We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveler rating
526
170
46
9
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
170
46
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open style private pool cooking class main pool mozzie coils open plan in house legian beach every morning pool bar short walk to the beach the hustle and bustle home away from home outdoor bathroom late at night tucked away lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 769 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2018

We stayed at Villa Coco for six nights over New Year. Staying in their four bedroom (4 BR) villa was ideal for us with three generations of the family traveling together. The villa which was cleaned regularly had four good size bedrooms each with a four-poster double bed (complete with mosquito net), ample storage/cupboard space and an en-suite bathroom. All sleeping accommodations are upstairs, whilst there is a large open-air living space downstairs, comprising large open-plan living room (sofas, coffee table and large ~55" TV), 10-seater dining table and chairs, pool table (7' x 3.5'), sunken pool-side bar (with fridge) and full, well stocked kitchen. All over-looks a large private swimming pool and lounger deck with separate covered pool-side area. Transfers to/from the airport were easy to organise and relatively inexpensive, with ample space for eight people (and luggage), if required. Check-in was easy and the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. Reception can organise day trips (including sightseeing, surf school, fishing, mountain biking, etc.), transfers using the same mini-bus to local attractions (for a small cost, generally cheaper and more convenient than local taxis) and point you in the direction of good local restaurants within walking distance (including French, Italian, Greek and many Asian varieties). We quickly appreciated this, because around New Year the traffic in Kuta/Legian/Seminyak is chaos in the late afternoon/evening meaning the only viable means of convenient transport is by foot. This became quite frustrating, meaning we rarely entertained traveling further afield and really the only reason (i.e. location) I can't give Villa Coco a five-star review. However, with that said, if you plan to sit on the beach, surf, drink, eat and generally relax, then this place is ideally located. There are quite a lot of mosquitoes, but each evening the Villa's turn-down service includes the set-up of your mosquito nets, the lighting of mosquito repellent coils and turning on the ceiling fans, which keep the majority of bugs at bay. There are also lots of geckos around, which are harmless to us (so no need to freak out), but help keep the mosquito population in check. Bite cream is recommended, nevertheless. Villa Coco is well located in Seminyak, only a five minute walk to the beach, and offers ideal accommodation for many different occasions and group dynamics (4 BR Villa: four couples, two families sharing, three-generation families, etc.). Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: For two families of four, go for the 4 BR Villa, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire Q, General Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you Simon for your review and it is a very thorough one and this will help future guests very much.

Thank you for all the kind words and we hope to see you back at Villa Coco again someday.

Kind regards

Villa Coco Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Stayed in a 2 bedroom "open style" villa with private pool over the New Year's period. Cost was around 1000 SGD. Rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and aircon worked well (just let it run a bit when you first arrive as it would have been turned off). The concept is open so bathroom - shower and toilet are outside..it's a little disconcerting at first if you aren't used to it. It was very clean and never found any critters lurking to attack from the trees in the shower ;) This means the kitchen and lounge area are also open concept so pack mosquito spray as they are large and in charge - seriously pretty intense mozzie attacks due to the open nature of the villa. There are coils provided by the hotel, but they don't do a lot of good to be honest.

There is a mini bar that is actually reasonably priced and well stocked as well as a bar on site at the public pool with happy hour from 4-6pm.

Breakfast was provided with a selection to choose from - western and indonesian. I personally enjoyed the breakfast smoothie bowl - really great!!! Though recommend the nasi goreng for any hangovers (and it's not very spicy so all can enjoy).
The hotel also offers in villa massage - we did not use this as opted to go out instead.

The hotel is down a laneway which I am not sure I would want to walk down alone at night. We did experience a flash flood which did not affect the hotel lane way but the street it turns off of was up to shins in water - which was a bit nasty to walk through so just be mindful. Quick walk to surrounding shopping area which offers everything one would expect in Seminyak. There is a "private beach" entrance, but this does not mean the beach is right after the door - there is still a good 10-15 min walk to Double Six Beach.

The only negative for me was I was with mates and their flight left much earlier than mine, so they turned their key in and left around 0830. As checkout was not until noon, I opted to enjoy the sun and privacy of the pool in the villa. The front desk called asking about my checkout time as they had other guests who wanted to check in early - not really cool as quite frankly, the response to those guests should be we will see what time the other group checks out if we can accommodate -not calling me asking when I can leave.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire Q, General Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Hello Alena K,

Thank you for taking the time to review and we are so happy you loved our smoothie bowls. I am so sorry about the checkout and I have looked into this and I think there may have been a little misunderstanding. Wayan our front office girl is the nicest and most polite Balinese girl and she just said to me that she asked you what time you wanted to check out and you said 12, she also offered you another Villa if you wanted longer but we did need your villa as we had a request for it but we would never have asked you to leave earlier. This is Hotel standard checkout time. Also our laneway is well lit and very safe. We have locals living here and if any guests find it a problem they can always ask for our staff to escort them at any time, we are always happy to help our guests.
Once again thank you for you excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again one day we hope.

Regards from us all at Villa Coco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely and chilled. Will need a taxi to get back and fore to eat street the main hub of activity for Seminyak costs about 20,000 ( just over £1). Can walk to the beach from here but we were really disappointed to find so much rubbish that gets swept in from the sea each night. Makes you feel ashamed that people are so careless! Have to mention the free massage we had whilst here. You’re given a free half hour massage and it was without a doubt the best massage we’ve both had in years. If you stay here make sure you have a massage she knew straight away where the knots were AMAZING!!! definitely worth staying here if you want a chilled peaceful retreat.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pricey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire Q, General Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

So pleased you loved our massage and Endah is very good and well trained. Unfortunately the beach is like this every January and February with the onshore winds and tropical rains, and yes it is very dissapointing to see, it makes us sad as well.. However you can travel to the other side to Sanur or Nusa Dua just 40 mins away and the beach is clean and wonderful, if a beach day is on your list. Our beach is perfect from March onwards and its also a fun beach.
Thank you for your kind words and we hope you come back again after the wet season and enjoy Villa Coco.

Kind regards
Villa Coco Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights after reading reviews on TA. Place is a little difficult to find so worth taking a screenshot of address to show taxi. First impression the villas are traditional and good looking.

Each villa is behind its own walled area with garden downstairs outside sitting area, outside shower area and kitchen area. There is a hammock to laze in which was good. The bedrooms were upstairs and again I would use traditional. Maybe this is where it did not suit us. The floor was rather uneven and the small toilet and sink in there. There were a few holes in the roof that you could see light through, and these proved to let in water as we found out on our second night after a huge downpour.

The real let down and put off for us were the amount of bites we got in the night. After having sprayed the room and used nets around the bed we both woke up to about 20 bites each!! I understand that this may just be time of year and with all the rain but it was just uncomfortable after that so we decided to move on.

We pretty much had the pool area to ourselves on both days.

We had a trial massage which I must say was the best massage we both have ever had. Indah her name was and if you get a chance book in she was special. We tried to book in for the morning we were leaving but it was her day off.

Overall a good traditional looking place with good staff just hope that future guest don’t get bitten like we did.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
4  Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire Q, General Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time and we are pleased you enjoyed your massage. We will attend to the roof and cover up any small gaps and then this problem will be solved. So sorry about this. These roofs are traditional alang alang and this can happen. It is such a shame when the weather is bad and this does bring in the mozzies. We offer really good insect repellant for guests to use and we also offer spray. I hope you are feeling better now.
thanks for staying with us.
Villa Coco staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

We visited Seminyak for 4 nights in November. We had stayed at Villa Coco before (many years ago) in the large 4 bed villa and loved it there so thought we would try it again. We stayed in a one bed garden villa which is open plan and a bedroom upstairs. I have to say the weather was appalling in Seminyak during our stay, it rained continually and very bad storms. We loved our stay, few minor hiccups for us personally such as the huge construction site next to the pool area was so noisy but on informing reception Claire made it clear that she has a good relationship with the construction people and can ask for them to stop if need be. Our last night there rained very heavily, I got eaten alive by mozzies (that's Seminyak for you) and we had something in our bedroom, not sure if it was a mouse/rat or a gecko but it was on our bed with us in the middle of the night LOL, the minute we put the light on it ran so quickly we couldn't make out what it was....once again, that's Bali for you and when you have a rattan roof, you have to expect unusual, uninvited guests in your accommodation. Hasn't put us off at all. The staff are wonderful and very accommodating and the breakfast smoothie bowls are to die for. Since returning to Perth I have attempted many times to copy the recipe.....it just doesn't taste as good! We would return for sure. Handy location close to good restaurants and shops. Bali needs its tourists desperately at the moment, so please don't change your plans, go to Bali and relax and have a wonderful time. We were there for 2 weeks during the Mt Agung eruptions....didn't see anything unusual, didn't feel any tremors, there was nothing different except the airport closed for a few days, but as a result it has become very quiet. Show your support and stick to your plans and head to Bali for your Christmas holidays, you wont be disappointed. We cant wait to return again :-)

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiemoo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire Q, Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Hello and thank you for coming and staying. Glad you loved our smoothie bowls and next time you come we can show you how to make them.
Please tell all your friends about us and we look forward to having you back.

Villa Coco Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews