We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach ambiance and yummy food”
Review of Chez Gado Gado

Chez Gado Gado
Ranked #66 of 510 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Contemporary, French, Mediterranean, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seminyak Beach front Restaurant Chez Gado Gado offers an exciting new concept in modern and contemporary European style dining in a relaxed, yet stylish environment. Surrounded by a beautiful outdoor deck dining area complete with pergola, Chez Gado Gado offers uninterrupted views across the Seminyak beach and Indian Ocean. It is a perfect setting for romantics and special occasions. Our cuisine can be described as eclectic with a mix of European and Indonesian an Asian items while offering a relaxed and casual service during lunch time. Dinner time provides a slightly more formal and professional service that matches its European style menu with local flavors. Chef Quirijn Rademaker proves his creativity by creating an innovative culinary journey with clean finishes. While we are a casual fine dining restaurant, proper attire such as shirt (no branded tank tops/singlets/T-shirt) and footwear, will be required in fairness to all of our guests. Bookings and reservations larger than 8 and no smoking requests will be prepared inside our dining room. Parties of 12 or more adults requires an assigned set menu so that the flow of service for all of our guests is not disrupted. Outside tables will require a reservation and will be set per weather permitting and space availability.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beach ambiance and yummy food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped here for lunch after spending the morning at the beach. It is conveniently located just south of the main street beach entrance. The restaurant seating is just above the sidewalk so you have a really good view of the beach. The food was really outstanding and the presentation was exceptional. I had the grilled king fish and my wife had the Philly sandwich. Even the French fries were well prepared and presented.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,202
    552
    182
    66
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gado Gado Excellent Restaurant with great views”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

On the 3 June our group of six went to Gado Gado for dinner. We had heard a lot about the Restaurant and were not disappointed as the meals and cocktails were world class. The service was unobtrusive but highly efficient and the ambience and views were to die for. We stayed in Bali for 12 days and went to many outstanding Restaurants but Gado Gado is our number one choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibbo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow.. and that is an understatement”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

went to gado gado on the recommendation of my villa for lunch. the set lunch (priced at 175k++) seems like a good deal so we went for it. and that was a terrible mistake.

we were seated at about 1pm. and our starter arrived about 20mins later. food was average. Despite many reminders to the waiters and waitresses that we have a spa appointment, the main course did not arrive. until we got really fed up and called for the bill at 2pm (yes, after 1hr, my main course has still not appeared), then suddenly the main course appeared.

i told the waiter i do not want the dessert as i was worried it would be another 20-30mins wait, but no, it was not possible to pay for the ala carte. in the end, we gobble down the main and the waiter just hurriedly serve the dessert.

and the place was not even half filled. will not go back to there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Reliably good food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

while seminyak dinning has gone from simple to posh to just plain crazy, gado gado has been around for a while and has been constantly good quality food without the hype of some of the newer "hipper" places.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Designs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had an amazing dinner here on 19th June for my birthday. This restaurant was recommended by a number of friends who had been there and we were not disappointed. The cocktails were great, the menu options were wonderful and the service and ambience were great. I enjoyed the chicken liver parfait for entree and slipper lobster and pumpkin ravioli for main, followed by a little cake the restaurant presented to me for my birthday, which was unexpected. Everyone on my table enjoyed their food (there was five of us).
We went back for an early supper the night we were leaving as I wanted to have that parfait one more time, and we shared a range of tapas-style entrees, like prawns in garlic butter, the parfait, beef croquettes, mini hamburgers.... plus a final cocktail. Highly, highly recommended - oh, bookings are needed if you want to guarantee a table on the deck.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nataisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gado Gado also viewed

 

Been to Chez Gado Gado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing