We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap accomodation and dive operator”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulamben
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Madha Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The location is perfect because it is only 20 m from the USS Liberty wreck, which is the main reason we visited Tulamben.

Initially we booked the cheapest room with fan (Rp 100,000/nite). This room is located next to the kitchen, the size is OK, but we couldn't close the bathroom door, and with semi outdoor bathroom (or maybe the bathroom's ceiling is broken and they havent fixed it?) I could just imagine how many mosquito we must kill at nite :(.

We changed to AC room (Rp 300,000/nite). All these rooms are facing the ocean. It's quite clean, but everything feel sticky and even the bed is a bit damp. I guess it's because the staff didn't close the room's door and the salty air from the ocean just stuck in the room. Mosquito is apparently the permanent guess even in the AC room.

The restaurant is not recommended at all. We only ate once and the food was terrible.

During the day, you might expect the restaurant is full with divers. Divers from all over Bali and other dive operators usually start their wreck dive from Puri Madha. Puri Madha's dive operator is recommended with nice guide and very cheap.

I definitely will come back to Puri Madha, but definitely NOT for the food :P

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dugong-on-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Puri Madha Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2010

If I recommend this hotel to my friend, it is because ;
- it is the closest hotel to the ship wreck dive site.
- this hotel has nice friendly staff
- great diving instructor/dive guide, an experienced underwater photographer
- standard but clean room with reasonable price

I don't know the reason for people staying at Tulamben hotels, aside for diving the ship wreck. The beach is dull, not a white sand with turqoise clear calm water. Not nice to play around with family. It is black rocks becach with dark blue-grey water, but underwater it is okay.

Since no attractions but the diving site, I don't think it's necessary to stay in expensive and overrated hotel, I visited some of the hotels above 100 dollar pernight and it's still the same dull beach view... so I chose the one next to the ship wreck.

Basic lodging with reasonable price, clean room, nice staff, is enough for me, and Puri Madha has that. 20 dollar per night and I got very big, clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marthiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Puri Madha Bungalows is the closest resort to the “Liberty” wreck dive site in Tulamben. The dive site is accessed from the shore and the area is usually very busy with divers during the day, especially groups visiting from the south of Bali.

We had been on an extended dive trip around Bali and decided to revisit Tulamben on our way back to the south. We decided to try Puri Madha and planned to stay about three days. Puri Madha is a small resort with pleasant gardens leading down to the sea wall and the usual choice of cold water/fan-cooled or hot water/air-conditioned rooms. We chose one of the air-conditioned rooms, which are reasonably large, with small terraces outside and a shower that it is possible to stand underneath – quite a novelty in Bali.

When we arrived, around lunchtime, we were told that the previous guests had only just checked out, so our room wasn’t ready. No great problem, so we decided to have a walk around and then some lunch. Miraculously, our room was ready within about ten minutes. Wonderful, we thought, as we were given the key. I was more than a little suspicious that the room could be cleaned and re-supplied so quickly, so I decided to check the bedding. The bed cover is obviously never changed, as there is no upper sheet. The lower sheet had some decidedly suspicious stains, so I went to reception to complain. The man who came to look at the sheets didn’t see any problem at all, saying that it was only “massage oil”. I insisted on some clean sheets and he returned with a sheet with a green swirly pattern – impossible to tell if it had been washed - and simply laid it over the original one. Needless to say, we threw off the pillows and bed cover that night and slept in our bathrobes.

After a pretty mediocre snack lunch – one of our friends judged his hamburger to be the worst that he had ever had – we wanted to go diving. There are no safe deposit boxes in the room, so I went to ask for one at reception, as I was reluctant to leave money and passports in the room unsecured. I was told that they didn’t have any safe deposit boxes at the resort, but that I could lock the items in one of the drawers in the room. This seemed to be the only option, but the key and lock looked pretty flimsy.

We had a pleasant long dive on the “Liberty” wreck, away to the west side, where most visiting divers don’t go. We didn’t use the dive centre at the resort, as we do not need a guide. We also knew that we could hire scuba tanks very cheaply from Aquadive, a small business on the road leading down to Puri Madha. They will even deliver your tanks to the beach by motorbike!

After our dive, we went back to our room for a shower. I had noticed an air-freshener sachet dangling from the air-conditioner unit, but didn’t think too much of it when we arrived. We soon found out the reason why. Although the rooms have only been built for a few years, the shower drain and sewage pipes must all be connected, with no U-bend air locks in between. In short, every time that we or someone in one of the adjacent rooms had a shower or flushed the toilet, the shower drain belched sewage smells. We ended up having to block the shower drain with a water bottle and to keep the bathroom door closed, to keep things tolerable. One of our Indonesian friends told us that his room had the same problem when he stayed at Puri Madha a few months previously. I wish that he had told us earlier!

We checked out of Puri Madha after only one night, instead of the planned three. A shame, because this is a pleasant resort at first glance, ideally situated for diving the wreck at Tulamben. However, with fundamental flaws in the plumbing and poor hygiene standards, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubadiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaSiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kamar di sisi timur menghadap kolam langsung sekaligus pantai + sunrise .
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyteraang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank weby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lasabri73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.3 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
2.1 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#5 of 12 in Tulamben
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Dive Resort Tulamben
0.3 mi away
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
Mimpi Resort Tulamben
#8 of 12 in Tulamben
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Madha Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madha Bungalows

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan, Tulamben, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Tulamben
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Puri Madha Bungalows Hotel Tulamben
Puri Madha Bungalows Tulamben, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing