We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Coco
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Despite the other good reviews of Villa Coco, I was skeptical because it seemed so affordable compared to other hotels in Bali. From the moment my husband and I arrived to the moment we left, we were in pure bliss! Our one-bedroom garden villa was well-equipped, peaceful and the property is well located. In 10 minutes, you can walk to the beach or to nearby shops and restaurants or take a very quick and cheap cab ride to other attractions further north. On our last day, we simply lounged at the pool and enjoyed some cocktails and food...both of which were very good. The receptionist was always helpful is giving us directions and arranging for taxis, and each room comes with a binder with all sorts of great recommendations. When we return to Bali, we will definitely be returning to Villa Coco!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear5750, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Really pleased to read a review like this and it is good to think we are still good value.

Thank you so much and also nice to hear you like your garden bungalow....they are true Balinese and as I have said before there are not many of these left in Bali.

We look forward to seeing you again someday and sharing a cocktail or two!!

Villa Coco Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    133
    33
    7
    16
See reviews for
174
206
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

These villas are completely private and very tastefully thought out. The staff are friendly and on the ball but not in your face. We had a late check out and although having to vacate the villa we were in we were offered another top of the range villa to use until it was time to depart for the airport, which had it's own private swimming pool. Villa Coco is situated within ten minutes of the beach, restaurants and shops but is just far enough away from the hustle, bustle and noise and extremely peaceful. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your time and writing a review. So happy to hear you were happy.

Villa Coco Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My mum, dad and I stayed in a garden bungalow villa for 18 days.. On my second day I went on a tour and got badly bitten by misquitoes, I showed the manager Claire and she offered to take me on her scooter up to the medical centre ( was so fun) I got some cream Which made it better.. Thanks Claire she is so nice.
I especially loved their ice tea at the pool bar they are the best!!
Loved staying at villa coco I was sad that I had to leave :(
Such a beautiful place and so friendly staff.. On our last day we got to spend it in a pool villa because we needed a late check out I spent neally the whole day in the pool.
Thanks villa coco for making my holiday one to remember :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiara_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you Kiara for taking the time and it is great having a review from a young guest.
You are a nice person too and I was happy to help you and I hope we meet again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our families second time at Villa Coco and it did not dissapoint, it exceeded expectation!
Our four bedroo private villa was spaceous, modern and excepptionally clean.
It was a beautiful property with lush plants and an amazing pool.
The best cocktails were delivered and drunk around our private pool.
Breakfast was included every morning at our desired time.
They had a range of choices like Nasi Goreng, pancakes, fruit, museli, grainy toast, danishes and eggs anyway.
The staff were some of the most beautiful people and ALWAYS greeted with a cheery morrrnninnggg or eveenningggg. They also offered to personally transport our family to explore Dempasar.
It felt like a world away from the craziness of Bali but it was within easy walking distance to the beach. It was a 15-20 minutes walk to the heart of Seminyak or a 30min walk to Kuta. - or a $2 cab ride each way!

I'd never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judgmental_teenager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Lovely that we pleased you once again and we will see you next holiday. Thanks for the good comments re food and cocktails....love to hear good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from 9 nights at Villa Coco with our 3 children (17, 14, and 9). What an amazing place - we arrived 9.30 pm and to see the villa's driver at the airport was such a welcome sight. Check-in was too easy, the cold welcome juice delicous, and the staff very friendly and helpful. For my kids, the star was the villa itself - A8 - 2 bedroom open style - what can I say, we loved everything about it from the way it was decorated, furnished, looked after to the open style, the bathrooms were perfect - partially outdoors and the beds very comfortable. We had only seen the airport and the villa and my kids were already asking if we could come back again next year! We ALL fell in love the place. The whole complex had a relaxed ambience and feel of isolation and yet being only a 10 min walk to the beach or 5 mins to shops. The villa exceeded our expections and we were so glad that we stayed there for the whole 9 days. The villa was located down a well lit lane and we always felt safe. Every time we arrived back to the villa it was like walking into a little oasis - the grounds and garden are very picturesque. We had an unfortunate experience with a money exchange place and Clair went above and beyond to help us and managed to get the money back, we can't thank you enough for that Claire! As with previous reviews, the food on offer from room service was very reasonably priced and delicious and we never had a dud meal. The staff were always so friendly and helpful. Claire recommended to us Jadi's Cafe - OMG, the food was the best and cheapest we had in all of Bali - we ate there 5 nights - tip - preorder your meal at least 1 1/2 hours before you arrive at resturant, your food will be ready soon after or if not fussed about waiting at least an hour, the setting is gorgeous and you can enjoy a beer or 2 while you wait. Claire also recommended Surya Cafe at Jimbaran on the beach - seafood was fantastic as was the price. I can't write a review without mentioning Inda who gave my older 2 children their first massage/body scrub and my massages - amazing - thank you. All in all, thanks to Clair and her dedicated staff, our holiday exceeded our expections - thank you Villa Coco!

Room Tip: A8 was next to main pool and bar - very handy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bondimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Public Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It was a shame you got caught by a naughty money changer but it all turned out in the end. We have put in the guest information not to go to these guys and have recommended a couple of good ones...anyway first timers sometimes forget.

It was a pleasure to be able to help and I look forward to seeing you again one day.

The Villa Coco staff loved you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just come home from a 10 day stay at Villa Coco with our girls (6 & 12). We had a great time and a very enjoyable & relaxing stay. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and work hard to ensure you enjoy your stay. It was great having a late check out with our late flight.

Villa Coco is tucked away off Double Six in Seminyak in a quite lane way (Gang) away from the busy main road. We stayed in the two bedroom closed villa with pool and this was perfect with the kids. It was nice for a late night or early morning swim. We also wandered out to the main pool for Happy Hour and some socialising. The Villa and garden was imaculately cleaned and maintained, our beds were turned down each night and the Villa was sprayed for mossies and cleaned daily. Its only a short walk to lots of shopping and about a 10 minute walk to the beach (if only there was back exit). Thank you for a wonderful time Villa Coco and thank you to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom closed villa with Pool - (C4) was great with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Public Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
So happy you had a nice stay and we look forward to having you back again one day. Thank you for all the nice comments and I will show the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

_Overview
This was my second stay this year - first time was in a closed style duplex bungalow (without pool) and second time in a 2 BR pool villa. The price we paid for the 2 BR pool villa was USD300 booked via agoda - very reasonable for 4 pax. All bungalows and villas are very spacious and pretty much like the pics in their website.

_Villas
The bungalows are more traditional (with thatched roof and four-poster mosquito net beds), whereas the pool villas have a more modern feel (but still Balinese style with lots of wood and rattan). I liked them both. The living area in the 2 BR villa is really generous (I think you could comfortably hold a party there for 20 pax!).

The spacious bathrooms are all semi-outdoor style i.e. open at the top of the walls to let in a bit of sunlight and air, but sheltered so you wouldn't get wet even when it rains. Of course you would naturally get some mosquitoes around dusk so it is best to avoid showering at that time. Shower pressure would be considered medium. There was no real catchment area for the shower water in the second bedroom so the water tends to cover the whole toilet floor, but the first bedroom was ok.

Overall I felt that there were more mosquitoes in the bungalow (C11) than the pool villa (A6), however I cannot say if this was due seasonal factors, location of the unit (C11 was much deeper in than A6), or overall design (bungalows have more plants/greenery)

_Facilities
Private pool in the 2 BR villa was small (about 5M in length and 1M deep), but there is a small common pool which is about 10M long. Free wifi is only in the area around the common pool. Turndown service is provided every evening around 5pm where the staff would spray the rooms and leave a chocolate on your bed.

Bali is not a walk-friendly place (due to the nearly non-existent sidewalks and the humidity) so it is best that you get your own wheels. The hotel can arrange motorbike or car rental for you - motorbike rental is at street prices but car rental is a little more expensive than what you could get outside so you might want to shop around if you're into saving a couple of dollars.

_Location
Villa Coco is 5-7min walk from the beach (past construction sites on very narrow and sometimes non-existent sidewalks as is common for bali). As it is located in Legian and not Seminyak proper, you would need to hire a driver or rent your own motorbike to get to the "usual suspects" in Seminyak such as Ultimo or Potato Head or KDT (10-15min by car or 5-7min by motorbike). Of course, if you're not too fussed about going for the "popular" eateries, there are lots of small warungs and restaurants within walking distance along Jl. Arjuna (double-six) where the villa is or on the main street (Jl. Legian).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco1244, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Coco, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your time to write a review. Just to let you know for future stays, we do have FREE Wi-fi in every Villa at Villa Coco, not sure why you only thought it was at the main pool area.

All the footpaths around the Seminyak area are being done as I am writing this and when they are finished it will be so much easier for people to get around. They have been done in Kuta and they are great.

Our location is Seminyak and Potato Head is not in Seminyak I am sorry, it is further down in Pettitenget.

We would love to have bigger pools in the pool villas in A Block but room just does not allow.

I hope you come back again...C2 is a great pool villa and the pool is bigger or C4 has a bigger pool. so keep this for next time.

Hope to meet you again at Villa Coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#20 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#17 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.5 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Coco

Property: Villa Coco
Address: Jalan Double Six, Gang Villa Coco, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pool villa and garden bungalow accommodation is where each room is a private villa offering hotel service within your own Balinese home away from home.We are in a great location, Seminyak, right on Double Six. Close to shops, shops and more shops. Also very close by is a safe patrolled surfing beach, beach side restaurants and nightlife. The famous Legian beach is just 10 minutes walk and you will be sun-baking and having fun in no time at all.If you are looking for affordable villa accommodation, then try our garden bungalows for the best rates, we are close to everything and with very friendly and helpful staff.Apart from these one and two bedroom private open living style garden bungalows we also have one and two bedroom pool villas which make Villa Coco a great option in very lovely surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Coco Hotel Seminyak
Villa Coco Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing