was the stay at the Hotel Mimpi Tulamben. The place turned out to be for Scuba Divers only with poor management and unfriendly staff.

some details:
- the nice pool was used by scuba divers to "clean" their equipment (note: I scuba-dive myself and know that there are showers and special water tanks to clean the equipment - not so at the Mimpi).
- the sea shore was dirty - nobody ever cleaned anything there during our 3 day stay
- the food was lousy (better go to the Hotel Tauchterminal!) and the staff was smiling but not really friendly.
- the hotel room lacked mosquito nets.

but ...
- the price was ok (but there are way better deals elsewhere on Bali)
- the weather was nice
- the poolside chairs were nice
- the rooms were nice and clean

Bottom line: If you are a scuba diver and want to dive there - stay at the Mimpi but eat at the Tauchterminal.
If you are not a scuba diver - do not visit Tulamben at all. It is a waste of time and money.

  • Liked — viewfrom daybed
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
0.0 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
8.5 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.4 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Palm Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimpi Resort Tulamben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimpi Resort Tulamben

Property: Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Address: Desa Tulamben Kec, Kubu Karangasem, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mimpi Resort Tulamben 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Mimpi Resort Tulamben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimpi Resort Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Mimpi Hotel Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing