We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing stay in quiet seminyak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bhavana Private Villas
Ranked #110 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in quiet seminyak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

From the point of contact at the airport upon pickup right through to checking out, the service was brilliant,. The stay... relaxing and enjoyable. The 1bedroom villa was lovely and the layout suited a trio of girlfriends just perfectly with the order of an extra bed. We spent a majority of our time hanging out in the living area overlooking the pool enjoying the extra space you dont get in a hotel room or large resort. This enabled one of us to have a rest and the others to still enjoy the space. We felt the villa gave us plenty of privacy and although they were fully booked, we never heard any other guests. We throughly enjoyed having our breakfast cooked for us each morning and ordering in room service was cheap and enjoyable.... The overall stay was enjoyable... but... and i say this without sounding too negative... there were a few things i could get picky about if i were a resort critic and looking for 5 star luxury. However given the price we paid, compared to some other villas i'd researched and considered, we feel we definately got our moneys worth. So if you are looking for 5 star +, perhaps consider eleswhere but expect to pay somewhat more. It was just minor things we noticed like a chipped tile, discolouration of paint in some areas, one of the decking boards sunk when we stepped on it, the mirror blackening around the edges, that sort of thing... as i said, just minor things... the villas are not looking 'brand new' and sparkling as shown on the website but you must consider that they are a few years old so are a little tired. however the great open space, extremely comfy bed and beautiful soft linen, quietness of the area, and open spance bathroom certainly out weighed any tiredness the villa presented.
The one and only thing that i gripe about is upon checkout we had a bit of a dilema. There was a new staff on in training and with the language barrier and him not truly understanding the eftpos system he could not process payment on my visa card. He also had trouble processing my friends card and we only were able to use my other friends card to check out which meant she had to cover the cost for all three of us. Then (because the staff member was new) somehow charged us twice....! it was a problem at the time and kept us waiting and worrying for about an hour, but since has been rectified and funds are being transfered back.
Would i stay there again? if it hadnt been for the problematic checkout - sure... but given this i'm not sure if i'd trust that i'd be able to make payment upon checkout.
if you do stay here... some tips....
- shopping along the main strip wasnt all its cracked up to be. Do check out saturday and sunday markets at seminyak square.
- Geneva Department Store is a great one stop shop full of everything you'd find at markets and matahari and discovery plaza but on a much cheaper scale and prices are already preset so no bartering required.
- The Living Room is beautiful and divine - food is 5+ Star!!! Order the duck breast!
- The Hu'u Bar (opposite living room) is a great spot to enjoy a drink, has big cushions on lawn set amongst fairy lit trees to chill out on.
- Be sure to book the driver if you have plans, dont expect him to be available all the time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ah2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    29
    21
    9
See reviews for
36
114
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had a lovely time there. Hints:take your own tea and coffee so you have the independence of room service which is really cheap but nice to get a cuppa when you wake up. The street outside is rough but Bali streets are like that, and its only 50 cents for a taxi to Ku De Ta and with taxis (Bluebird) so cheap you dont need to walk. They will do laundry for you. Don't expect to run a full bath as the hot water doesnt last that long but showers are fine. The banana pancakes are yummy and they do good chips and i liked their seared tuna. Get your brekkie menu in fast or someone could grab the timeslot you want. If like us you get a torrential downpour there will be a bit of water come in, but that's being abroad for you! We could always get a car okay and they will arrange for dinner in Jimbaran Bay with free transport there and back which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed at Bhavana Villas for 10 days and loved it. We have been to Bali many times before but this time wanted to try a different type of accommodation. We would normally have stayed in a large 4 or 5 star hotel in Kuta or Legian but chose Bhavana private villas and were very impressed with the service and facilities. Everything was exactly as portrayed on the website. I was sceptical when I booked it but it truly was exactly as the website stated.

The villas are on a small side road (pot holed and bumpy) in Seminyak, walking distance to some very nice restaurants and shops. A taxi into the heart of Kuta only cost about 25,000 Rupiah which is less than $5 AUD. So for just a few dollars you can enjoy the peace and tranquility of Seminyak but still be close to the hectic hustle and bustle of Kuta. If you want to be in amongst the action, then maybe Seminyak is not the place for you. If you want to relax in the privacy of a walled compound with a sparkling pool and luxurious gardens then Bhavana Villas is the right place.

The villas are not new but are well kept. I have read other travellers' reviews and some have mentioned worn or old linens but our towels etc were fluffy and smelled beautifully clean and fresh every morning. The staff were efficient, friendly and always smiling. Breakfast was cooked for us in our villa every morning at the pre-arranged time. The pool was more than large enough for our needs and so convenient. In the larger hotels using the pool is often quite stressful as other people's children are running about, screaming or jumping on you, when all you really want to do is relax and enjoy a nice swim. At Bhavana Villas, the pool is your own and we enjoyed ours at all times of the day from 8 am until 11pm. There was no time restrictions. The villas do not have a bar or a restaurant on site but the room service menu is quite extensive and very competitively priced. The local convenience stores all sell alcohol and soft drinks which can be kept in your refrigerator.

While in Bali, I celebrated my birthday. My partner arranged with the hotel staff to fill the pool with beautiful flowers while we were out at the Safari Park. What a surprise when we returned to our villa, then we had a wonderful candlelit dinner by the poolside. The next morning, the pool boys returned to clear all the flowers from the pool and within 20 minutes it was all back to normal again. A fantastic memory of a beautiful relaxing holiday at the Bhavana villas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSP_and_SPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

These were great rooms pool fantastic. Make sure you take mozzie spray and a little balinese language aswell. The staff tried to help but were poorly trained, couldn't speak english well which made it hard to communicate needs, which was dissapointing also the car was never available unlike what it says in the brochures. Food was average so we ate out most the time, I think this would be great for return travellers to Bali who like there own space and confident in the area as there is no real service or help.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Just returned from a couple of fantastic weeks in Bali, one of which was spent at the Beautiful Aston Bhavana Villas in Seminyak. These villas are in an excellent location, just off "Eat Street" their in the street where the famous Ultimo restauraunt is on the corner, a copule of minutes walk from all the shops and restauraunts (disregard all the maps you see because none of them are accurate). Having stayed at Elysium Villas last time and paid approx $350 per night, Aston Bhavana is exceptional value at approx $200 per night (Great Value). we had a one bedroom villa with private pool, outdoor kitchen and dining area, lovely bathroom with outdoor shower. the villas are nice and quiet unlike some other locations where villas back onto side roads etc... these are all well located off the roads. Service is excellent, loads of staff to attend to any and all your requests. Breakfast is fantastic, they actually come to your villa at the time you request and cook your breakfast in your outdoor kitchen for you. I would not hesitate in staying at these wonderful Villas again, very hard to beat for Value and location. We hired a motor bike for the week we were there, the staff organised it for us for approx $6 a day. the beach is approx 2 minutes on the bike, you could walk, but after long days at the beach, we prefered to just jump on the bike to get back to our beautiful Villa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Seminyak at the Aston after 3 nights in Jimbaran - two very different resorts but both enjoyable. The one bed villa was comfortable, the setting clean and well kept and the pool refreshing. OK there are were few small things to be sorted in maintenance (trims not fitting, a broken deck board) but these did not distract at all from our stay.
Good things about the Aston Bhavana:
1)To wake up to breakfast served in your room, cooked to your liking was a real treat.
2) The bathroom - a real novelty to be in and out side.
3) The courtesy car which took us to the restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood, to our next hotel and the airport at the end of the trip. (Also the pickup from our reort prior was competitively priced - not the usual high price, hotel transfer).
4) The area - right in amongsth the old Seminyak with padi fields and traditional houses but just up the road from some great restaurants on Jalan Oberoi.
5) The peace and quiet. Even though the hotel was full there was no noise from adjacent villas. Great for lounging around and doing nothing!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

We booked the Aston Bhavana (formerly Sesari Bali) for the last week of our honeymoon and it was the perfect end to a busy trip around Bali.

We ordered breakfast every morning and requested some items that weren't on the menu and it was such a treat to have it cooked for us in our villa kitchen. Our villa was spotless and every night at dusk there was a turn down service which included the mozzie control team. The resort is fairly new and is in a great location - quiet but close enough to nightlife if you fancy going out. Our stay included a free massage and a luxury candlelit meal by our private pool which we had on our last night. Amazing service!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#67 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#104 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Haere
The Haere
#96 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
Le Jardin Villas, Seminyak
#42 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ahimsa
The Ahimsa
#97 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Suite Private Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhavana Private Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavana Private Villas

Property: Bhavana Private Villas
Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bhavana Villas)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#76 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#77 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhavana Private Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The delightful Bhavana Bali offers sixteen delightful private villas set in immaculate walled gardens each with a private pool, a semi outdoor lounge area with a functional kitchenette, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms.Modeled after traditional houses found in Bali and Java, the villas are built, furnished and decorated using local timber, tiles, fabrics and artifacts - blended with a modern-minimalist edge.Each has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge with a kitchen and dining area. In the midst of fashionable Seminyak, the Bhavana - Private Villas are only minutes away from Seminyak beach offering daily spectacular sunsets which can be viewed from delightful beachside cafes and bars.Seminyak is also a world class shopping, dine out and nightlife destination with several of Asia’s best restaurants, bars and discotheques offering something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bhavana Private Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhavana Private Villas Hotel Seminyak
Aston Bhavana Hotel
Aston Bhavana Resort
Sesari Bali
Bhavana Private Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing