We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TSL The Shampoo Lounge - Seminyak
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Blonde Balayage

Great thanks to Soen who has taken a great attention to what I was looking for and also delivered... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Livia M
Blow dry

I had a wash and blow dry not sure what shampoo you guys used but my hair never looked better even... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Vesna M
,
Canberra, Australia
via mobile
Read all 590 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Seminyak
from $48.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
464
67
21
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
67
21
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hair extensions hair cut hair treatment long hair an amazing job hair style shellac manicure million dollars barber shop end result great service attention to detail professional service signature massage head massage great price thank you so much
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 590 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2015

Had a couples full body massage which was fantastic!! After 6 trips to Bali and after visiting many spas this was very good!! Then had a hair cut which was also very professional. My husband had a wet shave and it was also very good. We will definitely be back!!

Date of experience: January 2015
2  Thank SJN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

I was in Canggu and made an effort to find and get to this place. I did this based on the good reviews and the girls wanting to have a day for themselves. However I was greatly disappointed with the poor customer service. They ignored us and when we inquired about prices they seemed uninterested and unwilling to assist us. Shortly after a group of Australians entered and suddenly there was a quick change of atmosphere from the workers working there. They were pampering them with attention and smiles, they way every customer should be treated. Me and my family are also Australian (however not Caucasian).

1  Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapayaFiends, Owner at TSL The Shampoo Lounge - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2015

Dear Ryan,

We remember your party well. There were seven of you arriving without a reservation. After we explained we're full up with people who have previously and properly booked in prior to arrival. Your party insisted on being accommodated so due to your persistence, we accommodated four of them and offered up alternative salons as options. Rather than being thankful, you're the second one in your party to write a vindictive review.

Perhaps if you ran a small business you would understand that overbooking and accommodating more customers than you can handle results in poor quality and that's not fair to those who booked in properly. We're saddened by your review but will always err on the side of quality service.

Your parties continued accusations that we treat Caucasian customers differently than others is absurd, we encourage you to visit our photo gallery to observe the broad international clientele we treat with respect and sincere friendliness. It's 2014, we have a very diverse staff of multiple nationalities and orientations - do you really think we differentiate based on race? People receive back the energy they project do consider that when interacting with others as we do ourselves.

If we are guilty of anything, it is showing our frustration with unreasonable "requests" on a very busy day - for that we do apologize and will work to improve upon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

My mother, a friend and I attended tsl for a wedding trial of hair and makeup. Both hair and makeup were amazing so we booked for 8 females for hair and makeup for my wedding day. From the prompt email replies to the staff treating all guests like celebraties. Every member of our party couldn't fault the hair and makeup. I would recommend this place to anyone. I will defiantly be returning on future trips to Bali

2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

We went to TSL today and had a very lovely time. There was 7 of us and an appointment was made fairly last minute the day before. Yet they still managed to accomodate us and we had a lovely time...amazing relaxing massages and hair treatments! At times a little bit chaotic with so many people going in and out, we felt always welcome and the workers apologetic for the busyness which did not bother us. Highly recommend this place - but do book in advance.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank TravellingBug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Brought 3 ladies and 4 girls for a treat and come looking for this place after reading all the extremely good comments. However...

The lady at the reception was at best lurk warm. Give us the menu and left us alone. We had a bit of discussion and wanted to take up the hair and manicure package. Had to wave her down and gave her our choice. Was told they have only 4 nail technicians and told us " why not go somewhere else where they might have more technicians " We had no appointments made plus the weather is really hot that day, so after a bit of discussion again, i suggested that the 4 girls get their nails done while the adults will take up the hair treatment. After a bit of a wait, was told now there is no nail technicians and again suggest that we go somewhere else. At this point, i had began to suspect the reviews i read, but its really too hot to go walking around with 7 people looking for another place. So i ask exactly what can they do, and was told only 3 for hair treatment. I left the 3 ladies there and took the 4 girls with me to get their manicure done somewhere else.

Meanwhile another family of 5 ( asian descent) came in ( with appointment ) and surprisingly was treated with the same kind of lurk warm attitude we received. As i was wondering how they get such good reviews, the answer came walking in. A group of Caucasian ladies came in and was greeted with the warmest smile and attitude I seen all day. With hugs and hand shake included. Repeated customers no doubt but such difference in attitude, its disguise me.

As for the hair treatment , one of our ladies noted that the person blowing dry her hair, stop the process at least 5 to 8 times to chat to her Caucasian customer leaving her waiting uncomfortably. Another had her chair lifted so high, her legs was left hanging in the air uncomfortably with no support.

The result again was at best average, cos all 3 came to Singapore and had their hair re-do.

In summary , we don't get the feeling that all customers are treated with the same kind of enthusiasm, at least we don't. In fact, we almost felt that TSL don't want our business. Very disappointed after reading such good reviews on this place.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank boonbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapayaFiends, Owner at TSL The Shampoo Lounge - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

We appreciate you resubmitting this review and removing the more offensive comments that were first posted.

There is a saying, “No good deed goes unpunished,” and that certainly seems to be the case here. Rather than saying “thank you” for trying to accommodate your party of seven on a fully booked day, you chose to insult our receptionist, question our credibility, infer we are racists, and submit an overly critical review, twice. In the future, we recommend that you make a booking for a large group - that was the root cause of your obvious frustration and our willingness to refer you to other capable salons and take some of your party in was not appreciated.

Despite explaining multiple times that it was high season, the salon was fully booked with clients with bookings, you vehemently insisted that your party of seven be accommodated without consideration to the obvious full booking of the salon. In any salon in the world, a party of seven would require an advance reservation for multiple treatments for this many guests. Bali is no exception and your visit coincided with high season and as we patiently explained, multiple times, we were fully booked that day. When we take in walk ins, we have to do so judiciously as to not disrupt or impact the service level to customers who have taken the time to make an appointment. In your case, we did try to accommodate as best we could on a very busy day and in retrospect, that probably should not have been done.

We take offense to your inference that we are racist, being in Indonesia, the vast majority of our regular repeat client base is Asian so how you can repeatedly infer we treat Caucasians differently is lost on us and possibly more of a personal issue for you to consider. If you read our reviews on FB or TA, we pride ourselves on being a very friendly salon, that said, when a party of seven walks in, expects us to drop everything and potentially impact service levels for clients with bookings, our patience might get a bit visibly strained and we apologize if that was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews