We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Ranked #38 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the first time we went to sun island villas. The reception was excellent. The villas are luxurious en very quiet. The personnel is extremely polite. You can appreciate a free afternoon coffee or thea at the restaurant. The only remark we can give is that the pool and terras are very small compared to other villas on the island. This is for me a reason not to come back.
It is near the bintang supermarket and different restaurant. The most restaurants however are on the other side of seminyak. You should take a taxi for about 20.000 roupia to get a large selection of very good restaurant like the japanese Kuni or the Breeze at the samaya.
Overall a very good villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    110
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
286
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and found the venue, location and staff all excellent. This is quiet little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area. Only a short distance to the Bintang Supermarket to get all your supplies.

Cannot say enough about the quality of the staff, brilliant. One thing my partner missed however, was a gym. Not that big a problem as she located on a short walk around the corner.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Your own pool enclosed in your own private luxurious oasis. These villas are loaded with everything you need including indoor & outdoor showers, etc etc etc.. The staff brought us a nice breakfast to our villa every morning. The grounds and pool are smart and well kept. The only thing that does not make this place perfect is the long walk to the beach, but the location offers everything else, good shopping, trendy bars & restaraunts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanchep, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. You get the best of both worlds peace & quite or the hustle & bustle of Seminyak. On arrival we were upgraded to a 2 room Villa but this did not affect us, unless I snored too much, then the wife could go upstairs I guess.. The villas are private & clean with a great plunge pool at just the right temperature to soak and drink your Bintang. Excellent! The only negative I have about our villa, was that both my wife and I got sore backs from the mattress?? maybe just getting older! Anyway I solved this by having a few more Bintangs before bed.... All staff were friendly and helpful including the gardeners who would greet you as you walked by. The food was excellent and well presented. The massages we had at the hotel spa were professionally carried out. Leaving/entering the hotel you were always greeted by the security staff who would help in any way they could. Be prepared to be reminded a number of times by the service staff about the Friday night BBQ. The main street allows access to Seminyak life with a 5 minute walk to the Bintang market where you could get your supplies at a cheap price to your left and about a 20 minute walk to the beach area on your right and right again. All in all a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tefenankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I came to bali for our first time in jan 2013! We felt so welcomed by the ridiculously friendly staff upon arrival and our whole 7 night stay..the villa was perfect and immaculate our whole stay..can't rave about this place enough..food was always delicious and the staff were always giving us great tips on places to go and Nothing was to much to ask..if we needed calls made to tours changing times rescheduling times or anything they were happy to accommodate! We wil definitely return to bali and will have to stay at this heavenly resort again! Thank you sun island resort and spa for the best experience!!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetotrave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Review written by an Australian couple aged 24 (F) & 32 (M): From the minute of arrival at Sun Island, Seminyak we felt welcomed, at home and very comfortable. In Dec 2012, we stayed for 6 consecutive nights and would have loved to have been there for longer! Set in an awesome and convenient position in the heart of all activity and within walking distance to beaches, cafes & shops, we experienced accommodation that was private, safe and 'cool'. With 24/7 service and if you're not feeling up for getting out of your pj's too early (pre 10:00am) late breaky delivered to your door is quite the luxury, followed by cocktails for the next few hrs - 2 FOR 1 ALL DAY EVERY DAY @ $7.50 per cocktail = $3.75 EACH!! Be in your private plunge pool and sunbathing in your birthday suite or lock yourself up in the a/c watching movies (only during the hottest part of the day) - your choice what you do!

That is just the introduction, what was truly outstanding was the service.... Bali is known for its hospitality, and Sun Island was no exception. We loved all of the staff, in particular the bar staff (De'wa) and the security/welcome team at the front gates. We always had a good laugh and a traffic control team to enable us to 'safely' cross the road to the Sun Island.

Top 3 places within 5 mins walk:

* Bintang supermarket - great place to get your basics - Bintang (beer) $8.60 per 6 pack
* Cafe next to Bintang Supermarket on main street - BEST BURGERS - 4 stacker + chips + free coke for $4.95 AUS (the guys will love this) + a great variety of other meals.
* Shops/cafe directly opposite Sun Island - pretty good quality shopping + gourmet $4 pizzas - 2 x pizzas + 2 x bintang = approx $8.00!!

When we go back to Bali, we will only stay in Sun Island Seminyak not only because we have enjoyable memories, it offers luxury accommodation only minutes drive to Kuta and is a great central point for when you have exploring days.

If you are expecting 'gold taps' and something reeeeeaaaally posh, go somewhere else. If you are looking for a cool, calm and all in one place - definitely book, and feel free to do as you wish....

Room Tip: We stayed in a boutique villa (one King bed) with private plunge pool (this is the minimum at Sun Is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaveePaulyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have had 32 wonderful holidays in Bali but have only recently begun contributing to Trip Advisor. Over the last 25 years we have stayed at many, many different resorts and hotels. Without hesitation I would recommend the Sun Island Villas in Seminyak as a wonderful retreat in this part of Paradise. The management and staff are highly trained, efficient, courteous and willing to assist you to the best of their ability.
The villas are your modern oasis home away from home as one bedroom Deluxe Villas have a combined kitchen/lounge/dining area and separate large bedroom and bathroom with both indoor and outdoor shower. Your private courtyard pool is heavenly refuge to escape to relax and enjoy. When travelling with our family we have booked one of their two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom villas. The private pool in these villas is slightly larger than the one bedroom deluxe villa pools and there is also a day bed on the upstairs terrace. The resort has a lovely large communal pool next to the dining and bar area of the resort.
Breakfasts are excellent as is the service received. You will always receive a welcome greeting and happy smile. Excellent shopping is just outside the entrance to the resort. As well as the excellent restaurant in Sun Island there are many wonderful restaurants in the Seminyak area to experience.
This is a truly wonderful place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#37 of 143 in Seminyak
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 143 in Seminyak
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#18 of 143 in Seminyak
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#49 of 143 in Seminyak
933 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#31 of 143 in Seminyak
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa

Property: Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Seminyak 188, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Villas And Spa
Sun Island Villas Hotel Seminyak
Sun Island Hotel
Aston Seminyak
Hotel Sun Island
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing