We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent villa and location...”
Review of Villa Karisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Karisa
Ranked #79 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have stayed 3 times now at their 2 bedroomed Bunga Villa. Just love the slightly worn but classic feel (if you want some ultra modern place then don't read on). Open lounge to own garden and pool is so peaceful. Bedrooms and bathrooms are fine... although Cathedral ceilings and under powered Air cond means no 'cold room... chilled but not 'cold'. The staff are very friendly and the location is very easy access to beaches, shops, restaurants, bars... will go back again which is always the ultimate test.

Room Tip: If 2 couples, or family with 2 kids then take the Bunga Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

I live in Ubud but have very often business in Seminyak . I use this opportunity to make a "Mini-holiday" at the Villa Karisa . I have been there at least 8 times in the last couple of months and everytime enjoyed my stay a lot. What is most important for me is my privacy and this I can have there. I also like very much the different styles of the villa's and rooms . It is all very traditional Java and/or Bali style. One can have villas of different size's and style with/without pool and they all have their own charm. The dining room , the garden and the big pool are very nice.
The whole hotel is kept very well and the staff is very friendly so that i feel already as part of a family . I hope you can enjoy it as much as I.

Room Tip: Villa Joggle is a very nice house and Villa Bunga . I recommend to rent always the whole villa and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horst K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I can't compare to other villas in Bali, but the Village is quite nice, the room is big, the pool looks beautiful and its quiet and relaxing. Breakfast is alright, but the bathroom is quite stone age to be honest. However the staff was always very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed a 6 days in the Java Room. Villa Karisa is a small resort, lovely design and comfortable room. The gardens,pool,reception area and rooms were all lovely and clean. At night the staff would spray the room for mozzies,pull the mozzie net down over the bed,turn down the bed and put a frangipani flower on the pillow and leave the bedside lamp on, which I thought was just delightful. The meals were nice you could see the kitchen area and watch them cooking it was all very clean and hygienic and the staff were very polite and friendly.It is very close to good shopping,great restaurants and the beach. My only slightly negative point is it is very small villa and there were a lot of little kids while we were there and they loved to run up and down the beautiful wooden verandahs right outside our room yelling and playing, they were also screaming and yelling in the pool (like kids do) but it could be a bit disruptive. I think the resort is better suited for a "no children under 12" policy but if noisy happy kids don't bother you then villa karisa is lovely and I would stay there again but probably in one of the more private villas with a private pool.The manager Susy is extremely helpful and very nice

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimbo1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Villa Karisa recently - great location, very helpful and friendly staff, beautifully designed space, comfortable accommodation (we stayed in the Joglo and then the Ganesha room), and lovely pool. A real oasis tucked away from the madness. I especially want to thank the staff who were beautiful with our young children and really made us feel at home. Terima kasih! Tegan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeganNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Villa Casabianca the new addition of villa Karisa where I have stayed previously but prefer the location of casabianca which is in the new district of Petitenget close to Kdt , Potato Head and W hotel.
I found the house to be very easy to stay in with a large pool and living area open to a beautiful garden.
The four bedrooms were air conditioned and the maid helpful and made us our daily breakfast.
The bathrooms were clean and brand new and I have to say I love the stylish design of the house.
We were 4 couples and found we had space and privacy.
I recommend this to couples families for a Bali holiday offering diversity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Villa Saffria with another family and were quite disappointed with the Villa and also service of the staff. We were also quite surprised as apparently the Villa used to be the owners residence.

When you enter the Villa the gate it is quiet narrow and extremely close to the pool. We were travelling with 2 young babies and a toddler which made it quite dangerous when trying to get in & out of the area. It was also not undercover so quite slippery after the rain.

The living area of the Villa and the kitchen are quite nice and spacious and the pool was nice as well. We were surprised that the bathrooms were a little run down and not very clean. We had to take our poor 6 month old son to the doctors when we got home as he picked up a fungus from the bath and shower area.

The staff also forgot about the airport transfers for the other family we were travelling, even though we had confirmed and organised the return airport transfers at least a month before our visit. When we re-confirmed the transfer times the day before we were leaving, they said that they had booked the car for the whole day to someone else. Fortunately we had been using a couple of taxi drivers during our visit who were able to help out.

The breakfast and coffee weren't the best quality and were quite basic. We also went to order room service for dinner one night and they were out of almost everything. They also got 2 of the meals wrong even though we had written it down for the barman/cook.

On the up side the other hotel rooms looked quite nice as you walked by and the staff also allowed us to shower and change in a vacant room before our airport transfer.

Overall we were very disappointed with the accommodation, especially for the cost per night. If the accommodation was cheaper then the service and quality would be about on par for a 3-star.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Villa Saffria. There are better Villa's in Bali to stay in for the same cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balidiva, Owner at Villa Karisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear valued Customer
We thank you for your review as it help's us improve the service to your fellow travelers.
It is important for me to check the accuracy of the complains.
In your case I had to do some research as your name is not displayed for security reason, and I found the follow discrepancies.I believe your transfers from the airport were arranged by your booking agent and not us.
Villa Saffira has 2 entrances, the main one leads from the street to the house and living area.
there is another one that the staff uses from karisa and that one is next to the pool which is the one you refer too, as you mention it it seems that all guest have no other option than to come thru that door which is innacurate.
As far as the guest bathroom ,the peebles are a bit warned out ,it is true and we are waiting for the season to be over to redo the cement around it.
I looked closely and there is no fungus or any mold so to say that your 6 month toddle got sick is a bit unfair as I imagine that at some point you left Saffira's premises to go to the beach or to eat,toddlers are always touching every thing and putting everything in their mouth,so blaming us is just not right as Bali is a big place and a third country island when it comes to hygiene and infrastructure.
We try to improve our place all the time and again we value your comment.
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 148 in Seminyak
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#58 of 148 in Seminyak
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#52 of 148 in Seminyak
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#90 of 148 in Seminyak
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Karisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Karisa

Address: Drupadi Street no. 100X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#65 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $27 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Karisa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHARM,CHARM CHARM. Newly renovated in March of 2016! Dubbed the most charming boutique hotel in Seminyak by a lot of our guests, The Villa Karisa Boutique Hotel( 10 to 14 bedroom complex) makes every guest feel like they have their own private residence in Bali, while enjoying the services and amenities of a hotel. The decor is a fusion between minimalist clean tropical lines & Antique Javanese beauty including a museum quality Limasan, beautiful antiques, custom made comfortable and visually stunning furniture as well as original whimsical handicrafts made specially for the hotel. ABOUT THE PROPERTY Comprised of lush tropical and fresh gardens and sexy pool, the grounds are sprinkled with various charmingly decorated outdoor and indoor lounging areas where you can chill out or play with your loved ones. Around the clock our lovely caring staff can make you at home with reading materials, plenty of towels, fresh healthy snacks made to order and fresh juices and smoothies 24h a day. Everyone will tell you this: Location is everything In Bali!!!! The Villa KARISA Boutique Hotel,10 to 14 bedroom private villa complex is proud of being situated in the HEART of Seminyak, the upscale and most coveted part of Bali! Within walking distance of favorite Hotspots, lively restaurants, fun bars, all the trendy shops, and best local artisans and handicrafts, yet, when you turn the corner of a charming quiet side street, you will discover Karisa, a sprawling 25 000 square feet property of unparalleled seclusion and privacy. Quiet Exclusive Paradise, hidden right in the heart of it all! (And let's not forget that we boast close proximity to the lovely Seminyak beach and all the great surfing the Indian Ocean has to offer). We offer a fantastic layout for those who are looking to rent the facility for weddings, bachelor parties,yoga retreats,birthdays,detox week ends or corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Karisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Karisa Hotel Seminyak
Villa Karisa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing