We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food in a lovely environment”
Review of Chez Gado Gado

Chez Gado Gado
Ranked #72 of 536 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Asian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Seminyak Beach front Restaurant Chez Gado Gado offers an exciting new concept in modern and contemporary European style dining in a relaxed, yet stylish environment. Surrounded by a beautiful outdoor deck dining area complete with pergola, Chez Gado Gado offers uninterrupted views across the Seminyak beach and Indian Ocean. It is a perfect setting for romantics and special occasions. Our cuisine can be described as eclectic with a mix of European and Indonesian an Asian items while offering a relaxed and casual service during lunch time. Dinner time provides a slightly more formal and professional service that matches its European style menu with local flavors. Chef Quirijn Rademaker proves his creativity by creating an innovative culinary journey with clean finishes. While we are a casual fine dining restaurant, proper attire such as shirt (no branded tank tops/singlets/T-shirt) and footwear, will be required in fairness to all of our guests. Bookings and reservations larger than 8 and no smoking requests will be prepared inside our dining room. Parties of 12 or more adults requires an assigned set menu so that the flow of service for all of our guests is not disrupted. Outside tables will require a reservation and will be set per weather permitting and space availability.
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely food in a lovely environment”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a table of 4 adults and 4 kids under 8 y.o. at this lovely restaurant. Seated outdoors under the the trees and nearby the beach, the menu was surprisingly good. Kids menu had the staples kids would gorge down along with a healthy salad at the side. I ordered the scallops with foie gras ravioli and it was beautiful & delicate. I was surprised with the quality of food produced by the kitchen, fine dining quality at Bali is not very easy to find. My husband ordered the two ways wagyu cooked medium and it turned out to be cooked to that perfect medium. The atmosphere was lovely and memorable. I'd definitely visit this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iyaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,246
    573
    193
    68
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is very nice but too expensive to be placed in bali.we spent 65euro p.p. for a starter, main course and white wine! It doesn't wort it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Food and Location”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great food, great service, great location. Loved the cocktails. Definitely one to try - we will certainly go back on next trip as the food was beautiful and gin smash the best cocktail I have ever had.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fraser G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice evening and delicious food.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Read some good reviews and decided to have dinner there on a Saturday evening. Booked to avoid waiting around. Host was welcoming but seemed a little jaded. However she did compliment my wife on her perfume which was nice. Table outside was good however would have been great to be closer to the beach. Of course everyone wants this aspect so it was fine where we were. Initially the Music was a bit loud so we asked if it could be turned down a touch? Waiter agreed with us and no problems. The food was great and right up there with some of the other top restaurants in Seminyak. We had a set menu which had 5 courses and was spot on size wise for us with drinks. The mix of flavours was fantastic for our palates with both fish and meat dishes.
The place doesn't (in my opinion) have the same wow factor as Sardine or La Lucciola but it did strike my wife and I that Chez Gado Gado would be a great place for a long lunch that ambles into the evening. If they were more creative with the outdoor lighting it may give the place a more magical feel. That said, the indoor area is very nice and has somewhat a Parisian feel to it. It also has incredibly high ceilings and is very architecturally appealing.
We would definitely go back and tryout our lunch theory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lundy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had on Bali - excellent food and beautiful location”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Dutch chef Querrijn showed his fantastic skills with an oustanding menu mixing beautiful ingredients into a marvellous diner.

We were all pleasantly surprised to get this quality on Bali.

This plus the beautiful beachside terrace location and the great service made it an unforgettable diner for us.

Well done ! Thanks for a memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MvdK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gado Gado also viewed

 

Been to Chez Gado Gado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing