We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not spectaular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice but not spectaular”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Cicada is a setup of approx 10 townhouses which surround a large shared pool. In addition each townhouse has it's own pool, sometimes small enough to just be a plunge pool. We had walked past this venue on various other trips to Seminyak and decided it worth a try.

Cicada is very handy to a lot of the best restaurants and beach clubs Seminyak has to offer. KuDeTa, La Lucciola, Hu'u Bar, The Dining Room, W Hotel, Potato Head and many others are all within easy walking distance, so this is a very well located accommodation venue.

We were picked up at the airport by their courtesy van which is always a preferred option, however on this occasion we were collected in a unmarked fairly below-average minibus. This was not the welcoming "first experience" we were expecting having had seen their more suitable house transport vans on previous occasions. What made it even more curious was that two of the nicer buses were parked at the venue when we arrived.

Anyway, welcoming staff were very friendly, and throughout the stay all staff were exceptionally nice and helpful to deal with. They had kindly booked tables at our fav restaurants for us when I emailed them in advance, which is always so handy.

We were in townhouse #3, which was very spacious (probably 100m2) consisting of an entrance area after our gate in which the plunge pool was (approx 3 m x 3m) which led into a large living room with sofas', TV, stereo, dining table and kitchen. The high ceilings made this room quite impressive and pleasant to be in. That room led through to a very large bedroom suite, with outdoor shower and bath and toilet leading off that. The bathroom area was two separate wet areas with a sliding door opening out to a small garden where the bath was located. All amenities worked well, staff came and did the usual Bali evening turn down and mossie spray. Air con worked effectively but was noisy.

The bed was a super king and fairly comfortable,and nicely dressed. Artwork on the walls in both bedroom and living room was authentic Indonesian and well chosen. Overall the rooms were in good condition, although maybe showing just a little wear and tear in places.

At US$300 a night (incl taxes) it was a little overpriced. Have stayed in other villas (see my Aria review) for almost half that rate and had bigger private pools and just as nice finish. I guess were were paying more for the advantage of having a full kitchen and dining/lounge setting which we didn't really use. Cooked breakfast was included, and was a good one especially delivered to you room.

We used the inhouse massage/spa treatment service - won't do again as it was very expensive and no where near as good at BodyWorks around the corner. Noise from the main pool and other townhouses and the roadway was hard to ignore - don't expect a quiet relaxing experience here unless you happen to end up with like-minded guests next door. This place would be better for families rather than couples.

Would we stay again? No. Would we recommend it? Yes, if you were a family or planning on hosting a dinner and needed the full facilities these places offer.

Room Tip: I think it's worth paying a little more for the townhouse that's on the roof, better sun. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskiesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent review
We are grateful for the time taken to do so.

With regards to your comments we do apologise for not living up to your expectation,: high season is certainly in a higher bracket price wise throughout Bali, if not the most of the Northern Hemisphere in my experience (August European Summer and School holidays).

This rate reflecting high season and peak in most establishments if not all is from 30 June - 15 September.
Our high season starts on the 1 Aug - 30 Aug and Christmas only to offer our guests competitive rates throughout the years. We are apologise that your dates did not allow for you to coming outside of these dates when Seminyak is at it's busiest and most expensive.

The room you stayed in is 179 ++ per night throughout the year. We carry out consistent research to keep our product and services competitive if not offering more and the information provided suggests for what we offer, we are certainly one of the cheapest in our category.
We do not know of any other Villa Complex with a 25 metre Lap Pool and every Townhouse having a private plunge or Lap Pool in the central Oberoi area located close to the destinations everyone wants to go to as you have kindly pointed out.

With regards to the mini van you have suggested, the Resort owns two Suzuki SUV's;
One is a service vehicle and the other is a Brand New Airport transfer vehicle.
In busy periods when we are perhaps picking up to 8 - 9 Townhouse Check in's at the same time, we must outsource this service to our Transport supplier.

We will have a word with them based on the information provided. I have never been personally disappointed nor have any of our guests complained to date regarding its lack of appearance hence we are somewhat surprised to hear this, however we are grateful for this information and will make amends as required to please.

We aim to please, thank you for your ongoing recommendation of our services and resort.
We are grateful.

With thanks
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    62
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
109
222
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently stayed in the luxury townhouse no.4 with my partner, we were shocked by the spacious beautiful two bedroom townhouse, we had a large kitchen area with everything from knives and forks, pots and pans, oven, fresh water and a fabulous mini bar! excellent air con in all rooms.. A spacious living room with the best quality TV we found all over bali.. with loads of channels ( this is also in the bedrooms!) Both bedrooms had an ensuite bathroom with a shower and bath, complimentary toiletries and fresh water everyday! The large lap pool right at your doorstep with plenty of room to lay in the sun... + there was a dip pool in our courtyard all to ourselves! it was amazing! The staff were amazing, we were sad to leave them! Excellent service, front desk, food services and we had our room cleaned & refreshed twice a day! During our trips to Indonesia we have not ever had service and a stay like this! Highly recommended whether it be business, family, friends a honey moon or a solo holiday you will be pampered! Thankyou Cicada!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review
September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merimbula
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Recently travelled with a group of 6 and stayed in the Execuitve Residence. The villa was perfect for what we needed. It was clean, spacious, nicely decorated and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful! The villa itself was located more down in an alley which was a little harder to describe to taxi drivers, but walking in from the main road was not far and did not feel unsafe and it was however pretty quiet in its location there. The rooms were all nice, the beds were comfy, cleaners came once a day, couldnt really ask for anything more from our stay. We ordered room service a few times which was nice. There is an awesome little cafe type thing not far from the villa called Grocer and Grind.. yummo!! We would definetly stay at Cicada again and would recommend to anyone. Thanks to all the staff who went out of their way to accomodate us, you made our trip a breeze!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were a group of 6 staying in the Executive 3bdr private villa. It was just perfect. More than enough space for the 6 of us between the indoor dining area and lounge room, outdoor dining area at the kitchen and the deck chairs by the pool. Not to mention the second lounge area off the 1st bedroom. The staff were wonderful making up our beds, replacing towels and generally tidiying up after us each day. Complimentary bottled water, mosquito coils and bug spray were greatly appreciated.
The pool and outdoor area were perfect for relaxing in and I spent a good few hours just reading on the deck chairs in the peace of the whole place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somethingtoshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Recently stayed in the grand residence with my husband, brother and 18 month old. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the grand residence. It was so massive and very private. Great proximity to eat street and the beach was within walking distance too. Staff serviced the villa every afternoon and were so lovely. Was very baby friendly as we could lock off the pool and a complimentary cot and high chair was provided. Was very hard to find such a baby friendly environment in many other villas in seminyak. Thank you so much cicada. We had a lovely time!! We hope to be back someday soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
You are so very welcome.


Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I have travelled extensively and were very happy with the accomodation and quality of rooms at Cicada. Having been absolutely spoit in Ubud (where we stayed at the Komaneka at Bisma) it was always going to be hard for this hotel to live up to those standards. However, we were pleasantly surprised once we arrived and, apart from a few minor areas for improvement, rate it very highly.

Positives are -
* Great location. Walking distance to the best restaurants, spas, beach and shops.
* Huge rooms. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and the lounge room, bed room and bathroom were all enormous.
* Great pool.
* Quality complimentary breakfast with large selection of food.

Areas for improvement (if I had to be picky)-
* The villas are approximately five years old and are showing their age in a couple of minor areas.
* The private pools in the one bedrooms villas are small (plunge pool really). However, this is not so much of an issue as the main property pool is lovely.
* Villas that back on to the road (as ours did) can be noisy at night. This would be a problem for light sleepers.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room away from the road, particularly if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and i wish to thank you for your feedback regarding our property.
This assists us in areas we have possibility over looked or is already scheduled for maintenance.

The initial 6 structures were built in 2007.

All have in fact been refurbished since structurally and its furniture is all new however there are 6 more recent structures that were only completed last year and are brand new.

i would be grateful in order to ensure that our service and facilities remain of a 5 star standard as has been the case since we opened, if you have a chance to email the hotel with the areas of improvement you deem as upgrading. This would help us should we have overlooked something not obvious.

Many thanks again for your review and we look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Cicada.

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Cicada is a truly amazing place to stay. It is immaculate - clean, well designed, extremely well maintained (staff told me the place was about 5 years old but had been refurbished but to me it looked no more than 1 year old), the staff were friendly, sweet, unobtrusive and always helpful.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa and loved it. It felt nestled away and private, even though the entrance was by the main pool. Didn't use our plunge pool much but it was very nice when we did. The place was pretty empty throughout the day so I indulged in some me time and felt like I had the pool to myself for the whole time! Great 25m infinity pool - one you can actually do laps in.

Next year, we will come back and bring friends. The staff gave us a little tour of the 3-bedroom villa as it was un-occupied and I am really looking forward to claiming the master bedroom! Massive. All the rooms were elegant with unique outdoor bathrooms. I wish I could have transported the whole lot back to Australia with me.

Location is great - close walk to bars, shops and cafes, as well as Petitingret Beach. Breakfast was delicious (I had the tomato, avocado, coriander bruschetta which had a surprise with green olive and hint of chilli which made it soooo tasty). Seafood pizza we had for lunch was great, but fishcakes were a little dry - probably the only small thing I wouldn't rate 5 stars out of our amazing experience. There are many places to eat out nearby so we preferred to eat out rather than order in, as there was more variety around.

I can't recommend this place enough! I tried to take photos but they just didn't capture what a wonderful place this was!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CicadaManagement, General Manager at Cicada Luxury Townhouses, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review

We wish to extend our gratitude for your support of our work and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Your review is noted and will be passed down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cicada

With thanks

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#4 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cicada Luxury Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicada Luxury Townhouses

Property: Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Address: Jl. Pura Telaga Waja, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cicada Luxury Townhouses 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in beachside contemporary accommodation, Cicada Luxury Townhouses is where Bali holiday dreams come true. Just a short drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and you'll be at our location in trendy Seminyak, right in the heart of where it's all happening on this magical tropical island. With the glorious golden sands of Bali's world-famous beaches only a short walk away, and surrounded by some of the island's best bars, restaurants and clubs, you'll enjoy a paradise getaway like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cicada Luxury Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Hotel Seminyak
Cicada Luxury Townhouses Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing