We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
148
78
32
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
78
32
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshiva roomloved the french toastbalinese touchescrazy seminyakgreat spot in seminyakbeautiful oasislounging by the poolboutique hotellovely poolwalking distancedeluxe roomamerican breakfastshort walk to the beachreception areatucked awayaway from the hustle and bustlequiet location
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 282 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We arrived at Villa Karisa after a over night flight, feeling exhausted and weary. What a joy to be greeted by such warm and friendly staff and wonderful surroundings.

We had the Joglo house all to ourselfs and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The main room had an outdoor bathroom which was kept clean and tidy Both rooms had cable TV and air-conditioning that greeted us when we came back from a long day of shopping.

Breakfast was provided every morning which included toast,eggs, cereal, juice, fruits a the very delicious bali coffee. It was wonderful to be greeted by our ever smiling kitchen staff while they prepare your breakfast.

Villa Karisa is located a 15 min or so walking distance from Seminyak shops, but we took taxis everywhere as they wer very cheap.

We also had our massages organised for us in the privacy of our rooms.

Thanks Isabella for a great stay, will definately come back soon. Love to Laila too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I booked the villa because of the comments on tripadvisor. My initial reaction was to be a little disappointed - our bedroom (ganesha) was very large and rather devoid of furniture eg there was nowhere to sit other than the bed and the bathroom was inside the bedroom. However the gardens and public areas were lovely. Over the next 7 days we grew very attached to the ambience that Villa Karissa offers - it was casual and laidback, the staff were friendly and helpful and returning to the lovely pool after our days out with relaxing music playing in the background was great.
On that basis we would recommend the villa to those who enjoy chilling out in the sun!
The only downside is that the beach is not 5 minutes away! More like 15 minutes and in the hot sun that is quite a walk! Having said that the villa is at the quieter end of Seminyak which we preferred,taxis cost next to nothing and the nightlife is only a short distance away too!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

the villa karisa is a centrally located boutique B&B with a hip, boho chic atmosphere. don't expect polished comfort and luxury. the place has a chilled-out vibe, lots of character and makes you feel at home. Isabelle, the host as well as the other members of staff are very nice and do have loads of tips to make your stay even more perfect. we were lucky to stay in the Bali Bunga villa, which has a wonderful terrace and garden, with a lovely private pool. together with the lounge bed you have your own personal piece of paradise! add the huge outdoor living-area and spacious bedrooms to this and it is indeed a very special experience, absolute value for money. located literally around the corner of one of the main streets as well as on waling distance of the beach (check out KuDeTa) you don't need taxis to go around. all in all - we loved it. would definitely recommend villa Karisa, when you are looking for special character and charm rather than standard luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

With my husband and my best friend we had the joglohouse for two weeks.
What a nice place to stay in Villa Karisa,
The joglo house is an old beauty.
The staff is very helpfull in all things, friendly and polite.
Isabella is creating one of the most friendly stay in Seminyak.
With our thanks to all of the people from Villa Karisa

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kineesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We come to Bali all the time and this time we tried villa karisa that was recomended by a lot of our friends from paris to find a home away from home.We stayed in the Wisnu and the bali bunga which was great ! the decor is a mix between colonial and stylish indian asian.The rooms are extra larges and we had our own pool but we went all the time in the amazing big pool and enjoyed the friendly but not intrusive staff which is a big plus when you want intimacy in Bali.We really enjoyed the villa, we ordered food and drinks and stayed up late in the bale area overlooking the pool reading and enjoying our friends company.The house is set up in a way that it all happens in the living area it's huge and friendly, people come and go,share their stories and give you good advice on where to go to dine ,beach shopping etc....The Bali bunga is cozy but the rooms are well done with a terrazzo enclosed bathroom and a nice area to lounge.The joglo is fantastique! apparently brough from java made all of wood with a very cool decor.they are in the midst of finishing a new room that looks apready over the top the shiva check it out!!
I have to say that I had the best time ever,with my friends and the people I met including the owner that gave a lot of good advise on secluded spots to go.We will come back again for sure!!!!! and maybe rent the whole place with all of us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews