We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akasa Villa(Tulamben)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Scuba Seraya Resort(Tulamben)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
405
233
59
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
233
59
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliberty wreckdeluxe roomrooms are basicmosquito netdiving packagehot watertulamben areaearly morningrestaurant staffdiving centerdiving coursecoral gardensopen waterthese guysgreat divingfree nitroxbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 722 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a really good place if you want to squeeze in as many dives as possible into as few days as possible! The diving here is really impressive, but the visibility isn't so great during the rainy season (since more of the dive sites are very close to the shore), so better to come in the dry season. Service is generally good and fast, food is good if not excellent, and this place really is fantastic value. Having one dive-master per group means that there is a lot of freedom with when and where to dive. There isn't really anything to do here BUT dive - except for massage and spa treatments - so Tulamben isn't much of a destination for non-divers. But since you can dive three or four times a day, there isn't much need to do much else anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

very enjoyed in staying at Matahari Resort!! the best ever hotel ever, could 't ask for any better place... bali is best place ever, the niceest people ever and cant do enough for you....

I did 2 dives, love that coral garden, the shipwreck is very impressive, btw,its very easy to get to shipwreck. such a perfect place to do shore diving!!

the room is lovely, food is delicious, the most important is the reasonable price!!!

strongly recommend it for everyone, anyway!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shadow L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Really nice feedback. Our TEAM was happy to see it same like me. Thanks. Suci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying in Matahari. Planned for 3 nights, ended up staying there 5 nights. This is a perfect base to dive on the Liberty wreck, just 100 m away.
Remarks: The village of Tulamben is a little bit remote and has sandy beach. The wetsuits and boots of rhe diving center need to be updated.
Positive: Good value for money, competitive packages, nice house reef, addorable staff, good food, clean basic rooms, nice set up and excellent service. I will definetly coming back when I'm in Bali!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divetulamben, Owner at Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Paul,
thanks for your nice report. After the divemaster course is finish (now 7 divemasters in our dive center) I found the time to check about your feedback. And you are right. Some booties and some wetsuits need updated and I direct put the bad one out. I ordered already some new equipment and I hope if you come again you will not find a reason to complain about that...... Warm greetings Suci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I came here for quiet time and to try diving. I've had a finial of water all my life and these guys got my scuba diving, now I can't get enough. Food is good and very good price it located directly on the lava sand/rocky beach. Not much in tulumben but suited me perfectly.all the staff are very hard working and friendly. Rooms are basic but if a problem arises there more than happy to fix it

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlechefInverurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love peace and quiet on my holidays. And as a scuba diver, Matahari is the ideal place to get away from it all. No doubt, the journey from the airport takes 3 hours but the journey is worth it. Besides, you'll be travelling in a comfortable mini-van thoughout the journey convenient arranged by the resort (for a fee of course).

Dive sites off the resort are simply amazing and Matahari's divemasters are so familiar with the sites that they are always pointing out cool stuff to look at.

Rooms are basic but very cosy and clean. And with their new in-house spa, a relaxing massage is the perfect way to end a day of scuba diving.

Make no mistake, this is not a place for partying, loud music and noisy pubs. The whole draw of this place is the nice quiet relaxing ambience. I must also commend them on their staff.. friendly and professional. I've stayed here twice and will continue to do so during my trips to Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews