We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Its great hotel whats more do you expect from a hotel? This absolutely great location with private pool and excellent service hotel, you cannot expect more! Very great hotel in paradise island! Try it before you know it its unarguably one of the best hotel you should try before you die, its truly worth it! I stayed there for 2 days and i wish i could stay there for a month if time allowed! On top of all, the hotel is located in strategic location wheres all the buzz happening! Lots of restaurants nearby, mini mart, thousands surrounding shops and so on and so forth, once you stay there you dont wanna leave for home

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mykarimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    109
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
281
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After travelling to Bali numerous times I opted for a more relaxing vibe as it was my boyfriends first time. Sun Island was recommended to us by a travel agent and after reading many reviews - all were brilliant - we decided to stay. We had 7nights here and from the moment you get out of the car you are treated like the most important people in the world. All the staff are extremely friendly from the manages to the maintenance man. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa and were amazed with the size of the room. The pool was small but perfect for dipping in after a hard days shopping and sunning on the beach. The beach was beautiful and easy accessible from the hotel. Security are always on hand to help or direct you in anyway once you get to the front gate. The resort is on a busy road but once you pass the reception you wouldn't even know, so quiet and peaceful considering the busy road that's there. Breakfast everyday was great and we loved how the staff remembered how we liked our eggs cooked. We utilised the 20% off spa treatments and got the The Rose treatment, which was a massage, yoghurt wrap and a milk bath. We had never felt so relaxed, it was brilliant. Unfortunately we didn't get another chance to go back but we highly recommend any of their services. Happy hour by the pool is a delight. The room was excellent, separate toilet and shower and then a big bath. Every evening the turn down services was like coming home to a surprised as often the towels were shaped like animals or flowers - small touches that made it all so special.
Anything we asked for, be it an iron or a take away delivery was never a problem and service was always prompt. Perfect location for the beach and restaurants and the road made it easy to get a taxi.
Will definitely be back. No place like it in Bali! Can't imagine anyone not liking it.

Room Tip: We had 12A tucked away nicely in the corner - doubt you could find a bad villa in the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bronwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I Stayed at the Villa for a week. We had such a great time. Quiet, great space, top location in Seminyak and the service is everything you want when you are on holidays.
Seminyak is definitely the IN when you talk about Bali. Restaurants and the best shops are a walking distance from the resort. They also offer a transfer service to pick you up at the airport.
Breakfast by the pool was an event itself. I strongly recommend staying at the Sun Island Resort in Seminyak.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I might like to start off by saying this was my first Bali trip and my first overseas trip in 10 years and so my expectations in terms of hospitality and accommodation quality might not be very high, but WOW was Sun Island an amazing place to stay.

We booked through Expedia.com after looking at reviews on tripadvisor.com.au. We stayed in the executive pool villa, costing us ~$180AUD per night and $100USD for an additional half-day ('til 7pm as our flight back was later at night). It's on a pretty busy road but the security took their jobs seriously yet were very nice to the patrons of the villa. It's only a few metres from a BMC money exchanger, across the road from a big souvenir shop, and 10 minutes walk from the beach.

The villa was very spacious. There was a small patio/courtyard upon entering with a small pool (not big enough to swim in) and two sunbeds, and then you have the actual living quarters. Inside, there was plenty of room to move around in. The lounge/kitchen/dining area felt a little too roomy, with a large empty space in the middle, but the bedroom and bathroom area was perfect, with the bed on a raised, tiled platform, separate toilet and vanities and not one but two showers. My other half loved the external shower but I kept to the inside as the external one did not utilise hot water. The photos on their websites are really good representations of what you will expect.

We were offered a 20% couples voucher for the spa and massive service they have available but we completely forgot to check it out.

The aircon was efficient and quick to cool the villa. However, the power to the villa was operated by the key, so everytime we went out, the power was cut. Not a bad thing if considering the environment, but after a long day of sight-seeing and walking out and about, it did feel a little uncomfortable entering a very warm villa. We had to keep the doors shut as well to keep the mosquitoes out, but where credit is due, there was always a team of "mosquito hunters" in the afternoon that would knock politely and ask to treat the room for insects, and they were very quiet and methods were non-intrusive. This goes for the team that did room servicing; a few times we were still in the villa and they went about their work swiftly and with very little intrusion. Our villa was up against the edge of their property so unfortunately we could hear a rooster call from next door during the day, but besides that, there were no other intrusions. Visually, it was like the villas were constructed in the middle of a rainforest away from the city.

The restaurant and bar was quite small; there was outdoor dining available and a few times we saw the tables all set up, but during the times we dined, the weather wasn't great so we couldn't take full advantage of this. The food was great; the complimentary breakfast was open to the entire breakfast menu and the special Thursday dinner with the traditional live Bali music and dance was exquisite; we were able to experience traditional Bali cuisine and art in the comfort of the premises away from the hustle and bustle of the streets.

They also provide a private dining service in your villa, which I had organised with their help. It was a surprise for my girlfriend and they were able to cater to my every need, and were spot on with my schedule. Presentation was first class, food was impeccable, service was flawless.

The best part about Sun Island was the service, no doubt. From the very beginning, they were extremely helpful by telling us which money exchanger was the most trustworthy as well as recommendation of places to go around Seminyak. Our treatment was top notch and we really did feel like royalty there. All staff was as equally helpful, polite and friendly as the next which was a first for me. Unfortunately I didn't find out all the names but a special mention goes to Adi, Miko, Tutnik and Wahil (excuse the spellings) for going out of their way to help us ensure our stay was of the utmost quality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The random chance of an unhelpful taxi driver left us on the door step of this upscale establishment and so we ventured in for dinner on a whim. There is an option for poolside dining, however we chose to eat in the restaurant.

When we arrived there was no one there but us. We ordered cocktails, an appetizer and mains. My Balimoon Cosmic Colada was extremely strong. I've had the same thing at several other places and this was the first time it tasted so pungent. I did not have another. The meals were small for the high price tag and only very passable. Considering we were the only customers they took quite some time to arrive. When we asked for the bill the waitress talked to us for ten minutes about a dance show they were holding, urging us to make reservations. Then she went and chatted to the kitchen staff and returned again to ask us if we wanted more drinks. We asked for the bill again and she still did not get it. It took about another half an hour for her to finally wander over to the computer and print if out. Before she gave us change she asked again if we wanted to make future reservations: we declined.

The agenda here is clearly to milk the customers for all they're worth. I wouldn't return. Nor would I recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Centrally located in Seminyak, accessible to spas & trinkets shops just outside.
Spacious property and reception staff is warm and friendly.
Villa is super intimate (plus point) with a private pool outside and bath tub in room. Lush surroundings makes you forget that you only such limited time to relax.
Clean and spacious room.
We love the super fast room service and the in room breakfast service in the morning.
We are so coming back :)

Room Tip: Corner Villa 24 have the most privacy for those who just want a little bit more peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErMaia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the first time we went to sun island villas. The reception was excellent. The villas are luxurious en very quiet. The personnel is extremely polite. You can appreciate a free afternoon coffee or thea at the restaurant. The only remark we can give is that the pool and terras are very small compared to other villas on the island. This is for me a reason not to come back.
It is near the bintang supermarket and different restaurant. The most restaurants however are on the other side of seminyak. You should take a taxi for about 20.000 roupia to get a large selection of very good restaurant like the japanese Kuni or the Breeze at the samaya.
Overall a very good villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#44 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#26 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#50 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa

Property: Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Seminyak 188, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Villas And Spa
Sun Island Villas Hotel Seminyak
Sun Island Hotel
Aston Seminyak
Hotel Sun Island
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing