We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool The Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
The Pool
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Balcony
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Hallways
Stairs
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Terrace
The Pool
Terrace
The Pool
Bathroom Bedroom 2
The Pool
Garden
Garden
Living Room
Garden
The Pool
Garden
Living Room
Street
The Pool
Entrance
Living Room
The Pool
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Liza G
1 review
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location is great, it's well looked after and our host was friendly and easy to deal with. I would stay here again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntimm
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first time to Bali, and our first time booking through trip advisor. The whole experience was seamless. Renny, arranged for a driver to be waiting for us at the airport, there were about 100 people holding signs but we found Norman our driver with no problems. What a relief. Norman was such a nice man, he drove us through the chaos that is Bali traffic, to our oasis off of Sunset Boulevard that is Villa 42. There were met by our hostess Renny explain the ins and outs of a great villa, then asked what we were doing for dinner, recommended a great place nearby. What a good start. The villa was far nicer than the Villas that the other families that we went with, for the same price. The pictures on TripAdvisor are accurate, one of the nicest things as the house is just far enough away from traffic that you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. The Wi-Fi works great in any room, there are 4 showers, a terrace and balcony upstairs, a Bluetooth sound bar speaker that works great, DVD players and TVs in both bedrooms and the lounge room if needed. Don't worry about the building next door, I never heard a thing.
It takes about five minutes to walk to the main drag of Seminyak. That's a good thing, most of my friends are staying further in Seminyak and for example I took up 6 items of clothing to our local laundry at the end of the street, they came back washed, pressed, folded and in a plastic bag ready to be packed for the trip home, all for the price of A$ 3.00. We took another bag there the day before we left. The laundry service for my friends in Seminyak was three dollars a shirt.

One thing that I figured out is that when Renny said she could get us a driver for Australian equivalent of $50 a day, it wasn't just a driver. What you getting for the day is a guide who knows where to go, how to get there, the best restaurants, who to talk to, how to see everything, how to make sure you don't get ripped off, and gives you great insight into Bali culture etc. Forget booking a tour, the driver is your tour guide. We had a great time with our guide over two days named Gusti. He was worth every rupiah, friendly, honest, intelligent, insightful and genuinely entertaining. At the end of our trip he dropped us at the airport, to be honest I was sad to see him go. Overall I can't rate him highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for your stay and review Villa 42, take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babiijenz
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL HOLIDAY VILLA!”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is my first time in Bali and my friends and I booked villa 42 to stay for a week. This is an extremely beautiful, modern yet vacational type of villa! It feels like I'm at a beach resort but at the backyard. Love the open space of the down stairs area!!! The two bedroom suite, definitely sooooooo beautiful, modern and has airconditioning plus bathroom as well. I love that the villa is clean and well presented. We wouldn't have it any other way. The area is convenient too, located in the centre of seminyak it was a 1 minute walk to the convenience store, Burger King, Pizza Hut etc. The host, she was very responsive and helpful to all our enquires. Lovely cleaning lady that comes by every day to clean our dishes and make our beds. So accommodating in every way! Definitely will be re-booking this villa! I love it so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2017
Thank you for your stay at Villa 42 and your beautiful review.
You are welcome anytime come and stay at Villa 42. Take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raman M
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Seminyak Haven”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was my family's first trip to Bali....and I'd heard the good , the bad and the ugly about staying at villas. After doing a lot of research, we settled on Villa 42. And I'm so glad we did.

The pictures almost do justice to the place...but not quite. It's better!

A word about the team that runs the villa....they are very helpful without being pushy.

Renny was quick to respond whenever we needed information before we got there. She arranged for the pick-up and drop, introduced us the dive team that helped us get our PADI Open Water Certification and ensured that her team was on top of everything.

Landing in a new country without knowing the culture, the customs and the lay of the land can take a day to overcome. On a week long holiday, losing a day just familiarizing yourself....is a day too long. Having Tutsi there for the pick-up and drop to the airport was a huge relief. His little nuggets about the good local Warungs (local restaurants) were a huge help...as were his pointers on the meaningful activities.

A 30 minute ride from the Airport got us "home" to Villa 42 in Seminyak....and Komang - the dynamo who runs the place - was there to give us a tour of the villa and explain the house rules, give us the WIFI password and the timings for the cleaning crew. Thanks Komang the breakfast essentials you left as a gift ensured we didn't have to go shopping before the dive team showed up.. The fact that we had her mobile number to call if we needed anything was like an additional insurance policy.

The Villa is set up on a 20 yard walking path off Gang (thats the local term for a lane) Priuk about a 100 yards down Jalan (local term for a street) Bidadari when coming in off Seminyak Street. So you are about 250 yards away from all the action and half a mile from Jalan Oberoi...the home of some Bali's great fine-dine's.

The Villa is better than it looks in the pictures. The spacious and lush green manicured garden in the front yard is the first thing you see as you enter followed by the beautiful/ clean pool. The garden lights make it look even better in the evening. The open plan seating/ dining/ den/ kitchen is large enough to accommodate a group of 10 comfortably - just in case you want to have a few friends over for the evening....and the Kitchen is fully stocked...cooking utensils, cookware/ bakeware, 4 burners, oven, microwave, a two door fridge, a water purifier and dispenser, extra 20 liter bottles of water, coffee, tea, cooking oils, kettle...right down to the aprons and hand towels. The nook under the steps going to the bedroom upstairs also has a front loading washing machine and an iron...so basic laundry needs can be addressed at home.

The essence sticks and the mosquito vapor machines were a huge help in keeping the area clear. That said, you are in the tropics and surrounded by greenery....so expect some mosquitoes and use the mosquito repellant creams and sprays Komang leaves near the large screen TV liberally.

The bedrooms are air-conditioned, very tastefully decorated and lit and the beds/ pillows/ comforters were very comfortable. Each bedroom also had a DVD player and a TV. The upstairs landing also had a cupboard full of books - for the readers int the family

For the scuba divers/ enthusiasts out there....Renny had recommended Imel and her team of divers and dive instructors. Patient, professional, safe and very knowledgeable about the local dive sites (shipwrecks, submerged temples etc). A great group of guys for folks pursuing their basic, advanced certifications.

Get your site up Imel.....the world out there needs to know about the great job you and your team do.

On the food....The restaurants around the villa gave us some great choices......from Sun Shoots and Panda Cafe...who deliver at home to Wahaha (lip smacking pork ribs and spicy ribs), Bo and Bun, Made's Warunga (and many others) and then Mamasan on the final day....I don't think we had a bad meal. Clean, tasty, amazingy cooked, lip smacking varieties of foods - both veg and non veg......all within a 10 minute walk.

And for those who like to cook at home....there's a 24 hours open mart around the corner and a large grocery store within a 5 minute walk.

While anyone can go to Ubud (Rice Terraces) and the various breathtakingly gorgeous temples, those who want to mix in a little exercise along with the leasure....I'd recommend doing the night climb upto the top of Mount Batur..... (active volcano). The "long trip" has you climbing 5000 ft over the rocks and lava gravel to get there (takes about 4 hours both ways, plus add about an hour and a half on top going to each of the craters/ sites of eruption) just in time for the first rays of sunlight coming over the horizon. Amazing!! The Sunrise tours folks do a great job. If you have a choice of guides....pick Nyoman (driver for pick up and drop) and Adi (Guide). Great guy, very knowledgeable about the volcano and it's history....and most importantly...very safe.

Overall....a great week at an amazing villa, lots of fun activities, yummy food and great people. We left Bali thinking, we could've stayed a few more days.

Definitely heading back there....and the Villa 42 team are a big part of it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Thank you for your stay at Villa 42 and your review.
Thank you so much...
You are welcome anytime to stay at Villa 42.
Take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLHOW
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely relaxing”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely Villa with a beautiful garden. Excellent pool. Great location just far enough away from the traffic choked streets of the main area of Seminyak. Close enough to walk to great restaurants and shopping. What more could you want. The only negative is the stairway really does need a handrail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: The stairway really does need a handrail
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
Thank you for your stay at Villa 42 and your review. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reneeba
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great time at Renny's place. The villa is well located, near all the animation, and has everything you need. Renny made our stay very easy by arranging our pick up at the airport and the renting of our motorbikes. The staff of the villa is also very nice. I would recommend anyone to stay at the villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Hi Renee, Thank you so much for your review and your stay at Villa 42. Take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“"Hidden gem"”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this beautiful villa for a week. We flew in from Cambodia via Malaysia and after what was a very long day, we were met by renny and her partner . Both of whom are lovely and so down to earth. Part dazed from lack of sleep and the amazing villa , they made us feel welcome straight away. The villa is equipped with everything you need, and the washing machine was an extra bonus, we returned to England with a case full of clean clothes. The open air living is totally different to anything I'd experienced before. One it's too cold in England for it and secondly not safe enough. Initially I felt worried going to bed, only having a flimsy lock on the bedroom door, and the massive TV as an enticement to any would be thieves. But as renny said, this is Bali , it's extremely safe . And it is. The villa is down a dirt track off main road, and as a single woman travelling with two children I was worried about walking down it at night. But my fears were unfounded. People in Bali are the nicest of any country I've been to and you never fear for your safety. The decor , the facilities , the location and of course the pool, make this villa fantastic value for money. We loved it. The villa is quiet , but if needs be, you have some shops, a fab bakery, Pizza Hut and my little boys favourite ice cream parlour all within a 5/10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing