We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
148
78
32
12
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
78
32
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshiva roomloved the french toastbalinese touchescrazy seminyakgreat spot in seminyakbeautiful oasislounging by the poolboutique hotellovely poolwalking distancedeluxe roomamerican breakfastshort walk to the beachreception areatucked awayaway from the hustle and bustlequiet location
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 282 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Villa Saffria with another family and were quite disappointed with the Villa and also service of the staff. We were also quite surprised as apparently the Villa used to be the owners residence.

When you enter the Villa the gate it is quiet narrow and extremely close to the pool. We were travelling with 2 young babies and a toddler which made it quite dangerous when trying to get in & out of the area. It was also not undercover so quite slippery after the rain.

The living area of the Villa and the kitchen are quite nice and spacious and the pool was nice as well. We were surprised that the bathrooms were a little run down and not very clean. We had to take our poor 6 month old son to the doctors when we got home as he picked up a fungus from the bath and shower area.

The staff also forgot about the airport transfers for the other family we were travelling, even though we had confirmed and organised the return airport transfers at least a month before our visit. When we re-confirmed the transfer times the day before we were leaving, they said that they had booked the car for the whole day to someone else. Fortunately we had been using a couple of taxi drivers during our visit who were able to help out.

The breakfast and coffee weren't the best quality and were quite basic. We also went to order room service for dinner one night and they were out of almost everything. They also got 2 of the meals wrong even though we had written it down for the barman/cook.

On the up side the other hotel rooms looked quite nice as you walked by and the staff also allowed us to shower and change in a vacant room before our airport transfer.

Overall we were very disappointed with the accommodation, especially for the cost per night. If the accommodation was cheaper then the service and quality would be about on par for a 3-star.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Villa Saffria. There are better Villa's in Bali to stay in for the same cost!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balidiva, Owner at Villa Karisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear valued Customer
We thank you for your review as it help's us improve the service to your fellow travelers.
It is important for me to check the accuracy of the complains.
In your case I had to do some research as your name is not displayed for security reason, and I found the follow discrepancies.I believe your transfers from the airport were arranged by your booking agent and not us.
Villa Saffira has 2 entrances, the main one leads from the street to the house and living area.
there is another one that the staff uses from karisa and that one is next to the pool which is the one you refer too, as you mention it it seems that all guest have no other option than to come thru that door which is innacurate.
As far as the guest bathroom ,the peebles are a bit warned out ,it is true and we are waiting for the season to be over to redo the cement around it.
I looked closely and there is no fungus or any mold so to say that your 6 month toddle got sick is a bit unfair as I imagine that at some point you left Saffira's premises to go to the beach or to eat,toddlers are always touching every thing and putting everything in their mouth,so blaming us is just not right as Bali is a big place and a third country island when it comes to hygiene and infrastructure.
We try to improve our place all the time and again we value your comment.
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is enourmously charming! Very spacious and nice decorated rooms. It was the end of our holiday in Bali and Lombok and we were very happy to spend it at the villa.
The food is very lovely, although it takes a while, but what else is new in Bali :-)
This place knows what hospitality means, wish we should have stayed longer!
Melanie and tijmen

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meldewittemoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balidiva, Owner at Villa Karisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear value Customer
We thank you for your kind review.We strive to make this place better every day to serve you better the next time around.
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Villa Karisa has an excellent proximity to both the beach and Seminyak shopping areas. It is a short 10 minute walk to both and yet is far enough away to get some peace and quiet!
The property is beautifully decorated by the owner Isobel who has an excellent eye for interior design. The decor is modern and sophisticated yet with a quirky Balinese touches that set it apart from other mainstream accommodations. The staff were very agreeable, the food was good - compared to other places we stayed this was really great value for money.

In addition we can't thank Villa Karisa enough for moving us to their second property Villa Casa Bianca when Karisa became fully booked. What a treat! We had to extend our time in Seminyak because Casa Bianca was just so beautiful.

I would recommend both accommodations unreservedly.

Thank you Isobel and all at Villa Karisa,

Amy and Gail (mother and daughter).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyHawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The receptionist at Villa Karisa was lovely and very helpful. She would get 5 stars! Unfortunately I dont think the other support staff were doing their job. The first afternoon once we checked in - they did not provide clean towells or handsoap. There are no phones in the room. When we asked for these items it took a couple of hours to provide the soap. The second afternoon, they left the entire set of master keys in our front door! In the evening they also did not shut the door properly so our villa was not secure. There is also no security guard out the front like the other places.
In the common area, the toilet area and hand basin was not kept clean. The staff were often lounging around chatting and laughing, which was annoying as there was plenty of work for them to do which they went doing!

Room Tip: Do not choose a basic room. No fridge. Small rooms. Very little privacy. Bring earplugs!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balidiva, Owner at Villa Karisa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Value customer
We appreciate your comments ,Wer are sorry about the keys.
I already told the staff about the guest bathroom and we are making an effort to have it checked and cleaned 3 times a day.
We do not have phones in the room by choice.We are not that type of establishment as we try to keep the old Bali alive.
It is true that some time the staff is loud and noisy, it is part of the Balinese culture as they are smiley, loving, very curious and funny people.
We try to manage the western culture with the asian culture the best we can and try to train them the best we can.
We value your comments.
Again thank you.

Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Whilst nothing is really wrong with Villa Karisa, there's nothing to really write home about, either. It's quite charming, in a rustic way, and pleasant to come back to, however, amenities were very basic. For $90 odd per night, I would expect a little more - the 'free' breakfast consisted of 2 eggs and fruit, no complimentary bottles of water in the rooms (although I did discover a water dispenser in the kitchen), chipped tableware, noise from a nearby nightclub and dogs barking which woke me up around 2.30am every morning (Now, I know that is not the fault of villa Karisa but I have stayed in other places in Seminyak where that did not happen - it all adds to the experience). So, would I stay there again? Certainly not for $90 per night - and this was supposed to be with a significant discount.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solotraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews