We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, Wonderful staffs...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Liberty Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, Wonderful staffs...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed with them last December when my friend held their wedding there. It was a pleasant short stay and decided to choose to stay with them during my February trip. Nice place to rest, relax, dive and stay away from the buzzling city life. Very professional dive guide making the very best for your every dive. Friendly, helpful and sincere staffs at the resort really make the stay a very pleasant and warming one. Rooms are neat and clean, with family suite which makes it very convenient if travelling in a bigger group and all can just enjoy stay together.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsnhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    93
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
157
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and did 3 dives. We had one of the garden cottages, and the place was very quiet in February with only a few other guests. Rooms were good, nice pool and generally good food at the restaurant and a reasonable variety for breakfast choice. Staff will offer to cook you a whole snapper on the bbq, or choose a menu item, and were all very friendly. Our dive guide Made was a quiet guy, but we could have asked for nothing more, we dove the wreck once and the coral garden twice. On our last coral garden dive we saw a few small sharks, spotted Moray, couple of big Tuna, and sat in the middle of a big school of circling Jackfish in only 3m of water...enough to see here to keep most people happy, although occasionally strong currents. The resort is a little isolated, and the restaurant lacks atmosphere at night. Other local choices are limited and generally not great. We had our own car, and did frequent trips to Amed (about 15 minutes) where there is plenty of choice and some nice beaches and snorkelling. If we visited here again, we would stay in Amed and dive from there. If you go to this hotel without transport you are a bit stuck in the area unless you want to pay about €15 each way for a driver to Amed. Local beach is rock.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Piece of paradise. Had the resort to ourselves. Diving was so easy, had our own guide (for 2 people) whenever we wanted.
Room clean, good 'American' breakfast as well as Indonesian. If you are not diving you can relax by the pool only as there is nowhere to go in town.
Diving the wreck is a 2 min walk down to the beach for shore entry. Get in early to beat the crowds (6am)
Also did a wall dive in the afternoon and a night dive.
Recommended! Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JtheEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took the recommendations of other trip advisors who visited and were glad we stayed at Liberty Dive Resort. While it's about a three hour drive from the airport, LDR is a great place to stay whether you're a diver or not.

For those who dive, LDR is steps away from some of the best diving in Asia. The USAT Liberty wreck is a very short shore dive away from the resort. The huge amount of sea life in and around the wreck ranges from small crabs and fish to the largest groupers I've ever seen. My dive guide, Agust, is an expert on finding the smallest sea life among the coral that I certainly would have passed by on my own. On an early morning dive, Agust also led me to a school of bump head parrot fish and then reef sharks on two other dives.

For those who don't dive, there's plenty to see on land as well. Ricky from Tulamben Transport (www.tulambentransport.com) can personalize a tour that can last a half day, whole day or more and can take you anywhere in Bali. During a half day tour, we visited small Bali villages off the tourist path, the the King's main palace and two of his water palaces, a gold and silver smith with incredible hand made jewelery at very resonable prices, and ate a delicious Balinese lunch. Ricky also picked us up and took us to the airport. Since he's a family business, his prices are reasonable and better than larger tourist companies
can offer. The resort also coordinates tours and airport transportation with Ricky.

The resort itself is is 20 rooms, clean and quiet with incredibly friendly and attentive staff. Owner Wayan and his staff looked after us extremely well. When we arrived, the staff quickly moved our bags from the car to our room, offered us a menu for dinner and gave us a welcome fruit drink. The restraunt is clean, the food simple but well prepared and the service prompt, friendly and pleasant. As others have said, the banana pancakes are delicious. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow that was large, clean, comfortable and private. Though there's another resort being built next store, there's almost no construction noise. The whole resort is very peaceful and relaxing. It's a boutique hotel experience at very resonable rates

For those who want to dive, are interested in an alternative to the typical Bali tourist experience and also want a calm relaxing and peaceful stay, Liberty Dive Resort is great choice.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the North side have shade on their porch in the afternoon. they're also furtherst a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights to dive.
Staff were fantastic, very relaxed and friendly.
Restaurant was ok.
Rooms were very good size, with safe and good bed.
No roosters were heard at the crack of dawn, which is a big plus.
Dive guide was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and relaxing dive partner.
Highly recommend this resort for both snorkelling and diving.
Easy 1 minute walk to water, or fall out of bed into the pool, and 2 minute walk to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NortiusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was great value and the staff outstanding. Two swimming pools were excellent. I did five outstanding dives with the resort and snorkelled in my spare time. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherfromcarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our driver directed us to this hotel and we didn't bother to look at his other option. The room was spacious, clean and, for the price, in good condition. A few renovations are needed but generally it was comfortable. Two lovely pools and a passable restaurant. Their biggest plus is the diving. I only snorkel and was provided with very good quality gear for three days ($6). My companion dived five times always with the same dive master. Her gear was stored so she could access it easily and didnt have to retry and change straps every dive. She is a novice diver (30 dives) and declared this # 2,3,4,5 and 6 on her list of best dives. The Liberty wreck is only 30 metres off shore and can easily be snorkelled or dived. The water is brilliantly clear. Even 5 metres from the shore you see the most amazing fish. The walk from Liberty to the beach is about 200 metres. The term beach is loosely used as this is a rocky, volcanic, black sand beach. It's not the sort of place kids build sandcastles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.4 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
0.3 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
#1 of 14 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Dive Resort

Property: Liberty Dive Resort
Address: Jalan Raya Tulamben | Tulamben, Bali, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulamben
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Resort in the heart of Tulamben, Bali. Close to the USAT Liberty Shipwreck. We have 32 clean air-conditioned rooms ranging from Standard Resort Rooms through Deluxe, Family & Luxury Garden Cottages, all with ensuite bathrooms. Three large swimming pools in a quiet garden setting. New large restaurant and dive preparation areas. Join our Underwater Photo friendly dive guides to see and photograph the best of Tulamben's dive sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Liberty Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Dive Hotel Tulamben
Liberty Dive Resort Tulamben, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing