We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“litle strory of this village on my Blog”

Tenganan Aga Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.50*
and up
Full-Day Fascinating East Bali Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tenganan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tenganan Aga Villages is a village in the regency of Karangasem in Bali, Indonesia. Before the 1970's was known by anthropologists to be one of the most secluded societies of the archipelago. Rapid changes have occurred in the village since the 70's, such as the development of local communications by the central government, the opening up to tourism, the breaking of the endogamic rules. Tourists are attracted to Tenganan by its unique Bali Aga culture that still holds to the original traditions, ceremonies and rules of ancient Balinese, and its unique village layout and architecture. It is known for its Gamelan selunding music and geringsing double ikat textiles
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“litle strory of this village on my Blog”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Tenganan Village is one of the oldest Balinese Traditional located in Karangasem Regency, east part of Bali. This village is much referred by cultural literature science of Tenganan Pegringsingan, which is very famous in the island. It own very unique local community. more detail visit my blog!!! http://goo.gl/LGEv8I

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    106
    88
    42
    32
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We went to Tenganan village on 19 Nov 2013 afternoon.

I've been hearing about the Geringsing cloth long ago and really keened to visit this village. At the entrance, we paid IDR 50k as donation. Pak Nyoman was our guide. He explained many interesting history & cultures about Tenganan i.e. monogamy policy, the village leaders are 6 couples, education system, burial ceremony. We also got the chance to meet Bapak Mudita Adhana, one of the greatest Tenganan's artists. He is about 80 years old plus and still in good health :)
He sang a rhyme for us from the words written on the palm leaves (daun lontar). So lovely!

If tourists expect to see traditional ceremonies, they have to be aware of the ceremonies calendar. In 14-15 June 2014, there will be Pandan War Dance (Perang Pandan), one of the village's famous & unique attractions.

We also saw the work of a local palm leaves artist.
It was very detail & carefully carved. Although we didn't buy anything that time, the artist & the guide didn't put any pressure on us. They were polite and we had a fruitful conversation.

As additional info, for the guide fee we paid IDR 100k.

My suggestion is if you visit Tenganan, hire a guide and ask him to explain the history about this village. Since this is the main interest. The village itself, visually, has nothing much to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“İts commercial rather than cultural”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

For me it was waste of time, some "volunter guide" spoils your experince. After 5 minutes of tour you and up with buying souveniors in his house. You can see silar staff in Bali easly, nothing is special about the village

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Atak-TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Money pit”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Horrible experience. The whole tour was a sympathy trip for money. The tour guide was wearing a huge watch and we spied cars hidden away. From what I could make out the head of the family takes you for a tour then takes you back to thier house to make you buy thier "hand made goods". They prey on the soft hearted. I would not visit again or suggest to anyone else. Avoid.

Helpful?
6 Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Felt duped!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A bit like other reviewers we felt duped when we visited.

We were expecting to see a traditional village, which we did up to a certain point but then felt really pressurised into buying goods. We saw no one making the traditional double Ikat but were shown lots to buy, very expensive but beautiful. There were other goods but all very repetitive and once we declined to buy more expensive items we felt the guide lost interest in us.
If they are going to continue pressurising tourists into buying items they should maybe look at making some less expensive items!
There is no charge but they do expect a donation!

Such a shame, as built up to be so much more!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenganan Aga Village also viewed

 

Been to Tenganan Aga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing