We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, clean rooms, breathtaking view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluehill Resort Tulamben
Ranked #6 of 14 Tulamben B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, clean rooms, breathtaking view”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I think the excellent staff trumps everything here. The staff is friendly, generous with time, and happy to answer my many questions. The manager (not sure what his name is but he has the long ponytail) was exceptional. He speaks great English and knows what travelers are looking for. He is very knowledgeable. The other staff members were very happy to help and remembered what we had asked for and followed-up. Couldn't ask for more. I hope they keep all their staff for years to come.

This is one of the few places that is not looking to rip you off. They offer you honest service. We lost a face mask and they didn't use this as an opportunity to fleece as some places might.

The beach is just across the street. My 6 year old boy played soccer with the local boys and then went swimming with them. It was idylic. Everyone is so accepting here.

The view of the sunrise and the view of Gunung Agung is also part of the charm. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saravanan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We would definitely recommend Bluehill Resort in Tulamben. The rooms were neat and comfortable. The view of Mt Agung from our balcony was breathtaking. The gardens and pool area were great and were extremely inviting. Nothing like enjoying a large Bintang lying in a pool lounger. The diving package we took included three meals a day. The meal selection was really good and the quality of the food was excellent. We were supplied with a driver (thanks Norman) that was available to us all day. We were transported to and from the dive centre as and when we wanted. The diving was amazing, and extremely affordable. All in all the staff were superb, and nothing was too much for them. Thanks to all the staff, especially Gede, Rupa and the young waitor (can't remember his name) who treated us like royalty. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have a nice balcony with great views of Mt Agung and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dianne_PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I definitely recommend this place.
People are very friendly, food is excellent, the view is great, the room very clean and the garden as well as the pool beautiful. Very good cost/performance ratio! Also suitable for divers. Free transfer to the dive facilities. Sightseeing tours may be organized on demand.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We head to Tulamben for it's world class diving sites - USAT Liberty Wreck and Drop-Off on a 4N/4D Package. We considered Matahari, in Tulamben Village, where all of the other dive resorts are situated, but chose Bluehill for it's serenity, unhindered view of Gunung Agung and the only sandy beach before Amed, The resort's rooms are new, clean and spaciously comfortable with quality fittings and furnishings.The room's balcony opened to a manicured garden with a large pool, the Seraya Mountains and awesome Agung. Service was warm and friendly. The food was tasty. Pick-up and drop-off are less than 5 minutes away from the diving locations and with bonus of viewing Tulamben Bay as you meander a hill to get there. The picture is still fresh. Dive guide Ketut Piarsa from Ocean View (Bluehill's sister resort) is up there with the top local dive guides I've had the privilege of diving with...a true pleasure!
I must thank the excellent staff of Bluehill under the management of Pak Gede Kedul...matur suksma, Iluh, Made Suarsa, Komang, Ketut and Pak Nyoman.

Room Tip: ask for room no 23...gorgeous view of Gunung Agung.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel was very clean overall. Towels and ben linen were white and smelt fresh laundry. The staff was friedly (thanks Kedul :-D). Breakfast was correct. I went diving with Blue Hill and the sessions were quite cheap as compared to other places ($25-$30 all included). The instructors were very nice and safety procedures were followed. 2 bad things though: the location, which is very far from the center but if you go diving with them they will give you a lift to their sister hotel (Ocean View) in the center and you will be able to enjoy the facilities there (great swimming pool, wifi etc.). Also the hotel rents motorbikes for 50.000 rupiah per day. Second bad thing: I found mouse droppings on a cupboard and a cockroach in the bathroom. However the hotel looked very clean so I guess we can't really avoid this kind of things in the area. The hotel arranges transportation to Gili as well. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moi0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We went Blue Hill Tulamben in Jul 2011, booked this hotel because of the price (cheap), never know that it took 3-4 hours drive from Kuta to there. Blue Hill has 2 sister hotels which are mountain view and seaview hotels. We were free upgarded from mountain view to seaview hotel for a night. At the Seaview, the hotel is superb, great seaside view and huge sea side bangalo. Had a good diving lessons at here which is very good price for beginner, staff is very frienly and helpful. We moved back to mountain view in the next day, it is basic hotel, clean, good garden maintainance and good B/F. If you are not diving lover, i would think nothing interested in at here (Tulamben), no supermarket, there is only one small local shop 20 min drive from hotel, no beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

good value for money,nice big rooms with nice garden and with very nice pool !. Breakfast was very good and lovely staff. Hotel is offering free transfer to great snorkeling ,diving place and they have pool there what you can use! hotel is renting scooters.Hotel is very safe

ps: days can get quite lonely,because its veeery quite place so its good to do some day trips with private car and driver ....what cost like $60 for 8 h .

ps: black sand beach next to hotel is beautiful but not good for swimming or sun bathing ,because its very rocky and local people are living there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.9 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
3.3 mi away
Resort Relax Bali
Resort Relax Bali
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
Bali Dive Resort and Spa
#1 of 14 in Tulamben
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
1.1 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.9 mi away
Bali Reef Divers
Bali Reef Divers
#1 of 14 in Tulamben
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluehill Resort Tulamben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluehill Resort Tulamben

Property: Bluehill Resort Tulamben
Address: Jalan Raya Tulamben | Karangasem - Bali, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluehill Resort Tulamben 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluehill Resort is a small boutique hotel at the southern end of Tulamben. Every guest room opens to a sweeping picturesque scene that stretches far into the distance mountains of Agung and Seraya. A spacious tropical garden dotted with Balinese gazebos and a water garden offer a unique holiday experience that is affordable. With our friendly staff, you won't find a more enjoyable stay and great diving holiday than with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bluehill Resort Tulamben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluehill Hotel Tulamben
Bluehill Resort Tulamben Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing