We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali Paradise found” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serene Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Serene Villas
Ranked #10 of 409 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bali Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have stayed in 2 of the villa suar villas and absolutely love them. The staff are amazing, we have 2 children and they looked after them so well, we honestly feel like part of the family. The decor is so refreshing and comfortable and the pool a good size. We will go back time after time to stay here. Also the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Being made to feel like one of the family is really the best accolade that we could ever get. Our staff were very pleased to read your comments and as with many guests they become good friends and welcome back returning guests year after year. Villa Suar's great location makes it a perfect choice for holidaymakers who want to be in the middle of everything and only a short walk to the beach. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    92
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
220
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had family staying at this location, while my fiance & I stayed at a nearby hotel. We ended up spending all of our free time (excluding sleeping) at the 3 bedroom villa. The facilities were very modern. We spent a lot of time watching movies (they have a large list on a hard drive) from the pool! My family arranged for a surprise BBQ dinner cooked by the staff, which was great quality (chicken, seafood, beef, salads, etc) and reasonably priced. The staff were always available to assist and next time we come to Bali we will be booking at Serene as the privacy and facilities really made it enjoyable.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villa was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheScriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Often guests who have friends staying at Hotels nearby Serene, who are amazed to see the difference a villa vacation can make when they visit their villa staying friends. We hope that you will be a villa convert very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in Villa Frangipani in November 2013 for over a week. Everything was perfect from the get go. From the booking process dealing with with Nyoman Suditar and Yudis to the beautiful villa and the gorgeous Isna that serviced our villa.
I have travelled to bali many times over recent years and have stayed at more expensive and less expensive places than Serene.
Serene lived up to every expectation. The villa was very well sized, it was clean and it was beautiful. The pool was big and the yard just perfect for our 13 month old son. I often get tired of Villa breakfasts but Isna was such a good cook both my husband and I loved the food.
Isna was the perfect person to service our villa, she was a great cook, she was friendly, happy and always willing to meet our needs. More than anything she was amazing with our one year old son. He wanted her to come home with us.
If you don't mind a short stroll to the shops and restaurants defiantly stay here.
A big thanks to Serene and their wonderful staff. We would go back for sure

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakota100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Serene Frangipani is a favorite with families with children with the large garden area, pool and indoor outdoor living areas. Happy to hear that the Serene team was able to satisfy both your breakfast and family needs. Isna like most of our staff love children and are able to bond quickly and often build good relationships with our guests who return every year to saty with us. We hope that we will see you again at Serene Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for only 3 nights in the Lotus Villa. It was our first time staying in a villa and it was an interesting experience. I want to separate my review on the villa concept/experience and the villa itself.

Villa Concept:

Everything was outdoors (partially covered), except for the bedroom, which was an enclosed room with air conditioning. It took some getting used to showering 'outdoors' and we gained a new pet lizard/gecko that likes to crawl to our bathroom shower every night through the open roof. The shower is hugeee, so it never got too close. Because everything is 'outdoors' aside from the bedroom, there will be mosquitos flying around. The staff do set up the mosquito repellent at night but you can't get them all.

Nothing against Serene Villas, but we discovered that we are more hotel people than villa people.


Stay at Serene Villas:

The villa was always clean, you have your own kitchen, own little pool, good movie selection, and even though our villa was right next to the front desk, I didn't mind it because there was always security there especially at night.

The location was ok. It's not too convenient walking around there because the roads are narrow and there are no sidewalks but taxis are super cheap in Bali (compared to North America). My taxi costs never exceeded $5 USD per trip (to Kuta and Legian). We attempted to walk out one night towards the beach area (around 7pm) and we felt that the road was kind of dark and shady, so we returrned to the villa.

Despite that, the service more than made up for it. My absolute favourite thing about Serene Villas was the service. I am not sure if all Balinese people are nice like this but man, Serene Villas deserve an outstanding service award or something.

My lovely 'butler' Wita, made an awesome breakfast for us every morning and made sure our villa was always clean and stocked. We had hired a driver for a full day (not from the villa) and due to miscommunication, he didn't show. So the front desk called and complained to them. We arrived late at night on our first night and we were hungry, and they let us order food from room service even though the chef had left for the night. They made reservations for us, exchanged money for us, the list goes on.

The service we received definitely raised the bar of our service expectations and we definitely felt spoiled.

Even though we discovered we are not too fond of the villa concept, I want to thank each and every staff member at Serene Villas for spoiling us and making it an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oh_my_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceAtBali, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. Villa vacations may not be for everyone as you have discovered but we are glad that we were able to deliver good service and make your short stay feel welcoming and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at Cendana Villa in October 2013 with x2 other couples, celebrating my sister's 40th Birthday. We were picked up by Serene Villa transport and delivered to this amazing Villa that we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our Butler Sumi was an absolute delight preparing an amazing breakfast every morning. The airconditioned bedrooms were spacious and well appointed. x3 Large bathrooms, luxurious and refreshing after a hard day shopping. Pool was a delight in the morning, afternoon and evening. Loved staying at Serene Villas and will no doubt stay again next year. We have always stayed at large 5 Star Resorts but I must say staying in Villa accommodation in Bali is a fantastic change that I would recommend to anyone.
Thanks again to everyone that works at the Villas for making our stay truly memorable !!!!!
My sister had a fantastic 40th Birthday Celebration catered at the Villa with a seafood extravaganza !!
Well organised and impeccable cleanliness throughout the villa.

Room Tip: Cendana was perfect for x3 couples, private rooms and great to share breakfast in the mornings toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceAtBali, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. Staying in a villa when celebrating a birthday or special occasion cant be beat. Many guests after having their first stay at a villa in Bali never return to a traditional hotel. Come back and stay with us at Serene again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent the 2nd week of our Bali holiday at Serene Villas (2 Bedroom Acacia) on a friend's recommendation - it was all that she & other reviewers have said; well located, excellent amenities & outstanding staff. Location in a quieter area between the shopping on J Raya Seminyak & the restaurant strip of J Kayu Aya is an ideal base to spend your days relaxing by your pool or step out for a meal or some shopping. (get the staff to inform you of the laneway "shortcuts") Beaches & bargains are what entice a lot of visitors to Bali, but for us it is the Balinese people that keep drawing us back & our 'butler', Sucipta, highlighted this once again. Attentive, friendly & informative, our interaction with him added to our understanding of Bali & provided a family atmosphere to our stay.We learnt a lot from him- suksma Sucipta. This was typical of all the staff. Would certainly recommend Serene for your Bali holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceAtBali, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. Yes the Balinese people make a holiday in Bali so special. We passed on your kind comments to Sucipta ! We hope you will choose another Serene Villa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Villa Tirta Naga for 7 nights. It was just incredible.

We ended up having our flight delayed and instead of getting in at 5pm we arrived at 1am and they were still there waiting for us to greet us with a cocktail and show us around our villa.

Every morning we had a beautiful fresh breakfast cooked for us and it was a great start to every day. The chef was great and all the food was just beautiful.

Wayan was our chef and I could not ask for anyone better. He was very polite and sweet and always very accommodating.

We stayed close to the beach in Seminyak and I think it was an ideal place to stay.

The beach is about 3 mins walk and Seminyak square is about 2 minutes in the other direction.

Pools: The Pools (2) were beautiful and very well maintained. I think one was a little cooler than the other which was nice depending on the time of day/night.

Staff: All of the staff were very polite and helpful. We had security out the front majority of the time(part of the service of your stay) for peace of mind and it was nice to see him as your leaving and arriving at your villa. Always very friendly and happy to see you.

Massage: On the last day we got a massge from the massage centre next door and the ladies actually came and did our chosen massages in the comfort of our own villa.

Taxi service: There is a taxi service available through the villa however we just happened to get one off the street and he ended up taking us on 2 different day tours which were just fantastic. There is no way we would have seen all that stuff without him. Thankyou Komang.

We loved the open plan living considering it was rather warm and humid and mosquitoes were not really an issue for us. We had mozzie coils lit each afternoon on dusk and there was always an abundant supply of Rid/Aeroguard (supplied by the villa) but we didn’t need to use it all that often.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU CHOOSE VILLA TIRTA NAGA. Nothing I have seen so far can beat it.

I have already started booking my next trip to Bali for in 6 months time (can’t wait a year) and guess where I’ll be staying???
You guessed it………. VILLA TIRTA NAGA

Room Tip: Everything about this place is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceAtBali, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Villa Tirta Naga's location within a short walk of the beach makes it a fabulous choice for guests wanting to be close to the ocean. Our staff are all trained to give great service and we are glad that you appreciated it. We look forward to see you in 6 months !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#7 of 409 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wolas Villas & Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa
#11 of 409 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#3 of 409 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Villas

Property: Serene Villas
Address: Jl. Drupadi 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 409 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Serene Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Villas Hotel Seminyak
Serene Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing