We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the heart of bustling Seminyak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort
Ranked #45 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An oasis in the heart of bustling Seminyak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely boutique feel luxury hotel, very trendy and definitely more suitable for adults than families with children. Location great - in the middle of bustling Seminyak and right on the beach. Rooms huge, suite-style, very nice, private balcony jacuzzi overlooking sea nice touch (higher floors have better views - 3rd storey probably best views). Food good, beachfront location and infinity pool nice. That being said, bear in mind Seminyak is a black sand public beach - there is no private beachfront for the hotel per se unless you lie on one of the deck-chairs on the lawn - also v nice - which means there are lots of hawkers, dogs, random people using beach all day, and also the beach is sadly not the cleanest but they do the best they can. Right in front of the hotel it is not bad, but we tried walking down the beach one day, and about two blocks down to the right there is a river of absolutely disgusting trash water running from the street into the ocean - so dirty we couldn't cross it - had to walk to the street and go all the way around). It's a real shame they don't take better care of the abundant natural beauty. But that's not the hotel's fault - they do a great job with what they have! If you're planning to stay in Seminyak at a upscale location - this is probably one of the best out there. Service was good although one small complaint - I had a problem with the fact that my husband and I always ran out of hot water - there is only enough hot water for one long shower or one filling up of jacuzzu tub and this was the official explanation given to me by the manager, which I think is absurd for a 5 star, 300 USD/night hotel. Which meant we had to keep timing our showers - jacuzzi dips so that if we took a dip in the jacuzzi we would then have to wait another 45 mins or so soaking wet and cold for the water to heat up so that we could have showers. Very strange and they need to do something about that, altough I am grateful that they tried to fix the problem. Bed was absolutely huge and simply amazing - loved it!! And right opposite there is a very nice restaurant with great food - forget the name but you'll know it when you see it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeyafrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    260
    90
    36
    41
See reviews for
239
748
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I took my sister to Bali to mark a 'big' birthday. She had never been to Bali before and I was very anxious to really make the trip perfect on this special occasion. My usual favorite hotel, The Legian, was partially closed for remodeling, so we chose the nearby Anantara, based on their Ocean View Suites advertised online. We were pleased with the room, but have to say that the photos online do 'accentuate' the size of the balcony, in reality it isn't as large as it is shown. The room was nicely appointed with a very comfy bed and good quality linens. The welcome fruit was a little bit tired, but still a nice touch. The coffee maker was from some other planet, and took 15 minutes to make 2 cups of coffee. The safe malfunctioned while we trying to open it at one point, but the engineers came quickly to attend to it.
On pricing: I felt that the hotel car rental was a bit pricey: $45 an hour quoted price or $147 for 5 hours-half day when you can get an equally great local car and English speaking driver for about $10 an hour. (The hotel car was unavailable at one point, so they arranged a local transport--he was delightful, attentive, and professional--all for $10 an hour).

The infinity pool is a bit disappointing...It is quite narrow and much smaller than expected. Not much in the way of loungers available around the pool--the real estate is quite narrow. There is a grassy area between the beach and the pool on which they place the sun beds. Otherwise it is a rented sun bed on the beach, where you are subject to a few touters.


One important thing to note is: the rooms in the #400 range (which are curiously not on the 4th floor) are NOT quiet--the club on the top floor definitely rocks until the wee hours---now I understand why there were disposable ear plugs in the amenities kit. If you are seeking a quiet night's sleep, ask for a room as far away from the club as possible.

The one all important factor here though was undoubtedly the service. The staff is more than happy to see to your needs. There was an incident involving a beach chair vendor and my sister that convinced me the Anantara really does care about it's patrons. My sister was hugely and unfairly taken advantage of on the rental of a beach chair. Unfamiliar with conversion rates and not having any Indonesian Rupiah on her, she asked the vendor if he would accept Singapore dollars. (She's not familiar with SD conversion rates either, as she is an American who doesn't travel very often). The vendor basically took the US equivalent of $75 for a chair rental that I discovered was $10 US for a full day rental. My sister was too embarrassed to go back and not wanting to make a scene, she didn't pursue getting a refund for a full day. Finally upon our check out -- I informed the concierge about what had happened, mainly just for the benefit of this not happening to other patrons. She immediately got the security guard and along with my sister, went down to the beach, found the vendor and asked him directly to return her money. (Amazingly 24 hours later, he still had all the Singapore money on him). The situation was rectified, he received his accurate fee and we all went about our merry way. I was very impressed with the way the Anantara staff handled this issue and I thank them again for their professionalism.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the nightclub on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeemarieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a place where you will find the most immaculate service. The people know you by your name and provides personable service.

Two baths... can't had enough of those.

Swimming pool, 2 to choose from. Either beach side pool or private courtyard area.

Try the vegan menu.... surprisingly good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titanzdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

If you expect a five star hotel facilities, it is not your choice. But it is a decent and comfortable hotel. Most importantly, all of staff are perfect including security staff. Very good services and attitude.

Service is not the critical factor for revisiting a hotel but the sea view, distance from the beach, and enviornment will attract me to come back again for a relax holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

we just comeback from Bali . we've stay in one of the best Hotel in Bali . great service , friendly staffs , helfull . thanks or for the excellent things that we'v got there . we will comeback next year here for sure .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michel_ying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the anantara for 5 nights and purchased the rate at a discount with jet setter - ocean view suite.
Pros
- amazing amazing service
- breakfast was just fantastic: many made to order options PLUS a buffet
- good location to walk on the beach or to restaurants/ shops
- the room had all the amenities one could want plus more. Huge suite with marble and hardwood throughout. The bed was super comfy.
- we did both the cooking/market tour (thanks for a great time sweetie and Fegy), and the site seeing excursion with the hotel - both were a blast

Cons
- pricey, even with the discount
- the grounds are beautiful but small, with limited pool space.
- our biggest qualm was that the balcony door in our room was not airtight. Like other reviews mentioned, A LOT of noise flowed into the room, along with mosquettos. It was nice when you could hear the waves crashing, but not so nice to hear other guest convos at the restaurant below....especially late at night.
- the drain in our (amazing/huge) shower did not work properly, and would flood the bathroom if not turned off mid shower. When we complained, we were told it was fine..... Hmmm - not so much

Overall it was a great experience and stay - we would definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcardillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great service, great bed. We had ocean view suite very spacious. Not cheap but worth it. Food was excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly. Beach front. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort

Property: Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort
Address: Jl. Abimanyu (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara's all-suite Bali resort at Seminyak offers a distinctly contemporary design approach blended with Balinese and Indonesian culture, ocean views, expansive balconies and Anantara's inimitable Jacuzzi terrazzo bath tubs big enough for two. Our all-suite resort amenities range from the glorious rooftop lounge SOS Supper Club and rooftop Anantara Spa to one infinity edge swimming pool staring out upon the Indian Ocean. Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort matches its elegant approach to travel with one of the most upmarket locations in Indonesia, containing chic restaurants and cafes, trendy nightlife and internationally renowned shopping opportunities. With nearby historical charms and our Bali hotel's fastidious approach to both design and facilities, Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort provides an unforgettable accommodation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Seminyak Resort And Spa, Bali
Anantara Seminyak Resort & Spa, Bali Hotel Seminyak
Anantara Hotel Seminyak
Anantara Seminyak Hotel Bali
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing