We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Matahari Tulamben Resort...heads up on the pick up.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tulamben
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at Matahari Tulamben Resort...heads up on the pick up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I started our Bali trip at the Matahari Resort a few weeks ago. Our stay was very nice, the food excellent/well priced. We did the full day dive package which we both loved. The service was really great. A couple of things to consider though:

1. We flew in about 5 pm but where picked up about 2 hours later by the resort driver. If you have a driver scheduled for your trip, it may be more convenient/timely to have him take you to the resort. For us, we had to call several times to the resort to see what the issue was. We were told several times that the driver was at the near by Starbucks, waiting (we were told in an email and the first phone call that the driver will meet up as the arrival terminal with our names on a sign). When we got to the Starbucks, it was another 45 mins and a phone call for the driver to actually arrive. I've read that this may be an issue on another review.

This is not placing blame on the resort or the driver. Just an FYI. The traffic in the city is terrible and the driver from Tulamben has a three hour drive to the airport so he/she can not predict the condition of the traffic or roads. This is why it may be more convenient to have a local driver pick you up.

2. The accommodations are budget but pleasant. We stayed just one day to do the full day dive package. Outside the resort, there is just one main road with shops along both sides. Besides diving, there isn't much else to do. If we didn't do the full day divining, I could see us staying another day to do a dive or two and relax/read. The resort has a great café, a small pool, and an overall nice vibe.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor probably get more of a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Sofya, thanks for take your time to make nice report about us. Sorry, for the driver: We apologize about that. Normally it's no problem and he is there in time and easy to find him. But we take your feedback serious and now we send the driver earlier. You are right in the moment in Sanur its really big traffic because the road there is under constraction and we hope it will be better soon. Anyway: thanks for stay with us and we are happy you enjoyed it. Suci and the whole TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    204
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
237
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I completed my open water diver course here in this resort. The dive shop and the nearby dive spots are really nice. Many divers come here to dive during my stay. The liberty wreck dive spot can easily get crowded in the afternoon.

My instructor Disupardita is very nice and patient. As a plus, he speaks above-the-average English as a Balinese. When I first started the course, I was a little afraid of mask clearing and mouse-piece clearing. It turns out that my mouse-piece wasn't a good fit and we end up finding a smaller mouse-piece for me which later on fits perfectly. The beauty of the underwater world quickly calm me down and gets me motivated. My husband was initially signed up for the course as well. But he couldn't finish the course because or some ear pain. I was relieved to learn that the resort can refund some money back to us. I dived twice at coral garden (easier), twice at Liberty Wreck. After I complete my course, I signed up for an extra dive with Disupardita at Drop-off. During this dive, my primary mouse piece was broken. But I was calm and quickly switched to the secondary mouse piece at the depth of around 15 meters, thanks to D's great teaching. For the last three dives, I rented an underwater camera to take pictures. I would really recommend you to bring good camera if you are serious about diving. My pictures comes out ok, but way worse than what I actually saw.

About the resort, the reason I didn't give 5 star is that the room we stayed in was really small and basic. The major complaint about the room is that there isn't a desk. Luckily my husband and I are not picky especially considering the cheap package we get.

Overall, I recommend this place for diving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JingwanLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
107 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in the cheape3st rooms which are fan only, and surprisingly for Indonesia include hot water! the breakfast included is a la carte but of very good quality with both eastern and western selections. You can even get fresh fruit juices aswell as coffee included at breakfast which for the room price of about $15 a night is very good. The hotel restuarant is well located on the edge of the water (sea) with good views from upstairs, so eating was a real pleasure.
The food was reasonably priced for a hotel and of good quality overall- its a pity the staff tried short changing a few customers on more than one occasion when it came to paying the bill...

The hotel is only about 200 metres from the famous shipwreck which is only about 25 metres offshore and is very easy and probably best to snorkel rather than dive. Loads of fish and quite good visibility underwater aswell- it was a real pleasure.

There are only a few small downsides- Tulamben is mainly a pebbly beach with some black sand
secondly this hotel advertises a swimming pool but its tiny and was green when I visited - ie forget it! but what do you expect for the price...
although the hotel food is good I found a small seafood restuarant going up the hill about 15 minutes walk away that did fantastic whole fresh grilled snapper with sauce and bits, and free fruit for dessert all for about $7.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Sorry but our pool pump had problems and now our pool is already very nice, even not so big. For restaurant I prepare more small money for the staff. Hope it will be fine now.
Thanks a lot for the good feedback and that you took your time to recommand our place. Suci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I could define dive locations anywhere I wanted and they always tried best to serve.
Dive center was located next to beach and convenient. Good Foods, Nice service and great dives. What can I ask more?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiSung W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I just did my dive trip from May 8 to May 12 2013 in this resort. For the offered package price of approximately US$ 450-500, you already get airport transfers, accommodation, unlimited shore dives in Tulamben, 1 day dives in Amed and another 1 day dives in Kubu or Seraya (depending on your preference). Ibu Komang Suci, the owner, are very helpful with planning your stay there before confirming what kind of package you wanted to have. So, you can always email Ibu Komang Suci or the staff to get your plan right before getting there. The rooms are all in good condition, air-conditioned, hot showers, and other basic amenities you need in the room.

The location and the dives.

The location of the resort made it easy for every divers who wanted to do multiple dives within Tulamben area, including the infamous USS Liberty Wreck, the Drop Off, and the Coral Garden. Recently they have discover several new dive spots around the Drop Off and Batu Kelebit, namely the Alamanda and the Palung-Palung. New ship wreck can be visited in Kubu, fascinating coral gardens and more marine life to see. The divemasters are all very knowledgeable on all of the dive sites and marine life, and friendly, thus providing you with a very good dive experience.

The dive center opens from 6am until 8-9pm everyday, providing services for those who wish to do sunrise, sunset or night dive. They are also providing diving courses and certified by SSI.

The food

A friend said that they have delicious sets of food in the restaurant, which in fact they do. In the package you took, you will get several meals (breakfast, lunches, and dinners) included in the package, depending on your stay in the Resort. If you ordered more F&Bs outside your package, they will include the bill for you to pay during your check out. The price of the food is reasonable considering there are several other dive resorts next door.

Personal Opinion:
It was my first dive trip to Tulamben and surroundings, and I am happy to have choose Matahari for my trip and sure, I will definitely return again for another diving experience with them.

Cheers,
Hafidz

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the restaurant are good to choose. Looks like a decent bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasutionhafidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satun, Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed quite long (2 weeks) in Mathari Tulamben Resort because we were traveling with an infant of course we did some superb diving and not only the US Liberty is a dive spot you have to see there are many more places (f. e. corall garden, dropp off, etc.).
The staff was very friendly and helped us with every question we had, they gave us information where to go and what to do and there where lovely with the child too.
The pool is too deep for children or only with adults and the ocean can sometimes be rough but we managed to find a lot places to play. Thanks everyone for the nice holiday.

Room Tip: As a family you should take the superier or family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

For 20$ per night the room was very good!
Basic and clean (and hot water).
The view from the restaurant is amazing!Right on the ocean!
It was perfect for us as we snorkeled and rent the equipment from the hotel.

We found a cheapest option for scuba-diving (200m away from the hotel)
Breakfast was good and for once a fruit juice was included!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estrella3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulamben
16.6 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
15.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
8.5 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tulamben Wreck Divers Resort
0.1 mi away
Tauch Terminal Resort Tulamben & Spa
0.4 mi away
Liberty Dive Resort
Liberty Dive Resort
#4 of 12 in Tulamben
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA

Property: Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Address: Jl. Kubu-Abang, Tulamben 80853, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Tulamben
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tulamben
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulamben
#6 Family Hotel in Tulamben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With direct access to the beach, Matahari Tulamben Dive Resort & SPA offers an outdoor pool and a restaurant with stunning ocean views. Free Wifi Hotspot. The Dive Center provides convenient access to the Coral Garden and only 5 minutes walk to the USAT Liberty Wreck. Enjoy relaxing massages and beauty treatments in the lovely SPA.The homely Balinese-style rooms are all with private bathroom and equipped with either air conditioning or a fan. The low cost standard rooms have only cold water.The resort offers free parking, motorbike rental and laundry service as well as a tour desk for trip planning (included climbing).Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at beach restaurant, which serves appetising Seafood, Balinese Specialities, Indonesian and International cuisine.Transfer time from Ngurah Rai International Airport to Tulamben is 2,5 hrs and is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Hotel Tulamben
Matahari Tulamben Hotel Bali
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing