We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Villas”
Review of Alam Warna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alam Warna
Ranked #86 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I have been to Bali a few times in the past year and these have to be the best villas i have stayed in. the location is perfect, a 5 minute walk from the beach and the great restaurants and bars of jalan Oberoi. we stayed in the 2 bedroom villa and it was beautiful, very spacious and with a huge swimming pool and jacuzzi. the staff are amazing, always happy to help without being intrusive. we are already planning our next visit !!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 235 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

This villa provided a wonderfully relaxing accommodations, with your own private pool,kitchen, and wall fountain with fish!Not to mention free rides into the town.the bathrooms and shower was excellent as well.for 250 dollars a night we feel we got a lot.

Stayed: February 2009
Thank bhakam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed with my family at Alam Warna in the Sapphire villa over new year for one week. We had a fantastic time... the villa was gorgeous, the staff were incredibly helpful - giving us lifts in to various parts of seminyak, booking restaurants and giving advice on trips etc.. It was really close to great restaurants like Ku De Ta, La Luciolla and the Living room and very close to the beach so pretty perfect really.
If you're travelling with young children you have to be carefull and keep an eye out so they dont' slip and fall on the tiled floor or in the pool.
The only down side was that our pool pump broke down half way through our stay and they didn't fix it. In fact they tried to hide it for a few days. When the pool started looking green, cloudy and filled with leaves they offered us the use of another pool in another villa, which was a very good way of rectifying the situation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoeySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We originally booked to stay at the Alam Warna villas based on the reviews from this site and the pictures from the alam-warna.com website itself. We were staying for 2 weeks to celebrate our wedding in Bali. We had a magnificent time and i would recommend anyone who is celebrating anything special to stay here.

After our flight was delayed for 10 hours we assumed we would have nobody waiting to take us to the villas, however as we walked out there was our name on a sign. The staff had continued calling to get updates after they found out we were delayed so they would be there to pick us up.

After a comfy 4wd ride to the villas we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. The villa is located near the currently being built Seminyak Square. It is about a 300m walk down to Laksamana (just near the Resor/Legian) where you can pick up a taxi within a few seconds. There is also a winding road leading to the Seminyak Square side just near the end of "eat street". This way takes a few more minutes to walk. If the guys cant drive you or drop you off a taxi can be called and only takes a minute.

The villas are amazing. Decking around a good sized pool. leading to the spa, day bed large living area, waterfall and kitchen. (only downfall is the spa on full power leaves water on the floor in the dining room- the staff put towels out for us)

The stairs leading up to the main bedroom are pretty "out there" and may be a problem for those with movement difficulties/balance issues.

The main room is a good size, the bathroom is fantastic with a large shower and the view good. The bed huge with the staff turning it down twice a day, including the mosquito net.

The main plus of these fantastic villas are the amazing group of staff that work there. We were there to celebrate our wedding and they did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and stress free. They regulalry dropped in complementary sandwiches and cakes, the day after our wedding the villa was decorated with flowers and a congratulations mud cake delivered. Breakfast was always set up on the table and a phone call made to wake us up. While they do have complimentary drop offs, we were also taken to Bintang supermarket etc and they would wait for us etc. They were friendly, interested, informative and always good for a laugh!

On one of our last days we used our complimentary trip to Ubud. As we have been there many times, Putu (the driver) took us further out to the elephant park with no problems at all. When we got there, their EFTPOS was down so Putu paid for us to go into the park (we paid him back on the way back after visiting a ATM). This was done with no questions or problems.

Our flight was leaving very early in the morning so the villas paid for our taxi to the airport.

I cannot speak highly enough of this fantastic villa- if you are looking for an escape from the world this is your place!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bec_Kiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We recently spent 4 nights at Alam Warna after a few days in Ubud. Since it's a unique property, I'll write a lengthy review, but should you want a quick summary, I think it's an excellent choice, and I think previous reviews were all accurate.

Service: I cannot say enough about the care we received while there. Every request was met with a smile and done promptly. Restaurant bookings, spa appointments, tours, etc were all taken care of. They even packed my souvenirs for me. They were happy to drop you off at local places, even if they were just around the corner. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly. With such a small property, they staff does multiple jobs, so don't be surprised if the person who brings breakfast or cleans your room also drives you around. They are a small, efficient group that do whatever it takes to make you happy. While there may be equally pretty villas in Seminyak, they don't have the same great people, especially lovely Siska!

Booking: we booked directly through the hotel and got a rate that was better than most of the comparable properties. I did have to send a copy of my CC and passport to secure the reservation as many other properties do. I had no problems with the process.

Location: Great spot, tucked in on a small alleyway just behind the Samaya beachfront villas. Around the corner from Bodyworks spa, La Lucciola restaurant and many others. The beach is a leisurely 5 minute walk away to public access. Away from the beach, the road is not paved and is a bit dark, but takes you directly to the popular area with some of the best restaurants (we loved Trattoria Italian). The beach nearby is very quiet and the powerful waves make it not so good for swimming.

Villas: The property has 4 huge 1-br villas, 1 3br, 1 2br, and 2 apartments. Two halls lead from reception to the front doors (garden gates) of the villas. The villas do look as nice as the website shows, although I wish they had a little more Balinese decor. The ruby, amethyst, and turquoise villas have afternoon sunlight while the others don't. (We were in ruby). The villas are not freestanding, but perhaps more of a townhouse plan, sharing walls between. We had noisy neighbors for part of our stay, and with the open plan it was a bit annoying, but so many hotel- villas are open-air that I don't think other properties would be better with similar neighbors. There was no street or construction noise. The AC in the bedroom was very cold, but not in the bathroom (which, while huge, had no tub, if that matters- the jacuzzi is there to soak if you want it). The pool is lovely and much larger than the average plunge pool. While the rooms are fairly private, the apartments are on the same level as the bedrooms and can see into your garden area if they walk over to the railing (although large potted plants discourage that ). If travelling with a family or group there are many options for adjoining villas, so it's a great place to book a few rooms, although there's space enough in one villa for at least 4 people!

Food: Breakfast was delicious, hot, ample, and served promptly in-villa. I loved the eggs florentine, while daily specials such as banana pancakes kept my husband pleased. I also enjoyed feeding my toast to the fish in our in-villa fish pond. After 4PM the small kitchen is closed, but they have an extensive menu of takeout from nearby restaurants which I think is great. They don't have a bar, but the minibar items in the fridge are reasonably priced and always available.

Apartments: I haven't seen any reviews on these but I looked at one and think it's a great value compared to a regular hotel room. The Jacuzzi is a tub, however, not outside.... these connect so can create a nice 2-br or could be booked with a pool villa for a group.

In-villa massages can be arranged and are reasonably priced at about $10-15/hour. (I meant to have one but I kept going around the corner to Bodyworks instead). Car with drivers can also be arranged at about $9/hour.

In conclusion, Seminyak offers many accomodation options but this one, while not without some flaws, is an all-around winner.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keewee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Stayed at Alam Warna for 7 nights in September 2008 with My husband and our 5 children aged 9 to 17. It was fantastic !
At Denpasar airport we were met by Staff and because we had so much luggage they had to hire a taxi to transport our bags, The friendly security man travelled in the taxi to ensure our bags were safe.
Upon arrival at the Villas we were introduced to our home for the next 7 days. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, kitchen with all utensils,gas cooktop and full sized fridge with freezer. (bottled water provided free, and mini bar at very reasonable prices) dining area, daybed, plasma TV in the lounge area, comfy sun loungers and umbrella by the pool.
The 18m pool was crystal clear and the jacuzzi was great for relaxing after a hard day out.
The Villa staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Housekeeping came in the morning to clean the whole villa including the pool and again at night to change towels, spray for mozzies and do a general tidy up.
Staff were always happy to drop us to anywhere we wanted to go in the Kuta/Legian/Seminyak area and taxi back from Kuta (about 20mins) cost 30 000IR or about $3.50Aud.
We were given a complimentary trip to Ubud to visit the monkey forest and our driver stopped at many places along the way to give us a quick course in Bali culture. We saw a traditional Balinese dance, batik making, silver and woodcarving as well as an art gallery were we watched some of the artists work. This became an 8 hour day and the driver spoke great English and was very happy to comply with all our requests and we didn't feel rushed in any way.
Breakfast was served in the villa each morning between 8am and 11am, with a choice of bacon/sausages and eggs, croissants/toast, museli with yoghurt, fruit platter,pancakes or nasi goreng all served with freshly squeezed juice. Lunch and dinner could be ordered in with a choice of 3 different menus and the cost was charged at checkout and was also reasonably priced,1 evening we ordered 12 different dishes ranging from curry to pasta, the food was excellent, all 7 of us very full,we still had leftovers and the cost was 340,000IR or about $45Aud. Many excellent restaurants, within walking distance in the Seminyak area area or take the free drop off into Kuta/Legian. The road is no longer a dirt track as reported in previous reviews, and even though they are still building further up the road no noise could be heard from our villa.
We were given a complimentary massage in our villa, just 1 hour notice required and other services like body scrub are also available.
Kuta/Legian is very hustle and bustle with people hassling you every 10 steps so it was really nice to come home to such a relaxing peaceful place as Alam Warna.
If we travel again to Bali I will definately be staying at Alam Wrna.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shazpinkpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We booked the 2 bedroom villa for the end of july. We got discount by booking a local travelagent .The hole staff was excellent so they got a big tip.The best restaurants and clubs are nearby.The price for washing is to high ,but a local laundry was on the corner.Breakfast and lunch are very good.Massage in the villa was possible for a less price.Very good swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hollandfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.0 mi away
Kutaville
Kutaville
#51 of 424 in Seminyak
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#28 of 424 in Seminyak
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Villas & Spa
RC Villas & Spa
#42 of 424 in Seminyak
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amasya Villas
Amasya Villas
#145 of 424 in Seminyak
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakshmi Villas
Lakshmi Villas
#55 of 424 in Seminyak
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bracha Villas Bali
Bracha Villas Bali
#46 of 424 in Seminyak
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Warna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Warna

Address: Jln. Laksmana Gang Pandu nr.20, Seminyak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $71 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Warna 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Warna, a stunning boutique villa development located in the heart of Seminyak, is of contemporary Balinese architectural design and comprises six large villas, each with their own private 10 x 4 m swimming pool, jacuzzi and garden. The interior of each villa is colour coordinated with a precious stone and its open living space, featuring a huge indoor waterfall, is designed to let the guests take full advantage of the Balinese tropical climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam Warna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Warna Hotel Seminyak
Alam Warna Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing