We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Gading in Seminyak”
Review of Villa Bugis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Bugis
Ranked #27 of 423 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We are on our last day of staying at Villa Gading in Seminyak and would recommend the villa overall, except for a few management and minor issues.
The villa is lovely and probably a 4 star villa but there are plumbing issues, the balcony upstairs leads directly to the downstairs where your lounge/dining/kitchen is; making it not really enclosed - it helps to keep the air conditioning working well but unfortunately it does not protect you from the millions of mosquitos living in the rice fields beyond your back fence!
The alley way that it is located on is also of a concern as it is very dark at night and not paved therefore muddy in parts where there are local homes located with many loud barking dogs. To save this issue, there is a side gate which you can unlock and walk on a narrow rice field ledge to get to a normal road but it is also dark at night and you will need a torch (one of which is located in the villa).
The management try their best but language barriers are an issue when trying to get an answer for some things - WIFI did not work for 4 days; shower flooding; etc. and overall they are a little rigid with rules so it was not the best experience with management. The house staff were lovely and did try their best also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 384 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Villa Bugis.This time we stayed in Villa Rama.

The Villa is perfectly located.A short walk to Bintang Supermarket and about a 10-15 min walk to the beach(via Dyana Pura).

From my initial dealings with Peter(Villa owner) to the office and Villa staff,we were always looked after.No request was too big.Kadek,the Villa Manager,was exceptional in organizing transfers,late check out and assisting promptly with any issues that arouse.The staff in general were always friendly and non-evasive(Villa was always cleaned while we were out).

I highly recommend Villa Rama as it ticks all the boxes-great rates,great location,helpful staff and a good size pool and block of land(we had 3 boys and 4 adults and never felt we were living on top of each other).

We are now in the process of looking for next year and hope to stay in one of the 4/5 bedroom Villas as we have an additional family comming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nursey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in Villa Mahkota with 8 other friends for 4 nights. Airport Transfer at night to the villa, which was all lit up when we got there. It took our breath away! Better than our expectations or pictures on the website. Big double rooms. SO much seating, even has a bar! The pool and pool lounges were lovely.
Staff come to cook breakfast every day. They only cook one thing for all, not individual meals, which was fine. I bought my own coffee and made it, they have a dripolator and a plunger (for the fellow coffee snobs). You can buy coffee at the supermarket.
We got take away delivered the first night, I just said Villa Mahkota to the restaurant, and somehow they found it. It is a 5 minute walk through alleys to the main drag and comes out at Bintang Supermarket. 10 min walk in the other direction brings you closer to the beach and Spa Bali...... which was the best spa we went to the whole time. Huge recommend!
Whenever we caught a taxi back we just got dropped off at Bintang Supermarket and walked the 5 minutes back to the villa. It was much easier this way as the alleys are very skinny an it's hard to explain where it is. Unless you are on the back of a scooter, or have your own - then you're set!
There is security about, but they move around to the other villas as well. The front door locks and well as each bedroom and you have a safe in each room. My hubby and I stayed in the bedroom that has an interconnecting childrens room with a double bed. Would be perfect if we decide to take the kids next time!
I would definitely stay here again. It was worth the little extra money for the privacy. There are also 2 TVs with DVD players (another room is just a TV room perfect for kids) and an ipod dock with good sound. Massive fridge too. Just make sure you close all the kitchen up at night or you will get a cat come in and get into the bin!
I highly recommend this place for a group of friends or a couple of families. Its awesome! Oh and staff were very easy to communicate with via email, always answered questions quickly. They do take payment in AUS dollars too so just remember that because it makes it so much easier!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lovely villa, loved the pool area, living room, bedrooms. All kept very clean by the great staff, nice breakfast if you wanted to eat in. The DVD player was missing the cord in the main bedroom, one bedroom didn't have a tv which you expect these days. Mozzies were terrible, the staff did provide coils & spray, but we bought extra cans.Not far from the Bintang which stocks all you need, once you work out the laneways its not very far from all you need. Villa could do with a little work, grounds are lovely. Probably wouldn't stay in this villa again, due to the large number of dogs that kept us awake some nights. Overall, was a nice place to stay, very happy with what Villa Bugis provide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bomber29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I will start with the positives! This is a lovely villa, beautiful pool, living areas and bedrooms. It is a good location, only a short walk down the lane way to Dhyana Pura with restaraunts and shopping near by and also to the Bintang in Seminyak. Do yourself a favour if you stay there and try Santai Day Spa at the end of the lane way, pure bliss.

Now the negatives, nothing major just a few annoyances. There was no TV in one of the bedrooms and the DVD players didn't work in any of the others, there were not safes in each room just a communal one which is left out in the open area kitchen, pretty easy to steal if someone wanted to.
There are a lot of mozzies around and we ended up buying so much extra insect spray and it still didn't seem to make a dent in them, thank god for the nets over the beds!
The lane way did not seem overly safe at night, ok if you are in a group but would definitely not use it alone.
The biggest issue is the dogs! I know this is out of the villas control but there is another lane that runs behind the villa and there are dogs constantly roaming and barking, some nights we were awake most of the night due to constant barking and then woken at 4am every morning by constant barking again.

Overall the villa is up to the great standards set by Villa Bugis but I probably wouldn't pick this one again due to the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishful_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Great villas . Hidden down a lane way - at least 600 m and complex with 2 security stations . Bit of a hike to main Seminyak especially with kids . Villa driver a bit pricey so try to arrange own and use the map of location . Comfy beds !!!!! Roomy and easy for 3 couples. Living area all open so if really hot or wet no communal air con area. Kitchen great and staff very helpful . Recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the villa arjuna (Bugis) over Easter. The stay was incredibly relaxing we stayed in a four bedroom villla ( Dated but adequate). The area we stayed in was Semenyak a walk from some incredible food and fairly expensive shopping. Taxis were cheap (make sure they're Metered) so u arent restricted as to where you can eat or shop. Would recommend a family stay in one of these villas , staff are happy to help in any way and breakfast was cooked for us daily.
There are so many attractions for a youg family id you are prepared to ask around. Felt very safe in this area of bale not hassled at all.

Room Tip: shop at the local stores for your fly sprays and mossie coils as they get into the rooms if doors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaluzandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#35 of 148 in Seminyak
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Serene Villas
Serene Villas
#11 of 423 in Seminyak
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samaja Beachside Villas
Samaja Beachside Villas
#18 of 423 in Seminyak
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Bali Asri
Villa Bali Asri
#17 of 423 in Seminyak
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#8 of 423 in Seminyak
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bugis

Address: Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 423 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $230 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Bugis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bugis is an Integrated Property Management and Marketing services company that represents a selection of villa owner that we consider unique due to attributes such as location, service and facilities. Our executive team comprises of managerial level hotel professional with years experience in the field. This has enabled us to establish and maintain property quality as well as train our staff to provide committed and unobtrusive serviceVilla accommodation symbolizes an exciting new era in Bali’s tourism industry. Apart from obvious cost efficiencies, ample space and home like qualities; a villa holiday provides an opportunity to experience the delights of tropical living where guests are not isolated from the island and its people by the constraints of a hotel environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bugis Hotel Seminyak
Villa Bugis Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing