We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (private) place in Seminyak but no nice beach”
Review of The Kayana Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kayana Bali
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Planet Earth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect (private) place in Seminyak but no nice beach”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Kayana is really a nice place with very comfortable villas (with private dipping pool) in good condition and extremely friendly and professional staff. Any of our requests was handled with top priority and to our full satisfaction. The villas are very well designed with enough space and a large bathroom. It will soon be necessary to renew electrical appliances (TV and iPod loudspeaker were cracking so that we did not use them) and the air condition in one villa (we stayed there twice in two villas) was making noise beyond normal functioning.

The small garden and walls around the villa makes the Kayana a very nice 'private' place - with only one issue: the construction work around the Kayana creates a lot of noise without interruption. The entire Kayana structure is beautifully designed (Garden, walls, lightning) and maintained.

We also liked the restaurant and the food (delicious) and again the flexibility and professionalism of the staff. What's also great is that very next (left side after exiting the lobby) is a great Deli with a very delicious food and a mini mart (7-11 style) on the other side. Opposite the Kayana is a good place for massages and plenty of restaurants around (the W ; Ku De Ta ; Luciola).

If you are looking for a beach, then the Seminyak is not the right place. It used to be a nice beach here (10-20 years ago) but now the beach is extremely dirty (plastic and other waste as far as you can see) and there is so much construction that there is simply no quiet place. We love to walk on beaches but as you really have to watch every step on the Seminyak beach to avoid stepping on some waste its simply no fun.

The Kayana has parking for 4 cars (we had a car) and there was never a problem to park there. Driving can be a bit stressful but I would still recommend a car (good experience with balicarfinder.com) to get around and travel to other more quiet places if you are in Bali.

One final point: stay away from the villas next to the W entrance road (on the right side from entrance) as there is considerable traffic to/from W that adds to the construction noise level.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetEarthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    149
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
72
403
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at Kayana for 4 nights with my 4 year old daughter and it was a lovely experience. The service is friendly and efficient and the location was fantastic. Right next to the W Hotel and close to Potato Head, Jalan Petitenget is my preferred location after staying in various other parts of Seminyak several times in the past year.

While definitely more of a couples resort, I wasn't uncomfortable with being there with my daughter and the staff were great with her. The villas are lovely and private and it's nice having your own plunge pool (but they are really small, so don't expect to do laps). The main pool near the restaurant is a great size though, so you have options.

The inclusive breakfast menu was really great and there are plenty of options to cater for all tastes - all freshly prepared and cooked (no buffet set up).

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and while it was a little bit on the pricey side for Bali, it was a really good experience and we would definitely stay there again. Thank you Kayana!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Delux room on the side of the W Hotel and got a little bit of noise (as it backs on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KylieBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good price, great private pool villas, quiet and peaceful near the beach. The breakfast a la carte served at any time at your villa was wonderful! We were going to book at the W next door for double the price for a non-villa room, but extremely glad we chose the Kayana instead with our own private pool villa. The beach at Seminyak is not nice to swim and other than directly in front of the W is quite dirty, so dont waste money just to have that beach view. If we wanted to visit the beach it was easily accessible through the W (hah!). The Kayana hotel staff provided us with an excellent recommendation for a dinner venue, Merah Putih, within 5 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtimmydation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at The Kayana for our honeymoon, and it was our virgin trip to Bali. Susan Farael responded to my email booking enquiry and I am very pleased with her kind and patient assistance to ensure my special request and booking went smoothly.

I am very pleased throughout the stay. Airport transfer arrangements were efficiently made upon request with the villa. We were amazed when we reached the villa. Courteous and polite receptionists, informed us of our itinerary during our 4d3n stay. We booked the one bedroom deluxe villa which comes with a 1.2metre plunge pool. Wifi accessible in villa, restaurant and lobby area. Clean room, unique and classy room layout which made it a perfect honeymoon for husband and I. The villa has a small pantry for the butler to prepare and serve our breakfast in the comfort of our villa. The breakfast menu offers a wide range of choices; from Western to Indonesian, American etc.

I am honoured to meet up with the GM of The Kayana, Mr Arief Ali. He provided very good hospitality to his guests, who then became part of The Kayana family. I will definitely make a return stay with The Kayana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My daughter (16) and I stayed at The Kayana for our second time in two years in January this year.
Just like our first stay, it was wonderful. Quiet, relaxing, super accomodation and super friendly.
We stayed in a Delux Villa with small plunge pool, which was perfect for chilling away the heat and sweat after a day out and perfect for lounging by on the days we stayed in.
Day spa and treatments were great. We did have other treatments outside the hotel, but truly, you get what you pay for. The treatments at the Kayana were so much better and worth the extra spend.
Great location just outside the really busy part of Seminyak and yet close to everything.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed in the deluxe pool villa, the location is perfect, next door to the W and a few doors down from potatohead.
Definitely ask for an odd number room as mine was an even and was right on the W hotels driveway so was very noisy with traffic.
Hotel staff were helpful and accommodating to all requests.
Room service was good, breakfast was al a carte and you can order to your room if you do not feel like going to the restaurant.
The spa was a little expensive for Bali standards, try bodyworks as an alternative or AMO across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a odd number room not near the W driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you wanna know, how the villa and facility, is great. We have a private small pool/jacuzzi, children can play, but not for swim. Housekeeping doing great with their services, but not the frontliner, front office and bell boy or greeter not doing their best, even they didnt helped us with luggage to our villa.
Very limited parking space, only fit 3 cars.

Room Tip: Any villas are ok actually, but we like ours, in the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeWentWeShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#20 of 146 in Seminyak
913 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#12 of 146 in Seminyak
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#8 of 146 in Seminyak
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#11 of 146 in Seminyak
560 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 146 in Seminyak
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kayana Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kayana Bali

Property: The Kayana Bali
Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, Kerobokan Kelod | Kuta Utara, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kayana Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kayana is the one of the preferred villas in Seminyak, boasting a reputation for quality accommodation at agreeable rates. The 24 separate villas are positioned just off a winding pathway, flanked with Frangipani trees and tropical foliage. Surrounded by pristine gardens and rich in the rewards that fresh open air brings, a stay at The Kayana offers guests total privacy and tranquility. The Deluxe Villas is featuring a plunge pool as well as an outdoor dining and lounge area. Moving further, each unit of their Pool Villas is featuring a spacious 28sqm pool with outdoor dining and lounge area with pristine gardens. All of the 24 private villas is stocked with double canopy king size bed, air condition, wireless connection, safe deposit box, a plasma TV, buggy car and many more The Kayana is situated close to Potato Head, Huu Bar, Kudeta and surrounded by good restaurants and boutiques. Just 15 minutes by walking to public beach and 20 minutes by walking to Seminyak center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kayana Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
Kayana Bali Seminyak
Kayana Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Kayana Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing