We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bali sept 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhavana Private Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bhavana Private Villas
Ranked #109 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Seminyak
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Bali sept 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

On a late arrival wow! Great airport pick up by driver Alit who spoke great english and very knowledgable, staff brilliant, villa looked fantastic! Alit is also a driver for hire for the day- he was unavailable but recommended a friend Wayan who was great
For the next 3 days and night the same standard continued! Then disappointing for next 3 days - toilet broke, no water in shower, "maintenance issues in kitchen " in fact small maintenance issues everywhere does it sound like a carry on movie??? Staff did their absolute best in trying circumstances. Luckily close to restaurants and shops in seminyak. It is a bit of pot luck with very helpful staff on reception with varying degrees of English. Ulin spa just 5 minute walk is fantastic day spa. Only a minor complaint but to say the pool was refreshing is an understatement. To finish on a positive food and bar prices very reasonable even though villa over priced. ( food and massage prices cheaper than in seminyak) weather was absolutely beautiful everyday as I've been told it always is! Restaurant recommend Rumours (just a short walk down the street) kitchen club seemed good to us although never full at night only busy during day, Potato Head Club is a great venue for a day and to see sunset get there early to get agood daybed! Minimum spend on daybed is 500 000 rupiah but easy to do! Great leather shop in legian is dolphin leather for jackets, suits, bags, shoes (men's and ladies) dolphin leather. Address is Sahadawa St between melatstiand Palma street. Not a place to barter (not cheap) but quality is fantastic, tailor made leather jkt takes 4days and costs $180 AUD approx depending on style and leather. The free shuttle bus around seminyak is hit or miss driver seems to always be taking the boss to Nusa dua or "just gone out" Legian is to far for shuttle bus a distance of maybe 3 Kim's. Down the road to the right of the villa is a fantastic little coffe shop called at d'boat house coffee shop. Great tasting food and cheap , friendly and very helpful. Dinner at La Lucciola is beautiful get there for a beautiful sunset

Room Tip: If you want good wifi connection reception told us to ask for villa 1 or 2 they have the best connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    63
    29
    21
    9
See reviews for
36
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Love the place. Friendly staff and service. Look forward to coming back here. The private pool is such luxury.Having breakfast cooked fresh in our villa was so special too. The ambiance at night was magical. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sita2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is tottally my mistakes not to read a review from trip advisor before checking in...
The villa itself i must say not too bad.... The interior and design, the pool they are nice...
But some several things need to improve :
1. The breakfast is faaaar from nice. Its like a breakfast in a cheap motel, sorry just being honest...
2. The bathroom itself is nice, but clearly you have to fix the water problem seriously, its not nice it keep on and off all the time, the shower is not enjoyable at all
3. The pool is smell bad, like the chemical smell but it is even harder than the public pool....
4. When we checking in, the pillows outside, on the sofa, they have black spot on it and really really smell bad... I have no idea how when the last time they wash it....
The review above is based on a 2 bedrooms villa.
Will i come back to this villa or recoommend? For the price, i don't think so :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in these large villas with beautiful pool and outdoor bathrooms. Polite friendly staff that come and cook breakfast in your villa each morning. Comfy bed and great shower. They could get some new towels though, they are a bit tired looking. Great location within walking distance to Laksmana street to plenty of restaurants and shops. At corner of Laksmana is Ultimo restaurant, great food at reasonable prices. You must also try Metis and Sarong restaurants! Return airport shuttle is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopsandNeelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Pops and Neelo,

Warmest greeting from Bhavana Private Villas,

Thank you for taking time to submit your comment from your recent stay at Bhavana Private Villas

It is with pleasure to learn that our services have met your expectations. Your comments are very much appreciated as they contribute tremendously in keeping up staff motivation.

The past two years we've been trying to bring Bhavana Private Villas to its best performance, we do regular general maintenance, replace the broken facility and adding more amenities to satisfy our guest.

Some program are completed, and some still on progress. Anyhow we will continue our maintenance program to be sure that we could serve our guest in the best possible way at all time. I am sure that you will see the better Bhavana on your next visit.

Our towels and linens indeed need to be up-graded, some are serving our guest for over a year now and surely need to be replaced, therefore we have ordered new linens for our guests. The new pool towel arrives just last week and more linens scheduled to come gradually. We hope to be able to serve a better quality of linens soon. Thank you for bringin this matter to our attention.

Once again, thank you for choosing bhavana for your holiday destination. All of us here at the Bhavana Private Villas look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.


On behalf of the Staff and Management
Warm Regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly staff that worked hard to accomodate their guests. The breakfast and banana pancakes were delicious. The shuttle service was nice to get us to seminyak square. Close walk to restaurants, shops, and spas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesV731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reni D, General Manager at Bhavana Private Villas, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear James,

Warmest greeting from Bhavana Private Villas,

Thank you for taking time to submit your comment form during your recent stay at Bhavana Private Villas

It is with pleasure to learn that our services have met your expectations. Your comments are very much appreciated as they contribute tremendously in keeping up staff motivation.

The past two years we've been trying to bring Bhavana Private Villas to its best performance, we do regular general maintenance, replace the broken facility and addingmore amenities to satisfy our guest.

Some program are completed, and some still on progress. Anyhow we will continue our maintenance program to be sure that we could serve our guest in the best possible way at all time. I am sure that you will see the better Bhavana on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for choosing bhavana for your holiday destination. All of us here at the Bhavana Private Villas look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.


On behalf of the Staff and Management
Warm Regards
Reni Dianawati
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at these villas and were extremely disappointed.The first villa had a warning alarm for the hot water system which went off during the night several times .The only way to stop this was by leaving a tap running all night.This went on for 2 nights.The second villa we were moved to had a power problem.Every time the pool lights came on the power tripped.The third and final villa had a rat living under the kitchen fridge and was not caught before we left.The condition of the villas was terrible with broken furniture and threadbare towels as well as being quite dirty (pool included).The staff were quite friendly although none the issues we had were addressed.I would advise people lokking at these viilas to look elsewere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

These Villas are 6 years old... And it shows. Dodgy workmanship, maintenance well overdue and seriously needs TLC.
Even the towels and bedding are the originals, judging by appearance.

We were promised a butler so subtle you wouldn't know he was there. We never saw him once.

On arrival we found a leaking toilet and an 'engineer' couldn't be found for 3 days.

A request for room service (2 beers) was promptly fulfilled, but with warm cans (" we haven't got a fridge").

Great shame, the Balinese Staff as you can imagine were as always superb, but it was clear there was no management or leadership, therefore very little process they could actually follow.

We saw no evidence of Managers/owners, and assume from this and the experience that they are likely disinterested in anything other than in keeping the occupancy high enough to pay for the property investment.

Nearer a 3 star, it sadly comes nowhere near a 5.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#104 of 142 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#66 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Haere
The Haere
#96 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Jardin Villas
Le Jardin Villas
#38 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#33 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ahimsa
The Ahimsa
#97 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhavana Private Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhavana Private Villas

Property: Bhavana Private Villas
Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bhavana Villas)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#73 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#75 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhavana Private Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The delightful Bhavana Bali offers sixteen delightful private villas set in immaculate walled gardens each with a private pool, a semi outdoor lounge area with a functional kitchenette, dining area and air-conditioned bedrooms.Modeled after traditional houses found in Bali and Java, the villas are built, furnished and decorated using local timber, tiles, fabrics and artifacts - blended with a modern-minimalist edge.Each has its own private pool, semi outdoor lounge with a kitchen and dining area. In the midst of fashionable Seminyak, the Bhavana - Private Villas are only minutes away from Seminyak beach offering daily spectacular sunsets which can be viewed from delightful beachside cafes and bars.Seminyak is also a world class shopping, dine out and nightlife destination with several of Asia’s best restaurants, bars and discotheques offering something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Bhavana Private Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhavana Private Villas Hotel Seminyak
Aston Bhavana Hotel
Aston Bhavana Resort
Sesari Bali
Bhavana Private Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing