We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Ranked #80 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
“You have to stay here!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I recently stayed at The Sanyas Suite with my husband for our honeymoon and we had an amazing time. Initially we were only staying for two nights (a treat at the beginning of a three week trip) but we ended up staying for eleven glorious nights! We actually checked out after our two nights and checked into the hotel we were going to stay at for our next nine nights and as soon as I saw the room I started to cry (seriously! I won't name the other hotel here but will review it). My husband went back to Sanyas and pleaded, it was high season and they not only squeezed us in but upgraded us again (they had done this for our first two nights). The service is fantastic, all of the staff are so friendly and the general manager 'Gede' made a special effort to introduce himself to us. The rooms look exactly like they do on the website and the outdoor plunge pools are really big. I think the rooms are excellent value for money, we booked the first two nights over wotif and the next nine direct with the hotel. My only comment would be that you can't walk to the main strip of restaurants (it is close to some bars and restaurants). This really isn't a big deal though as it costs $1.50 Aus to cab it or just hire a scooter, heaps of fun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymacbeth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    75
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
215
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuta, Bali
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and it was lovely ☺ The location and room was beautiful. It was spacious, secluded and very relaxing. The hotel staff were very kind, and attended to our every need. The breakfast was very nice, and the fresh fruit platter was the highlight. We can also recommend this hotel for Muslim couples/families. Having our breakfast made halal was easy, very private surroundings and easy access to prayer facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

All class, for the price this place offers so much! Villa life in seminjak for under $200 a night!!!!!!! Spacious, 20 litres of water At your dispense,big fridge and it is so so peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinotremeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sanyas for 9 days in May 2010. Our pickup was great at the airport with a lovely driver who took care of a few things for us- stopped in at a supermarket, got us to a money changer with a great rate and lined up a motorbike to use for our stay, all minus the extortionate hotel prices and 500% mark-up.

The Villas are beautiful- great energy and mostly open air.

Breakfast was included as part of the deal, and our first breakfast was great- served in your villa or at the restaurant as others have noted. The Juice was cool and the breakfast hot. Unfortunately though the breakfasts were hit and miss- some days the juice was warm to the point of silliness- and often the bacon, eggs and rice were cold beyond what is edible. I would say six out of the 9 breakfasts were inedible, and we are not foodies by any means.

We look back on our stay positively, however I have to be honest here and state that we left one day early after too many requests for decent food went ignored- and the two days of cold showers which went unfixed, and we had to leave a note every day for the cleaners to leave the Aircon on during the day as we would often return to a hot room after being in 35 degrees plus all day. The 8th day breakfast made my wife ill for 4 or 5 days- not the way we liked to spend our final days in Bali. The rice with chicken had clearly been left overnight, the toast was stale and the juice was bordering on hot.

I spoke to the front of house girl who was onto it straight away, and the manager even phoned on his day off to offer us an upgrade and free nights- he assured me that BUFFET breakfasts were starting the next day as there had been an obvious kitchen problem that week (I got the impression a chef might have left and so the cleaning staff were making meals the night before and warming them up in the morning in our microwave. Imagine how good a side salad tastes after a miinute on the same plate in the micro with some day old chicken rice !!!! Or Watermelon juice that was clearly left at room temp overnight. Gross. The final day the bread was not toasted- but was still like cardboard as the heat had made it nice and papery.

We got a refund on our final day without issue, and felt that the staff and manager were genuine in their apologies, but after so many bad meals we didnt want to risk any further issues so we checked into a Kuta hotel for our last night which was the best thing we could have done.

The only other complaint I can make is that prices quoted from the hotel for extras, as you would expect are astronomical; I was quoted a price to clean ONE SHIRT that was beyond crazy-

......but a tip for all you travellers planning on staying at Sanyas- walk down the road towards Seminyak about 500 metres and just around the bend on the opposite side is a local laundry service who washed 15 shirts, 4 shorts, a bunch of underwear/socks and two towels for the same price the hotel quoted for one shirt ! around 60 000 rp- only around 7 or 8 bucks AUD.

We did feel at times that the hotel was taking the p--s with prices... a driver quoted at 700 000 rp for a day was sorted out ourselves for half the price- but when the staff realised we had booked our own driver they offered us mates rates for different drivers than the hotel uses (without hotel knowledge of course- but why didnt they offer BEFORE quoting the hotel extortionate prices ) and there is a small convenience store named NIRWANA about 50 metres from the villas that will sort you out for beer, drinks, snacks and anything you need for local prices- look for it on the right as you come in. You will save thousands on the mini bar costs !!

The saving grace of the hotel is definitely the genuine caring nature of the staff and managers; the security and the beautiful villa itself. Take a tip from us though and track down a little magazine called "Hallo Restaurant Guide". This book is for a service which delivers great food from hundreds of restaurants (well, around 30 or 40 anyway) at decent prices to your villa for only 12000 delivery fee- less than 2 bucks Aussie. We needed to find it ourselves as the villas have made a decent effort to not supply any outside info, including phone books, tour flyers or other external advertising so that it would appear on the surface that the only way to eat, travel, see the sights and tour is through the hotel. But of course we all know better than that, dont we?

Avoid the food, the hotel prices, the restaurant and make sure you leave a letter for the cleaner if you like returning to a cool room. Sanyas staff will try all the tricks to save money on utilities- so dont be surprised if you are reading at 11 pm in your living area and the lights go out- or if your outside ceiling fan doesnt work until nighttime- or if your pool water feature switches off at night only to be turned back on (supposedly) by the time you wake up in the morning. Of course the annoyances are minor, but they all add up to what felt like a good 3 star instead of a luxury 5 star.

We recommend eating at Sate Bali in Seminyak, and Poppies in Kuta, Cosa Nostra Italian in Kuta for woodfired pizza. Also, Jef Burgers is great for midnight junkfood. And all of these are also available for delivery through Hallo Restaurants delivery service. By far though the best food we had was at Sate Bali and Ibu Oka in Ubud- although Poppies do a great Suckling Pig as well which was not overly inferior to the Ibu Oka feed.

All in all, a great time was had in Bali- but to be fair I am not sure if we would stay at Sanyas again- as good as the staff and management are- there are far too many minor issues to risk repeating next time around. It is beautiful and quiet at Sanyas, but there are hundreds of villas in Seminyak to choose from, and other guests at Sanyas were having similar issues with food and aircon and money-saving practices.

I am assured that the buffet brekkie will improve things immediately, and I hope it does- but to be fair my wife was quite ill for several days and this limited our enjoyment of our final days in Bali. Even a refund of a day didn't cover the round of antibiotics and the lost funtime- a refund which, funnily enough, did not refund the 15% tax on that day- it's kind of like being taxed for something you didnt buy. And those breakfasts which were terrible were "inclusions" so that 2-300 extra was well wasted. But hey; we had a great time and made the most of it while we were there. If your cup's not always at LEAST half full then travelling isn't something for you- especially in Bali.

But the service is great. They don't call it the island of the Gods for nothing.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Briz-Muso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We chose the Junior Suite Villa for our recent four night stay to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary - a great choice. The villas are very thoughtfully laid out and truly reflect the joys of being in a tropical climate. The outdoor living area allows you to luxuriate in the warmth and enjoy the tropical rain showers whilst the airconditioned bedroom with nook provides respite when returning from shopping etc. and needing some cool. The pool is a very reasonable size and we only used the outdoor shower - once again a tropical treat. The provision of hot and cold drinking water is something that all similar establishments should provide. Sanyas provided the perfect spot to start our holiday and even though we were heading on to our favourite Ubud hotel, we were very sad to leave as the atmosphere of the villa was thoroughly relaxing and romantic. We will be back! Some notes on what to do:

Make sure whilst you are here you check out Warung Eny's. Down the main road to the right. This was by the far the best food we had whilst in Bali and Eny and her family make sure you feel right at home. Don't miss the Giant Prawns cooked on the bbq grill out the front. We ate here each evening and the prices were fantastic. Every other meal was a disappointment after Enys food!

Also, the Blue Moon spa offered very good massages and once again at reasonable prices.

If you are looking for a daytrip (Ubud etc) we use the same driver each time we come to Bali. He is happy to put together a program which suits you, good English and great local knowledge. Contact: Nyoman Sukerta: nyomansukerta@yahoo.co.id Mobile: 0361976429.

If you are catching taxis back to Sanyas make sure you have their map and check that the taxi is a metered one before you get in - you will save a small fortune.....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Like every other review has mentioned- lovely, picturesque villa, maintained to the highest standard. Service was excellent and breakfast was such a treat (American breakfast- included in the cost of accommodation in a deluxe suite through wotif) to be served in your own room at whatever time you request with them placing out the whole spread of fresh fruit, croissants & buns, toast, freshly squeezed juice, cereals and however you would like your eggs cooked!
There was a miscommunication about pick up times from the airport when we arrived, which they quickly made us forget when they upgraded our room to a junior deluxe villa!
You have everything you want here, hot and cold water dispensor so you don't have to buy hundreds of bottles of bottled water. You own dvd player to relax in your room and a really good stereo in the living area - all open air so you can turn up the music and swim in your own private pool. Very romantic setting.
2 showers are handy, with one inside, and another an 'outside shower' great for just rinsing off after a swim. This room came with a spa as well- lovely. Mozzies are rife, but the staff come into your room every night around dusk to spray the bedroom and light mosquitto repellent coils in your living area.
It's location is quiet and Seminyak as an area is far better than Kuta or Legian, less people hassling you and nicer shops. Some lovely restaurants there too- recommend "Rumours" great food and service.
This villa made our 7 day holiday as we weren't that impressed with Bali as a holiday destination, but cannot recommend this villa enough to everyone we know! Friends recommended it to us and we will continue to do so to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We only stayed for 4 days but it was very relaxing. The villas are down a quiet lane away from traffic and you can hear the surf in the distance. Very private with a pool in each villa, good size and the choice of breakfast in your villa or in the restaurant. Everything is open air with the exception of the bedroom which can be closed in and airconditioned. Not the best quality in-house spa, possibly the worst massage I have ever had, but in Bali there are plenty of other massage options. Overall great value for money if not booked direct with hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.6 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#105 of 145 in Seminyak
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 145 in Seminyak
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#32 of 145 in Seminyak
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#49 of 145 in Seminyak
943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heliconia Villas
Heliconia Villas
#93 of 145 in Seminyak
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ahimsa
The Ahimsa
#95 of 145 in Seminyak
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanyas Suite Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanyas Suite Seminyak

Property: The Sanyas Suite Seminyak
Address: Jl. Cendrawasih No. 9 | Peti Tenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#64 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sanyas Suite Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanyas Suite is designed with a sanyasin's philosophy: it is a place appropriate for reaching happiness. In fact, it is designed for relaxation and rest from your daily routines activity with a beautiful architecture and comfortable furnishing. The Luxury a private villa and spa is a small resort, the fantastic place for Honeymoon. Unique entrance gate is inspired by typical of traditional Balinese courtyard houses. The open air living area pavilion includes an informal dining lounge and kitchenette. Each villa has own pool and decorated with Balinese antique pieces of art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sanyas Suite Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanyas Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Hotel Seminyak
Sanyas Suite Seminyak
The Sanyas Suite Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing