We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back, good times and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Ranked #34 of 135 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“laid back, good times and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Review written by an Australian couple aged 24 (F) & 32 (M): From the minute of arrival at Sun Island, Seminyak we felt welcomed, at home and very comfortable. In Dec 2012, we stayed for 6 consecutive nights and would have loved to have been there for longer! Set in an awesome and convenient position in the heart of all activity and within walking distance to beaches, cafes & shops, we experienced accommodation that was private, safe and 'cool'. With 24/7 service and if you're not feeling up for getting out of your pj's too early (pre 10:00am) late breaky delivered to your door is quite the luxury, followed by cocktails for the next few hrs - 2 FOR 1 ALL DAY EVERY DAY @ $7.50 per cocktail = $3.75 EACH!! Be in your private plunge pool and sunbathing in your birthday suite or lock yourself up in the a/c watching movies (only during the hottest part of the day) - your choice what you do!

That is just the introduction, what was truly outstanding was the service.... Bali is known for its hospitality, and Sun Island was no exception. We loved all of the staff, in particular the bar staff (De'wa) and the security/welcome team at the front gates. We always had a good laugh and a traffic control team to enable us to 'safely' cross the road to the Sun Island.

Top 3 places within 5 mins walk:

* Bintang supermarket - great place to get your basics - Bintang (beer) $8.60 per 6 pack
* Cafe next to Bintang Supermarket on main street - BEST BURGERS - 4 stacker + chips + free coke for $4.95 AUS (the guys will love this) + a great variety of other meals.
* Shops/cafe directly opposite Sun Island - pretty good quality shopping + gourmet $4 pizzas - 2 x pizzas + 2 x bintang = approx $8.00!!

When we go back to Bali, we will only stay in Sun Island Seminyak not only because we have enjoyable memories, it offers luxury accommodation only minutes drive to Kuta and is a great central point for when you have exploring days.

If you are expecting 'gold taps' and something reeeeeaaaally posh, go somewhere else. If you are looking for a cool, calm and all in one place - definitely book, and feel free to do as you wish....

Room Tip: We stayed in a boutique villa (one King bed) with private plunge pool (this is the minimum at Sun Is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaveePaulyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    90
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
42
230
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have had 32 wonderful holidays in Bali but have only recently begun contributing to Trip Advisor. Over the last 25 years we have stayed at many, many different resorts and hotels. Without hesitation I would recommend the Sun Island Villas in Seminyak as a wonderful retreat in this part of Paradise. The management and staff are highly trained, efficient, courteous and willing to assist you to the best of their ability.
The villas are your modern oasis home away from home as one bedroom Deluxe Villas have a combined kitchen/lounge/dining area and separate large bedroom and bathroom with both indoor and outdoor shower. Your private courtyard pool is heavenly refuge to escape to relax and enjoy. When travelling with our family we have booked one of their two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom villas. The private pool in these villas is slightly larger than the one bedroom deluxe villa pools and there is also a day bed on the upstairs terrace. The resort has a lovely large communal pool next to the dining and bar area of the resort.
Breakfasts are excellent as is the service received. You will always receive a welcome greeting and happy smile. Excellent shopping is just outside the entrance to the resort. As well as the excellent restaurant in Sun Island there are many wonderful restaurants in the Seminyak area to experience.
This is a truly wonderful place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 7 nites ,everything was fantastic.Staff are wonderful and friendly,rooms are great and very clean.The pool was great and very refreshing day and nite.We have stayed in quiet few hotels around the world,and this one is now our favorite.Thanks to all staff for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrb2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A truly wonderful place. The staff were incredible, in a perfect area close to everything. Very clean and also very quiet. The private pool was more than big enough to have a soak to cool down and if you want to swim properly the main pool is the place to go. A top notch stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesTsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coraki nsw
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i just love the sun island villas the friendly staff and the location makes our trips so good. we use our regular driver made from "whatever tours" for pick ups and day trips and he always has somewhere new to take us.
the sun island villa pools are always nice and warm and the large pool is great to relax beside when you feel like mixing with other guests. food is really good they even give us a very good discount because we are returning guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stimpy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Arrived home yesterday, 26 Nov, 2012 after spending 7 days at the Sun Island Villas, Seminyak. The staff were wonderful and could not have been more pleasant or helpful, from the gardeners to the front office. The facilities are spotless. The location is right in the middle of the hustle and bustle however upon walking past the front gate the serenity washes over you.
The private plunge pool was surprisingly refreshing given the air temperature, the gardens are beautiful and the spa excellent (all be it a cheaper services can be found within walking distance - still only $20 AUD for hour massage). Happy hour is 3pm to 7pm, two for one cocktails at $3 - $4.
The food was lovely, although the experience of eating at a variety of restaurants more enjoyable. Sun Island is walking distance to numerous great restaurants, a walk down Double Six Road to the beach is easy with a variety of foods to be enjoyed along the beach front. (The Italian restaurant on the corner of the left side street walking towards the beach on Double Six Road was superb).

If you can't be bothered or it is too hot to walk a taxi will take you anywhere local for under $3. (request the meter as the driver will be keen to negotiate a price as the meter is the cheaper way to go).

The bedroom window had double solid sliding door which blocked out light and the couple of local roosters, great for total relaxation.

Loved the week and would highly recommend a stay at Sun Island.

Simonne and Mark

Room Tip: Didn't appear to be one better than the other, all very private, gated villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a wonderful establishment! It is located right in the middle of the Seminyak shopping district, yet as soon as you walk through the gates you feel like you are miles away from all the hustle and bustle. We stayed in a private pool villa that couldn't be faulted. The fit out was modern and it was obvious a lot of thought had been put into layout and furnishings, as it certainly had our jaw dropping from the moment we walked in. All staff were extremely courteous and made us feel at home straight away. We became particularly fond of the security staff who always made such an effort to help us with directions and stopping the traffic so we could cross the road safely. During our stay we utilised the room service, which was of a good standard and price, however we found the breakfast to be a little disappointing. For an asian breakfast it was OK, but considering the resort caters for mainly western clientele, it was fairly average. However all in all, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is an absolute heavenly haven, in the heart of the action!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#14 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#26 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#27 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#20 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Jineng Villas
The Jineng Villas
#47 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#45 of 135 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa

Property: Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Seminyak 188, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Villas And Spa
Sun Island Villas Hotel Seminyak
Sun Island Hotel
Aston Seminyak
Hotel Sun Island
Sun Island Boutique Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing