We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Villa Hibiscus”
Review of Serene Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serene Villas
Ranked #11 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful Villa Hibiscus”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed there for four days and three nights and we have to say the services provided are first class! The villa, pool and garden were beautifully kept tidy and clean daily and most of our request were answered promptly by the staffs. We enjoyed having friendly butler that came to our villa to cook us breakfast everyday and gave us suggestions on where to visit when we are in Bali. we wasn't expecting a lot since this is our first trip to Bali but Serene Villa had defiantly made this as one of our memorable trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Villa Hibiscus is a very popular villa with our guests, with its large garden area and complete privacy. We are glad our staff were able to make you feel at home and attend to your every need. We train the staff to communicate with the guests about what activities, excursions and other things there are to do on our magical island "Bali"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    70
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
141
103
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Have just had 5 nights in Villa Lotus. Staff are fantastic and breakfast was awesome. The villa is jut like the pictures show. We loved it. Massage right in front of Villa at Jolinda Spa at 55000rph ($5AUS)for 60 mins or 80000rph for 90mins. Location was good and only a 14min walk to Bintang supermarket or the beach. Cost 15000rph for taxi from Legian or about 30000rph to Martaharis in Kuta Square.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Mark, thanks for your positive feedback on your stay with us at Villa Lotus. Being located in central Seminyak also makes a stay at Serene very easy with many restaurants, boutiques and the beach all close by. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west france
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lucky enough to spend Christmas and New Year here with all the family including one year old grandson. We were in Villa Hibiscus which is a two bedroom villa with small secure garden and private pool and our son and his girlfriend were in Villa Lotus, a single bedroom villa, which connected to ours by a garden door. ( Villa Lotus has a tiny garden and a small plunge pool (pond?) and got very little sunshine so we all congregated in Villa Hibiscus). The villas were both of a very high standard with good linen and towels, very comfortable large beds, large fridge, water cooler, plenty of comfortable house and garden furniture for lounging around on...don't think we lacked anything! All kept impeccably clean. Ran, our private butler, was friendly, charming and very obliging (and I'm sure we could have been classed as pretty difficult guests) but he just needed a wee bit more experience, having only been in the post for a few months. We only realised this when Isna took over for breakfast on his day off. Note to Management...Please don't take this as a criticism of him, more of a pointer. He was lovely and we couldn't have been easy! We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and obliging. We ate in quite a lot and found the room service menu a little variable, but on the whole, pretty good. Portions a bit on the large side, especially given the heat.

Only a couple of minor criticisms:

The indoor part of the bathroom floor beside our room, when there was an occasional downpour, became dangerously slippy which meant we had to use the lovely towels on the floor for safety reasons.
The dirty linen baskets in the bathrooms smelt horribly musty and should be ditched.
The fruit juices and fruit at breakfast were pretty horrible. The fruit juices, although made from liquidised fruit each morning, seemed to have some sugar/water concoction added to them and were watery and tasteless. Tried them all, even carrot, and none were better than any other. Fruit, apart from watermelon and an occasional mango, was dry and uninteresting. Seems strange given where we were. Good quality bought fruit juice would be a better bet!

Our other complaint is nothing to do with Serene Villas. We probably wouldn't have noticed if we hadn't been trying to push a one year old around in a Buggaboo. The pavements are pure hell with potholes, great chunks missing with holes down to (hopefully) drains, cars and motorbikes parked everywhere. The only alternative is pushing the buggy on the road which is not an option given the volume of traffic. It's a pity Bali has not spent part of the money that must have poured in through tourism over the last 30 years on improving its infrastructure. The upshot is that we didn't spend half the amount of money in the shops and restaurants that we would have done had 'going out' been a pleasant experience.

To sum up....we all had a brilliant time in a lovely place and would recommend Villa Hibiscus at Serene Villas very highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medlar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
It was good to welcome you back to Serene Villas over the festive Season. We are glad that to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hibiscus and Lotus and you were definitely not seen as difficult guests. Glad that you enjoyed our staff and we have noted all your comments and are following up where applicable. We look forward to be of service to you and your friends in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed as an extended family at the Serene Garden Villa in September 2012 and I couldn't rate it highly enough. The booking and payment system was easy and the staff were very prompt with answering any question we had on email. The transfers to and from the airport were drama free and there wasn't even an issue when we had others arriving at the villa on a later flight. The Villa, private pool and gardens were beautifully kept on a daily basis, our children loved waiting for the pool man every morning (although my 3 year old was upset when the gardener would rake up the flowers which had dropped on the lawn, I on the other hand loved the attention to detail). Yudi was our butler and he was wonderful with us (the adults) and the children alike. He always knew exactly what we wanted and when (the kids would wake up and Yudi would be there with their breakfast and knew exactly what each of them wanted in what order from the second day without them asking, amazing). Our 5 year old one night was bitten on the face by a mosquito (my fault leaving a window open) but all the staff took this very seriously and upped the mozzie spray and electric coils in his room just in case each night after that. Every staff member was happy and very easy going and eager to please. I highly recommend Serene to anyone who has high standards like us and wants great value for money. We are planning on staying again this year. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our staff strive to give great service in both the preparation & arrival stages of our guests holiday as well as during their stay. Serene Garden Villa is a favorite amongst guests because of the large pool and garden and we can appreciate that the kids loved the area for playing. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bali and Serene Villas again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
397 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited Serene Villas about five years ago and returned with great pleasure as the property has added some new villas. We stayed in Kiran I which must be a year old. Beautiful villas with two bedrooms, a pool, sitting/dining and a small kitchen. Good and friendly service from the villa attendant who does the housekeeping as well as full breakfast service.
The place is very peaceful and a ten minutes walk to the beach and most of the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Book the newest villas like Kiran
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjkiefer, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Jerome,
It was good to welcome you back at our villa recently; We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at new villa Kiran I and hopefully will won t wait that long for another visit to Bali;
Once again thank you for recommending our property and we look forward to be of service to you and your friends in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Privacy, security, luxury, excellent service, friendliness and location only just begins to describe Serene Villas. The day would start with a gourmet breakfast cooked in our villa by the lovely Yani or Sucipta. Then a short stroll to the beach or a AU$0.70 taxi ride. Shopping, cafes, restaurants were also within walking distance. Any request was received with a smile whether it was cocktails by the pool at any time of the day or night or arranging transport to wherever our hearts desired. We would also highly recommend fast tracking through customs another service offered by Serene Villas. Look forward to our next visit.
Tim & Olga

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Olga,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Serene villas.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff who strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our experience from airport pickup to departure was nothing short of wonderful. Villa Hibiscus was very spacious, clean and comfortable, the staff each and everyone of them were so helpful and happy, you felt very special the way you are treated. The meals prepared for us by the chef were first class we highly recommend the suckling pig. Nothing was a problem, the massages organised in house were great, a wonderful place for privacy and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SereneVillasTeam, Manager at Serene Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Terry-Jen
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Villa Hibiscus and that you managed to relax and unwind. Great news that you enjoyed all services rendered especially the in villa massage and in villa meals. Thank you for making special mention of our team – they do make a holiday even more special and they are genuinely kind and caring.
Thank you for recommending us to others and for taking the time to share your holiday experience. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#7 of 417 in Seminyak
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hevea Villas
Hevea Villas
#1 of 417 in Seminyak
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#5 of 417 in Seminyak
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 417 in Seminyak
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Uma Sapna
Uma Sapna
#14 of 143 in Seminyak
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene Villas

Property: Serene Villas
Address: Jl. Drupadi 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Serene Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Villas Hotel Seminyak
Serene Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing