We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesn't get any better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben
Ranked #2 of 14 Tulamben B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“doesn't get any better!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you want great dives, top class service, a cheap and convenient restaurant that serves very good food then don't look anywhere else in Tulamben!

Ocean Sun deliveres exactly that!

The dive instructors are professional and know the dive sites like the back of their hands and are on the look out for macro as well as micro. The divers courses are cheap and at your pace. Had only good experiences with Robert (aka. Robi) who took care of the dive course and all the different guides we went out with!

The rooms are HUGE and have nice semi-open air toilets and bath!

Room Tip: Ask for transport to and from the airport if nessecary and they'll gladly help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceklarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
75
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Ric's spacious bungalows.

Room
The room and bathroom was fabulous ! It was spacious, modern, air-coned and clean.
Love the outdoor bathroom.

Food
Good array of food selections - Western / German and Balinese.
The staffs remembers our usual breakfast orders which was a very nice touch :)

Dive
We did many shore dives with Ric's fountain of dive knowledge.
Eg: when is the best time / site etc.
Ric is a chilled person and was very kind in arranging our trip to Manta point personally.

Others
We made many new friends and learnt UNO with a twist through Ric and Yeni !
Was great laugh ! and we were honored to taste Yeni's new cooking recipes

The break down of our final bill was clear and detailed .
We were pleasantly surprised that our bill was lower than expected as Ric had given us great discounts on top of his already good value pricing.
I doubt you can find such great value stay and dive in Tulamben area.

Overall , we had a wonderful 3 weeks stay at Ocean Sun Dive Resort.
My deep felt appreciation to Ric , Yeni and all of their staff for their warm hospitality.

Lastly, would like to congratulate to Ric and Yen on their marriage !
Xoxo Anne

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarieMok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First of all, would like to thank Ric, Yeni, Roby and the management staffs at Ocean sun. You guys really made our stay so warm and feel just like home.

My bf and i booked the SSI AOW with OceanSun. I found Ric from SSI dive centre locators and i decided to go with him after emailing each other. He was very helpful in the emails and he was
attentive to my queries as well. Everything went smoothly. Putu (our pickup driver) was there when we got out from arrival hall. My bf saw him with the oceansun t shirt and with our names on a board. He was really very friendly, always with a smile. He brought us to exchange $ and even intro-ed the warong babi guling sanur to pack our lunches. One thing we are so sorry, because we should have eaten the lunch there instead of packing. After which we realized that Putu had not taken his lunch. ( He was at the airport early and he drove 2.5 hours to Tulamben). We are so sorry about that... we felt bad even until today.
Putu was really a very good driver and he is very polite. :) Thanks Putu!

The stay:
The bungalow at OceanDive was marvelous! A nice view of Mount Agung, windy and cool 24hours round. It was comfortable, the room was spacious and the bathroom too was spacious. The only thing we were not aware is that, we have to bring our own toiletries. :p Which we didnt.. so we have to walk over to the minimart nearby (just 3 mins away) to get our stuffs. We love everything about the bungalows except for the mosquitoes at night. There are really a lot of mosquitoes and we woke up quite often because of the itch. ( Maybe perhaps Ric can install some mosquitoes net at the bed area? , and then it would be perfect! )

The food:
Breakfast was provided. It was definitely a good range of choices to choose from ( Toast/ cereal/ indo food/ omelette).
For lunch and dinner, we couldnt resist the good food provided by Oceansun restarant, therefore, we had all our lunches and dinners at Oceansun. :p
My bf particularly loves the german food for sure! The "Bratkartoffeln" was really really good! And the toast bread were solid! We tried the indo food, western salad, spagetti as well as the german food. Love the local balinese pancake! 2 thumbs up for the restaurant! Thanks Yeni! :)

The Dive:
We took 4 specialty courses with Roby as our instructor. He is very supportive and attentive during the dive. His dive plan and explanation were thorough and we were able to follow through comfortably.
He also pointed out to us a lot of creatures and definitely he is very supportive especially for me as i had some problems equalizing my ears. Roby helped me through and thanks for the valuable lessons and fun diving with you! :)
Visited coral garden, drop off, liberty wreck!

Overall, we had a great stay and definitely coming back to Ocean Sun if we were to come to Tulamben again. Also, will definitely recommend to our friends and family!

p/s: We hope that Ric could take into the consideration to install the mosquitoes net in the room! and everything would be PERFECT! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myls201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ocean sun is always a pleasant place to stay, dive or both.
I did my AOW with Ricardo, he is very thorough and professional.
Nice clean new bungalow's with outdoor bathrooms, good food just a few steps from your door and a great dive centre with knowledgable and friendly local dive guides.
Always a nice welcoming atmosphere here and I look forward to staying and diving here soon.
I also believe this to be one of the most reasonably priced dive resorts in Tulamben and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the restaurant/ pool seem to have the best WIFI connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justcalllmecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After checking several resorts in the area, we ended up at Ocean Sun. Not only for the superb and clean rooms with marvellous open bathroom, but also for the dive packages they offered. Some of the dive sites are just across the road and the wreck is at a 100 meters. And after the diving you can linger at the pool in the beautiful garden.
Rooms and diving are at very competitive prices and you won't find a better deal in Tulamben. If you add to this a friendly and helpful staff, you won't regret your stay at this resort. Really one of the best rooms we were in during our stay in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

rooms are really nice and very spacious. the bathroom is open with stylish interior just like the whole bungalow. you can choose from 5 different breakfasts which are all tasty. we also had dinner one night and got some big portions of delicious food for reasonable prices. the staff is friendly and helpful - so 2 thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nürnberg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I highly recommend Ocean Sun Dive Resort! Execellent facilities, staff and atmosphere! The recently renovated centre provides a exellent training environment for beginners up to Instructor and Tec Divers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulamben hotels
0.1 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
0.2 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.1 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Reef Divers
Bali Reef Divers
#1 of 13 in Tulamben
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minabali Bunga'lo
Minabali Bunga'lo
#3 of 14 in Tulamben
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben

Property: Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben
Address: Jl. Raya Kubu Amplapura, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sun Dive Resort Tulamben Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing