We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing tropical private oasis, and fabulous...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
Ahhhhh, perfect
Partly shaded pool - perfect for the kiddos.
Who wants dinner and drinks by the pool? Yes please.
Spend quality time in.
What will your private chef serve you today?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Renee F
1 review
“A relaxing tropical private oasis, and fabulous food by chef Rusmini and great service from driver Putu!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Would definitely recommend Umalas... Great Villa, Great Chef, Great Driver, Great Allround Service = Great Time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thanks Renee. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony and Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin H
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 28, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our first trip to Bali and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. A family of four with two young children, this was paradise. Kay was fantastic to deal with and made everything easy. The staff at the villa feel like family. Rusmini is such an incredible cook, every meal was an explosion of flavour (highly recommend the crispy duck) my only complaint would be that I've gained at least 5kgs because the food was so delicious!! Rusmini was extremely accommodating and understanding with our busy toddlers and made the experience truly relaxing. The security staff are great value, make sure you get to know them too. Putu was great, always checking in on us and Wayan, another driver, was very accommodating. The staff really look out for you and make it an amazing experience. The detail in the villa itself was great, there was a high chair, portacot, plastic plates and bowls, bottle brush and toys for the kids. Kay organised a pool fence which was great. There is plenty in the area that is easy to walk to and the drive to Seminyak is very quick. Every detail is thought of and you could easily spend weeks behind the walls of the villa relaxing. It was my husbands birthday on the trip and Kay and the staff went out of there way to make it special. We hope to be back many times as this was truly paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2016
Hi Caitlyn,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
We're so glad that we got to share you first trip to Bali with you, and that you've fallen for her charms and will be back.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay; I know that Rusmini loved having your little kiddo's around.
Keep safe and come and visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurenb72...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Experience! Not to be missed!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Right from the start, Kay was a pleasure to deal with, and nothing was too difficult! I had issues with Trip Advisor, however Kay made everything so easy, sending me all the information so that I had access to confirmations and all other necessary information!
On arrival to the airport, Putu, the manager, was waiting for us and was very informative, showing us the local amenities on the way to the accommodation. When arriving at the villa, the staff greeted us with warm smiles and a welcome drink and cool towel. The villa was immaculately clean, and exactly like the pictures. Rusmini, the house keeper/chef was awesome, catering for any and every need, breakfast lunch or dinner, snacks, mozzie coils, turn down service, and general upkeep. The security there 24 hours a day made it feel very safe, and they were great to talk to or ask questions to about local services/taxis/anything we needed. Taxis were about AUD$3-5 to Seminyak center depending where you want to go, and came within 5-10 minutes every time, the location being the perfect balance of quiet and convenient. Local cafes were everywhere, and local people were very friendly and warm.
Kay came to visit us on our first day at the villa, as she was in the country during this time, and was full of amazing information about where to go, what to see, how, when, and with who. Kay came again on the last day to chat about how our stay was. She was so lovely, and again so easy to deal with!
The villa itself had most things you need in a kitchen, and they have thought of everything there! Mozzie Coils, technology, the welcome basket was a beautiful touch, and even cotton buds in the bathrooms! It was truly a pleasure to stay in Umalas Villa, and I will definitely stay there again!! Highly recommended and an experience not to be missed!!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Hi Lauren,
Thanks for your kind words.
We're glad you had such a good time.
See you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmang
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Private Villa”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Myself and 5 other members of my family stayed at Umalas Retreat II for one week during February. We found the Villa to be perfect for our needs.
The villa is very clean and is decorated beautifully; the furniture is comfortable, functional and stylish. The Wi-Fi was good enough for us all to be using our iPad’s etc. without issue.
The bedrooms are private, and the beds/linen are top quality. We did not want to leave our canopy bed! Each bedroom has its own ensuite, a fan and great air con.
The pool and garden area is just gorgeous. It was heaven coming home after a day of sightseeing or shopping to be able to get in the pool and cool off.
One of the highlights was our personal house keeper/chef – Rusmini. She is the loveliest lady you will ever meet and she cooked the best meals we had in Bali. Our security guards and our drivers, including Putu (the Villa manager) were also just as friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. They are a delight and a credit to their employer. Kay (the owner) was also wonderful to deal with. She was quick to respond to any questions we had, and was very friendly.
In terms of location, we caught taxi’s to Seminyak and Kuta, and it didn’t cost us more than $3 - $10 Australian dollars. We liked that the Villa was away from the busy areas.
If you are going to Bali with a group of friends or family, and would like private accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, then look no further than Umalas Retreat. You will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and beautiful garden
Liked least: Leaving! :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2016
Hi G,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'll be sure to share it with Rusmini, Putu, Morris, Nyoman & Made.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelrev...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect and highly recommend”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of friends and I booked to stay at Umalas Retreat II for a long weekend for my 40th birthday.
As it was my birthday, the girls contacted Kay the owner to arrange a birthday cake for when we arrived (Kay very kindly arranged this)
The villa is an amazing and beautiful place. It had everything we needed (and more) and was beautiful decorated to a high standard, clean and well maintained. All the rooms were very spacious and the pool and outdoor seating area was perfect for relaxing.
The villa comes with a chef/house keeper. The lady was called Rusmeni (not sure how you spell it) and she was the sweetest and most friendliest lady. On our first night arriving, we asked Rusmeni to cook for us at the villa for dinner. We choose what we wanted from an extensive menu, Rusmeni bought the ingredients required (which we paid for and was not expensive) and then she made the most delicious and tasty meal (restaurant standard) The previous day you decide what you would like for breakfast and Rusmeni will collect the ingredients and prepare. The standard of cooking was amazing, we all wanted to bring Rusmeni home with us
Outside the villa, they had a little hut were security stayed 24hrs. The security staff were very pleasent and helpful. On many occasions when we tried to book a taxi, but sometimes couldn't understand, the guard would very kindly phone for us and book our taxi. Every time the taxi's arrived, the security would kindly knock the villa door to let us know it had arrived. On one occasion it was raining very heavy and the security guard got an umbrella and walked each one of us to the taxi to keep us dry.
Although the villa was maybe 10-15 mins out of Seminyak, it was quiet and easy to get a taxi as the villa comes with a mobile containing numbers of taxi's and staff if you need them.
Overall this was a fantastic villa with fantastic staff. We all agreed that we would love to go back again and stay and that we would highly recommend.
My only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Gail,
What a lovely review. I know that Rusmini had a great time looking after you all.
Thanks for giving our security a mention as well. They do a great job, and will get a thrill out of the public acknowledgement.
Come back and visit us anytime.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart F
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquility”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Umalas Retreat. Rusmini, the chef come maid was sensational and her cooking was delicious and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, all very helpful and polite. We will definitely like to return in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Stuart,
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed Rusmini's hospitality. We think she's pretty special as well.
You're welcome back anytime.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlou111
1 review
“Sanctuary away from the hussle and bussle”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Umalas Retreat. It's about 10 min bike ride from seminyak in a nice quite area, we loved escaping from the hussle and bussle of seminyak. Absolutely amazing friendly service. The rooms are lovely and spacious, good sized pool and great relaxing areas. We felt safe and had no problems at all. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Ashlou,
Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. We too love the location of the villa, tucked away from the husle and bustle, but close enough to get to the action quickly.
Come back and visit us again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing