We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Bugis - Villa Jaclan _ What an Awesome Place to Stay in Seminyak”
Review of Villa Bugis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Bugis
Ranked #25 of 416 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Villa Bugis - Villa Jaclan _ What an Awesome Place to Stay in Seminyak”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We arrived form Adelaide in the late afternoon. After a long trip, all we wanted to do was crack open a Bintang and relax by a spectacular pool......Thats exactly what we found at Villa Jaclan. The Beers were waiting for us chilled !! The accomodation was exactly like it is on the website, very clean, very tidy and very luxurious.. Our hotel supervisor Kadek was there to greet us on arrival and to make us feel very welcome. There was nothing we could fault at this Villa. The beds were huge and super comfortable.... The attention to detail and way the property was maintained was exceptional. All the staff we met were very helpful and kept out of our way... And on top of all that...the area was really quiet and peaceful.. WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK NEXT YEAR.......Well done to Villa Bugis...

Room Tip: www.villabugis.com and search the property list
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ERNIE_B_Rad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    85
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
180
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Villa Kupu Kupu for 5 nights in May with our friends and young son. The villa itself was quite nice - good layout, nice and light but many flaws - only air con in the bedrooms so spending time together in the lounge/diner was really uncomfortable as so hot. On the first day it rained a lot and the roof of our villa leaked a lot of rain water all over the floor of our bedroom, our clothes and left the tiles very slippy and dangerous.
We had asked and paid extra for a pool fence to be put up but the fence only covered 3/4 of the pool which meant it might as well not have been there at all as we still had to watch our son 24/7 for risk of him crawling round the edge of the fence and into the pool.
On the 3rd day i started to feel a pain in my ear but thought nothing of it. It gradually got worse and by the time we returned to Australia i was in agony and went straight to the doctors who said i had developed an ear infection from the swimming pool, most likely due to the level of cleanliness and chlorine in the pool but being up to safety standard. I am 5 months pregnant which has led to a lot of complications in trying to treat the infection and I have been back and forth to A&E trying to get it sorted. Not a great end to a holiday. My friend who was with us was attacked in bed one night by ants and has subsequently developed an allergic reaction which has spread all over her body.
Not a great end to the holiday for any of us.
The beds are comfortable but prepare to be woken at 5.30am every morning by the cockerels outside the villa and also be woken up by the dogs barking that roam around outside the villa. There is a building site right next to the villa and the road leading up to it is dark, dirty and impossible to push a buggy along.
Overall we were very disappointed with our stay at the villa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My booking was made through Villa Bugis for 5 nights stay at Villa Rama. This is actually the third time I've been to Bali and three times (2009, 2010 & 2011) there I've chosen to stay in Villa Rama. Now you know why I say "the place to be!"
Being in Villa Rama gives you a sense of tranquility and peace. The whole place is kept immaculately clean and the service staff who comes to prepare our breakfast and clean the villa up everyday are all nice and friendly. For a fee, the same staff can even prepare a bbq dinner for you!
I travelled with 2 kids this time round and they loved the pool, it was swim after breakfast, lunch and dinner! What's more, I must say this is a kids friendly villa cause they even have Wii which the kids obviously attacked; thank god I only revealed the machine on our last 2 days as I wanted them to venture out of the villa with us. Villa Rama is located just 10 mins away from Bintang Supermarket and along that street you can find lots of cafes, eateries and shops. We had lunch at Warung Ocha once and dinner at Warung Made's. Both offer good food and easy to get to from Villa Rama by foot but if you don't wish to walk 10 mins out to the main street, you can also rent a motorbike, there's a shop just 3 mins walk away from the villa with reasonable rates. If you want to hire a driver and car to take you out for a day of sightseeing, just ask the villa staff and they can arrange it. We hired one for a day as it was difficult to go on motorbikes with kids and it was all well worth it. We visited Tanah Lot, Uluwatu and had dinner at Jimbaran beach.
Now not sure if it's because of the surroundings outside the villa but the place seems to attract lots of mozzies.Thankfully we need not have to worry much about donating our blood to them as the villa provided us with lots of mosquito coils which we helped ourselves with at dusk. There was even a bottle of "OFF"!!
Oh, did I mention there's also free wireless internet available in the villa? !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969Piggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Being been back to Bali at least one or twice a year for the last 15years, I've tried almost all kinds of accommodations hotels/resorts/villas. When planning for this recent trip back to Bali which was with 2 girlfriends, we decided on renting a 3bedroom villa so that we have our own rooms and a common compound to prance around and found Villa Rama online! What attracted us in the beginning is the location, right in the heart of seminyak but then tucked away nicely so we get the convenient of accessing the "happening places" but the quiet & peacefulness of villa when we just want to chill out by the villa pool!

What we think is the best feature of the Villa is the open concept kitchen with attached Bar counter top area, we did alot of BBQ [yes it has a built-in BBQ equipment in the kitchen] & cooking in this kitchen which is set OUTDOOR which comes as a surprise because most kitchen in such villa are built into the living area! We cook, eat, drink and jump into the pool all within this area.

During day time when we want some action, we'll just work out on the Wii games & console board, with plentiful games CD provided in the villa rama, never have these in other villas before!

By the end of our one week stay, we almost feels like we are living "home" behind, can can't wait to get back here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We visited Bali in Nov 2010. It was our first trip to Bali and our party includes my parents, my brother, my spouse and our 3 kids.

We booked Villa Ginger, a 3 bedroom villa through Villa Bugis, and opted for the airport transfer (highly recommended as the villa is difficult to find the first time). On the way to the villa, we had to pass by a very narrow lane flanked by banana trees. We got a bit worried at first as the place seemed secluded. Over the next few days, we found the location to be ok. The villa was within walking distance to shops and amenities, yet slightly off the main streets so it was peaceful and exclusive. It's around 15 mins to walk to Bintang Supermarket and the beach. You'll need to go through some back alleys which are quite dark at night though. But this is not a big issue as you can easily rent a vehicle or hail a taxi to get around. I highly recommend renting a motorcycle.

The minute we stepped in the villa, we were transported to another place. The rooms were clean, decor was good, pool was excellent and well-maintained and garden was well-kept. My kids were so excited that they immediately took a dip in the pool. We were told that water and electricity was unavailable in Seminyak till later that evening, but that didn't dampen our spirits.

We had a lovely time over the next 5 days. On 2 of the days, we got the staff to cook us breakfast (highly recommended although there was too much food!). During our 5 days there, we experienced 2 power and water supply cuts (coincidentally, it was the day we arrived, and the day we left). Apparently, power supply is an issue in Bali, so this is a Bali-thing, and nothing to do with the villa.

The service staff at Villa Bugis are great. Very friendly and prompt. One of the staff (Made) even lend us his bike on one of the afternoons.On the last day, we requested for an extended checkout as our flight was scheduled to leave late in the evening. Unfortunately, another family was due to check-in to Villa Ginger. But the staff let us use another villa instead!. This was a bonus as we got to sample another villa; each of the villas have a different theme.

In summary, we love this place a lot. For my kids, this was the best holiday to date. I know it's not the shops or restaurants because they hardly went out; it was the villa. They have repeatedly asked me when we can visit again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason_seet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We expected a high standard of accommodation from these villas having read many positive reviews on TripAdvisor however Villa Jaclan exceeded all our expectations.

The property was huge and included everthing one could ask for in accommodation aimed squarely at the holidaymaker. From the fabulous private swimmimg pool to the well equipped outdoor kitchen this place had it all.

The buildings and surrounds are scrupulously clean and maintained daily by friendly, unobtrusive staff who literally went out of their way to assist.

The location is fine, tucked away from the street down a laneway that takes a few turns. This made it very peaceful and quiet and we didn't mind at all the 5 minute walk to the main roads and the Bintang Supermarket where we were able to get everything we needed.

Our holiday coincided with the religious 'Nyepi Day' holiday when venturing out is strongly discouraged. So stocked with food, drinks and bags of DVDs to play on the 50inch plasma television I couldn't think of a better place to spend a day in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have spent a couple of family holidays at Villa Bugis. While quiet and relaxing, its also right in the thick of things - you are close to great restaurants and night life and of course all of the attractions of Seminyak and the beach (the latter of which is about a 10 minute walk). And of course, whether going to Ubud or Tanah Lot, everything is not that far. The hardest choice of all is whether really to get out and do something... or just relax the whole time at the Villa! The decor, furnishings, indoor/outdoor living, media/enertainment system all are pretty conducive to never leaving!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blevtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
Serene Villas
Serene Villas
#12 of 416 in Seminyak
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dyana Villas
Dyana Villas
#28 of 416 in Seminyak
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samaja Beachside Villas
Samaja Beachside Villas
#18 of 416 in Seminyak
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 416 in Seminyak
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kanishka Villas
Kanishka Villas
#47 of 416 in Seminyak
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Bali Asri
Villa Bali Asri
#19 of 416 in Seminyak
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bugis

Property: Villa Bugis
Address: Jalan Drupadi | Gang Cempaka #14, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 416 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Bugis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bugis is an Integrated Property Management and Marketing services company that represents a selection of villa owner that we consider unique due to attributes such as location, service and facilities. Our executive team comprises of managerial level hotel professional with years experience in the field. This has enabled us to establish and maintain property quality as well as train our staff to provide committed and unobtrusive serviceVilla accommodation symbolizes an exciting new era in Bali’s tourism industry. Apart from obvious cost efficiencies, ample space and home like qualities; a villa holiday provides an opportunity to experience the delights of tropical living where guests are not isolated from the island and its people by the constraints of a hotel environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bugis Hotel Seminyak
Villa Bugis Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing