We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate and sad experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Kubu Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Kubu Seminyak
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unfortunate and sad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I truly love Bali and everything Balinese and the only thing reassuring about this experience is that this place is not owned or run by the locals...I stayed in Villa Zero in October and the villa does not look anything like the pictures, everything was rundown and dirty, with nasty stains on the floor, that couldn't be removed (I asked). The furniture was worn and felt dirty... The breakfast was horrible, cheap ingredients and just plain bad...The service was spotty, and the general cleanliness was dubious...I have heard from local expats living in the region that this place has been around for quite sometimes and that is clearly obvious. If they are to stay in business and compete with the new modern villas popping up in Bali, they need to seriously remodel the villas and upgrade their services. I had a rather unfortunate incident of several iPads and iPhones being stolen from the villa and unfortunately this was never resolved, I was told take this up with my insurance. On a positive note, I must say that the Balinese staff all did their best giving the circumstances, they were always polite and as helpful as they could be...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Shevanne

As you know we are still working on resolving your lost affects. It is a rather difficult situation in that there was no evidence of a break-in, our CCTV security cameras show no evidence of anyone entering your villa and the police involved could not shed any light on any theft having taken place. None of your belongings were placed in the security boxes that we provide in all our villas, and these had not been tampered with. As far as we are concerned, this is still to be resolved and we are working with our insurance company to find a resolution.

We did agree with you that Villa Zero needed work and since your stay have replaced the roof and have made a huge effort to bring it up to standard.

In addition, we have hired a great F & B consultant to enhance the dining experience within Villa Kubu, to make sure that our breakfasts and all other dining events within our villas are superb.

All the best from Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    71
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
126
223
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

So many great villas around Seminyak which are so much cheaper and so much better value for money! Space villas just down the road from motel mexicola, seminyak square and potato head is amazing!check it out! Soo much better then this place. We stayed at villas who gave us free late check out, free unforgettable dining experience and service whilst Villa Kubu wanted to charge us for absolutely everything. The pictures make it look a lot better then it is. We were a little disappointed when we walked in and saw how cramped it was compared to the pictures. Don't get me wrong it is still amazing but villa Rumah Batu (another place we stayed at on our trip) is huge and half the price and the service is so much better.
Feel this place as leaked into being commercial and lost it's touch.
Good things about it are the bathrooms and walking distance to shops but compared to other places we stayed at for half the price it's got nothing on them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Chloe

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all comments so that we can constantly improve our service and where possible, our villas and all their facilities. We are a little mystified in your case since your group loved the villa when you checked-in and gave us an excellent score card when you checked-out. Sadly you contacted your villa agent about late check-out rather than directly with us at Villa Kubu, as agents have strict rules that they apply. We, on the other hand, want to give our guests the best stay experience possible and will do everything to ensure that our guests have an amazing time.

We offer our guests upon arrival 1 x return airport transfers by private vehicle, welcome drink and cold towels, flower arrangements in the villa, daily breakfast, fruit basket, complimentary unlimited wireless internet connection, daily chocolate/cookies turn down service and during our guests stay a free shuttle service to Seminyak shops and the beach, free bicycles and we are constantly looking for other ways to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Best regards
Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wonderful luxurious accommodation and gardens. Helpful and friendly staff. Great food. We had 11 in our family group aged ranges from 8-79 yrs and there was fun for all. Kids loved the pool table, media room swimming pool and ping pong table. Convenient location close to beach, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear DM

Thank you very much for your kind review, we very much enjoyed hosting your family, and hope you all returned home safe & sound.
Regards from all of us at LataLiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Currently here in villa 0. And whilst nice, at the price a few issues that don't seem to translate with staff;
Towels are not being replaced daily, which I would expect.
"Breakfast cooked in your Villa" - what a crock, breakfast is cooked elsewhere (eggs, bacon sausage, etc) and "prepared" with a staff member setting the table and coking the toast.
Door to downstairs shower is simply gone..... The stairs to the upstairs suite are simply treacherous... When we leave the flag out to clean the villa, the bear necessities are done.
And, the wait for housekeeping is also not acceptable at this level..
I travel a hell of a lot and. Can say I am somewhat disappointed with where I am.
Have been offered villa 6 at a premium.....let's see.
Oh, and the. Shampoo disperser fell off the shelf I the shower this morning and they wants charge USD$25 to replace...that won't be happening.

And as i am still here, I would have expected that when I asked to speaker the. Manager/Owner it may have happened..... But again the silence is deafening.....

Will update after I check out

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSSreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear BSS

Thank you very much for your review and letting us know that your stay at this villa was not up to par - this is not the standard we wish to set, and we are mortified that it went so wrong. We have instituted changes since your stay to make sure that this level of service does not happen again ... your happiness is crucial to our guest experience and we sincerely apologise for not making your stay amazing.
Yours sincerely
Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie - Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Kubu villas has great potential but just doesn't seem to pull it off. The villas I feel look great in pictures and are lovely but the attention to detail compared to other villas in the same price range is lacking. Maybe they are just starting to show there age but you leave having a good time but feel it could have been better. Is located in an alight location but for us was just a little to far to want to walk everywhere so most times we used a taxi to get into the centre of Seminyak. The staff are friendly but seem to have issues at time comprehending what is required. All in all a nice villa complex but think better can be found for the price range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Codes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Codes

Thank you so much for your review. I note that you stayed with us in February 2013 and since then we have been working hard to improve our villas and our our guests experience - we never stop the training and looking to enhance our accommodation to be the best its possible to be.

Best regards from all of us at Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our group of 5 adults and 2 teenagers stayed from 18 - 28 Dec 2013 .

The 5 bedroom villa is a great family environment with an amazing pool, it was better than the photos convey. All the staff are unobtrusive yet attentive, a special thank you to Wayan who made our stay all the more enjoyable. The chefs provide great food and will create special menus on request. We would go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear TheGsLondon

We very much appreciate your review and look forward to hopefully be able to entertain you again in the future.

All the best from all of us at Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The pictures do not do Villa Kubu justice! This place is amazing, and the staff are truly the nicest people you will ever meet... My partner and I visited Villa Kubu in November for one week and we were not disappointed! From the moment we made the booking, the staff at Villa Kubu have been a pleasure to deal with it! We stayed in Villa11, in which we had complete privacy during our entire stay! This villa is perfect couples, with an outdoor jacuzzi in your bathroom, and a beautiful pool with daybeds, this place had everything to set the mood! Along with having breakfast cooked fresh daily in your villa, this places resembles utter paradise! Again, I cannot mention enough, how great the staff were, and no request was too much for them! I honestly can't wait to go back to Villa Kubu & Bali!!

Room Tip: Villa 11 is beautiful for couples!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Eamon07

Thank you very much for your amazing review and look forward to hopefully be able to entertain you again in the future.

Best regards from all of at Villa Kubu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kubu Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kubu Seminyak

Property: Villa Kubu Seminyak
Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak Gang Plawa no. 33F, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kubu Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kubu is a stunning estate right in the centre of Bali's hip Seminyak, combining the privacy and luxury of one, two and three bedroom private pool villas, with the convenience of full hotel services, including Spa Venus, The Oasis Restaurant & Bar and our renowned Kubu concierge, who start tailoring your Bali holiday experience from the moment you book. A brand new website now allows individual villas to be browsed and booked, showing specials, new image galleries, floor plans and even Virtual Reality walk-throughs for each property. Honeymooners and couples love the tropical romance of our one-bedroom villas, while two-bedroom and three-bedroom villas provide ample space for families and larger groups. The estate is just minutes from Seminyak's very best stretch of beach, swept pristinely clean each morning and home to the renowned KuDeTa & Cocoon Beach Clubs, and within walking distance to some of Bali's most fashionable restaurants, bars and boutiques. Owned and managed by Australian designer, Dee Mytton, together with her 106 Balinese staff, these beautifully-appointed villas blend traditional Bali design with contemporary elegance, each with a large private swimming pool set in vibrant, tropical gardens. Each of the spacious and elegant villas also offer kitchens and maxi-bars, air-conditioned rooms, complimentary high speed wifi, made-to-order breakfast, full room service, free airport transfers, complimentary shuttle, 24-hour concierge and security, plus in-house spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Kubu Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kubu - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Villa Kubu Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing