We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort, great diving, good value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Liberty Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent resort, great diving, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had a great time! We came here mainly for diving but also being parents to a three year old we were a bit worried wether this would be the right place for a family holiday. We didn’t need to worry, the family cottage had plenty of room for all of us and the resort offered us to look after our daughter (at no cost!!!!) so we could go diving together. Staff are all well trained, incredibly (child) friendly and attentive, so we felt comfortable leaving for while. A big thanks to Coman and all the other lovely girls who were always prepared and ready for a little play with our daughter.

The resort provides for everything you need for a relaxed holiday, welcoming and warm atmosphere, clean and modern rooms (although bathroom could do with a bit of an update), beautifully manicured gardens, two pools with sun chairs, lovely staff and a restaurant with yummy food. We loved the Indonesian dishes, but try the pizzas too, one of the best we’ve ever tasted!

Diving is amazing, certainly one of the best in Bali. Our guide Mega spotted everything and showed us many creatures that would have been hidden to our eyes. Great place for macro photographers. Mega looked after us, set up our gear, got it ready for transport, excellent service. There is no dive schedule, your guide follows your schedule and you can dive whenever and how often you like. The wreck is only a few minutes walk to the beach, but there are plenty other amazing dive spots within a few minutes drive. We stayed for two weeks here and could have dived in three different spots every day. it’s well worth staying a bit longer, although most people only seem to stay a few days. The wreck is spectacular but I wouldn’t want to miss all the other places we have seen.

The countryside around Tulamben is one of the last unspoilt areas in Bali, so it’s well worth taking a driver an go for a sightseeing tour, see some fishing villages, temples and beautiful rice terraces. Ask in the Hotel for Ricky, he runs a local family transport business and will take you anywhere it’s worth going or wherever you like.

A great place for a holiday, we’ll certainly come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    93
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
157
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and were very well looked after. The staff were friendly, the rooms were comfortable and we were well fed at the restaurant. Our dive guide, Yaman, looked after our every need and showed us some amazing creatures that we would never have seen if they hadn't been pointed out to us. Ketut made sure we got safely to and from the airport (allow at least 3 hours for this trip). The USAT Liberty is close to the resort and we are very pleased we stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in one of the new chalets, and the room was heavenly. Our guide was incredibly helpful and showed us many amazing sea creatures. In our travels, we have had a lot of guides, but our guide at Liberty was outstanding in his attention to detail and flexibility. We loved the food and staff. We are not resort people, but once we got there, we didn't want to leave. We are also not ones to return to the same place multiple times, but LDR is so outstanding that we are looking at going back. Truly outstanding place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Barry and Sheryl Gove N.T.Australia
We spent 5 nights in May at the LDR in a standard room and could not fault the room the service or the food.I did my Open Water Dive Cert through the LDR and the instruction and coaching was first class (thanks Andy) the rental equipment was not new but was clean and well maintained.The dive sights are amazing and all dives are organised and run smoothly and the guides very professional. For those that don't dive the LDR is quiet unrushed and a great place to relax by the pools with well manicured gardens and friendly helpful staff.We ate all our meals at the restaurant and found the menu more than adequate and the staff were all helpful polite and friendly thanks to you all. Will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

It has been a pleasure to have worked with the owner Wayan to make this group trip possible at Liberty Dive Resort. From the moment we stepped in, we knew that it was paradise. The cottages are well maintained, friendly and helpful people all surrounding us. One evening, we hanged our clothes out to dry when it suddenly rained. We saw the staffs running towards all cottages to bring the guests' dry/half dried clothings back to their balcony. It was impressing and they deserve a pat on their shoulders. What more can we say, but to appreciate them more.

We did 5 dives within the 3 days and the 2 dive guides allocated to us are extremely helpful people. We felt very secure and they are our pillars. We felt very sad when left the place and proceed to Kuta. What we have now are those lovely moments and lovely picture taken at the resort. We miss Liberty Dive Resort very much and will plan to return in September 2013.

Thank you to owner Mr. Wayan, Our dive guides - John, Made, Jinc and everyone !!!

Room Tip: Try Deluxe Cottage if you need a bathtub or Standard Cottage for standing shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights prior to leaving for a 14 day live aboard dive trip. The cottage we stayed in was comfortable and very clean. The diving was quite nice and our dive guide Wayan John was outstanding. He has an eagle eye for spotting all those tiny sea creatures we want to shoot with our macro lens. He is professional and a great dive guide, and we highly recommend him. The ladies who work in the restaurant are very service oriented and always ready to try and accommodate special requests. The manager was very helpful the day I started with a head cold. He contacted a local doctor and had someone fetch cold meds for me! The resort driver Ketut is a great tour guide and gave us lots of information about local culture and customs. All in all, you can't beat this place for the money or service.

Room Tip: Book the standard cottage - nice to have your own space and not hear your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mca1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in Feb 2013 and it was a really pleasant and lovely stay. I can't comment on the diving services as I did not dive with them due to prior booking made with another dive company. Even that, it did not affect their level of service to us.

Overall, the resort is clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly, always smiling. The food is pretty decent is your are not fussy. For variety, check out Wayan Restaurant along the main road, they've got some killer dishes there.

Room Tip: There's no fitness centre, so i gave an average. You can request for massage services available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiLi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.4 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
0.3 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scuba Seraya Resort
Scuba Seraya Resort
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
#1 of 14 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Dive Resort

Property: Liberty Dive Resort
Address: Jalan Raya Tulamben | Tulamben, Bali, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Resort in the heart of Tulamben, Bali. Close to the USAT Liberty Shipwreck. We have 32 clean air-conditioned rooms ranging from Standard Resort Rooms through Deluxe, Family & Luxury Garden Cottages, all with ensuite bathrooms. Three large swimming pools in a quiet garden setting. New large restaurant and dive preparation areas. Join our Underwater Photo friendly dive guides to see and photograph the best of Tulamben's dive sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Liberty Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Dive Hotel Tulamben
Liberty Dive Resort Tulamben, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing