We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Kayana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kayana Bali
Ranked #22 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for several day at his hotel, and can say that it was an excellent stay. The staff was very attentive and the villa with the private pool equally stunning. If you are staying at Seminyak, I would definitely recommend this place. Get the villa with a pool, you won't regret it - excellent for a day of relaxation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hkhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    145
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
72
390
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Kayana felt like an oasis. The location was perfect, close walking distance to great restaurants & beach clubs. If we wanted to go further afield, a shuttle was provided. The kayana was a lovely combination of Balinese and modern design and so was perfect for our first trip to Bali. We were looked after throughout our stay by all the staff at Kayana. We would recommend it and stay again. The pool villa was fantastic.

Room Tip: The pool villa was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KMcC1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We were headed for a three star review but decided that the average time we had was because we don't quite get why people seem to like Seminyak so much - and that wasn't the hotel's fault. Actually the best part of our time on this part of our holiday was swimming in our private pool in our pool villa, and reading. It's a bit of a walk to the beach, and the quickest way is probably to go down the street a bit and go through Potato Head. (Or stop there for a cocktail or five...)

Breakfast was very nice. The spa was pleasant (we had a complimentary massage with our deal). The room was fine without being great. (The private pool was great.) It was quiet and secluded. Staff were pretty friendly.

So if you want somewhere quiet and private in Seminyak (probably more like south Kerobokan really) then happy to recommend Kayana.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Kayana is a tasteful, quiet oasis of calm in the increasingly congested Seminyak area near the beach. I loved it the moment I got out of my taxi from the airport. The entrance and lobby is a beautiful Balinese open-air pavillion where you'll be greeted by name, and with a smile. (How did they know my name? There's only 24 villas so it's not hard to keep track). The porter will help you with your luggage and guide you to the golf cart for the short ride down a winding path lined with fragant frangipani trees. Stopping at the gate to your villa he will unlock the doors to your own little world of serenity. Step inside and you'll find a Balinese garden with little stone statues, bamboo and more frangipanis, your own private pool with a sun deck and lounges, plus a curtained dining pavillion with a daybed to lounge on.

The villa itself is stunning in its modern simplicity. The owner is an architect I'm told, and it shows in the massive stone and glass walls, beautiful wooden details and huge bathroom and dressing room set behind a king size draped four poster bed. There is a spa bath with quality amenities, a "rainshower" shower, double vanities and every concievable accessory and amenity.

There is a minibar stocked with a limited number of free drinks, only wine costs extra. The aircon is strong and effective. The iPod dock sound system is good quality. There is a DVD player too. The free WiFi works well. There was a fruit platter in my room on arrival and the included breakfast can be served either in your villa on the dining table in the pavillion or at the restaurant. The bed is laid with top quality linen and huge fluffy pillows. You will sleep like a baby. Wake up and slip naked into your private pool before showering for a substantial breakfast. You are guaranteed privacy. You have to buzz the staff in through their own private rear entrance. There is a big screen TV but I didn't use it, preferring to chill out totally for 2 days. You will hear very little noise from outside your villa except bird calls.

Despite being so peacefull, you are only a 5 minute walk from Seminyak beach and the famous La Luciola beach restaurant, not to mention Mr Potatohead Beach Club and so many other attractions of Seminyak. If you fancy seeing other guests you can dine at the hotel restaurant or join them for the free afternoon tea in the library. The hotel also has a long "wet edge" pool for doing a few laps in front of the restaurant.

The spa is great too. I had a very relaxing massage and foot massage. They use quality oils and you can choose you favorite fragrance. The spa staff a gracious and knowledgable too. Prices are reasonable.

This is an ideal place for couples or singles who want to wind down and relax without being too far from the action down the street. The staff are naturally charming and extremely helpful, especially the hotel driver Putu who will gladly shuttle you anywhere you need to go.

If I could own my own place in Seminyak it would be the Kayana. I hated to leave and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: My room was the first on the right #808, opposite the spa and next to the Lotus gym which is below t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldboyMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

If your looking for a quite relaxing and amazing place this is the place, great staff central to fantastic restaurants and the beach. Leave the kids behind this is our sencond stay and Love Kayana Bali !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank traveltiludrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Kayana for 5 days in the villa with the dip pool. The villa is modern and clean. Service staff was tip top and well trained. The villas are located near many good eateries (Sardine, Restaurant Metis etc) and beach clubs (Ku De Ta, Potato Head etc.). Complimentary shuttle service to and fro to locations within Seminyak was provided. We had a good choice of breakfast throughout our stay which could be taken at the cafe or at the private pavilion in the villa. The inhouse spa was slightly pricey compared to outside but the service and atmosphere makes up for it. Well trained masseurs.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms away from the W Hotel entrance road which can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We recently came back, for the fourth time, at the Kayana. As always, it is a pure pleasure to be there. The villas are beautiful, modern and clean. The service is excellent and the staff friendly. It is our preferred place in Seminyak, close to where the action is, but super quiet when we want to retreat to our villa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Property: The Kayana Bali
Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with Frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV, buggy car and many more The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing