We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis away from the hustle bustle!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Kubu Seminyak
Ranked #8 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The next time I go to Bali, Im going to allow more time to spend around the pool with a good book ! The moment you enter through the high walled gates, you know your in for a treat. The gardens are beautiful, the private pool crystal clear, the outdoor living room well equiped with ipod and lounging cushions, and the airconditioned bedrooms with crisp white sheets and a sarong ready to step into. We loved awaking every morning to our al la carte breakfast cooked and ready to go. Although there are cheaper spas close by, we enjoyed the convenience of having a massage a few steps away. All the staff were friendly and couldnt do enough for you, but I found that of all the Balinese people - just gorgeous!
Villa Kubu, was located just far enough away from the shops to escape the noise and only a $A2 - $A3 taxi fare to the beach and restaurant strip. We hired an excellent English speaking driver for about $A30 a day to take us to places like Ubud and Nusa Dua and cooking school as well as a few cultural experiences that he recommended. His name is Khan +62 81 338 444 506 nyoman_suciani@yahoo.com. His wife is Suci (pronounced Su shi) and she is a Tour organizer. She gave us lots of advice on places to dine and see, shopping and organiszed a tailor for us to visit at our villa.
Be prepared for unreliable wireless internet...it was really hit and miss. Be prepared for the 21% added tax on most things.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramjets5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Ramjets5
Thank you for your nice and detailed review. Sadly the internet in Bali is not as fast as we would like, but we try to have the best connection available for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards The Kubu Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Villa Kubu Seminyak
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 598 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is rare that one finds a hotel that not only beats one's expectation but almost makes one want never to leave it (ok, maybe casino hotels for those addicted to gambling might say the same). But that is how we felt about Kubu. The villa is perfect with private pool, great. Bedroom, private kitchen (with a chef to fix your breakfast!), places just to relax,etc. (one thing it does need is a sofa with a back on it inside the villa). The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. From being picked up at the airport to fixing breakfasts, bringing our dinner one night, recommending restaurants and getting taxis to the restaurant, or driving us on tours one could not ask for more. We specifically want to single out the driver/tour guide for most of our stay. He is a delightful, knowledgable person who not only tells about his island but engages you in a real exchange person to person. While the place was a bit expensive, it was worth it. Truly we wanted to stay longer there.

Room Tip: We would strongly recommend a true swimming pool, not a soaking one. Mew loved #7.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overset1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Overset1
Many thanks for your great review - all our villas are unique in design and style, so hopefully next time we can have you stay in a villa with a bigger pool.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We initially booked villa 4 trusting by the website photos, when we got there it was a complete disappointment as the villa needs a serious renovation, more over there was a construction site next door in addition to the construction work going on inside villa kubu itself, when we talked to the manager, she suggested that we move to villa 7 which is away from the noise and promised to stop the work inside villa kubu until we left.


When we moved to villa 7, it was another disappointment as it also needed a sever facelift. cracks on the wall, floor stains and smelly furniture was not what we exactly expected, the leaking water from the AC that kept dropping on the bed was the last straw.

After wasting over an hour watching the maintenance people fixing the AC we had another talk with the manager who was very sweet and understanding and the conversation resulted in moving to another villa, villa 999.

Villa 999 is not to be compared of any of the worn out villas that we were offered. Villa 999 is squeaky clean, new and very well maintained furniture with a nice big swimming pool.
The villa has 2 bedrooms, the master bedroom is very spacious with a nice dressing room area, bathroom, and outdoor shower. The other room is nice too.

The villa has its well equipped kitchen and a dinning room, in addition to a spacious outdoor living area equipped with fully loaded ipod and sound system. The fishpond adds an elegant touch to the place, also the sculptures and art works are amazing.

Breakfast which was freshly cooked in our kitchen and served in the dining room was a nice jump start before we hit the beach(fruit platter, juice, omelet, sausage, coffee).

Villa kubu is located within a walking distance from one of the main streets in Seminyak where you can find nice dinning places and shops. However, it needs a taxi to go to the main beach hangout area where the nice beach clubs are located. Blue Bird Taxi is available around the touristic areas only and they go by meter, from villa kubu to potato head we paid around 15,000 Rupiah which less than $2. It might be a great idea to keep the blue bird taxi number with you (0361) 701111, in case if you get stuck anywhere.

Spa: we tried a standard Balinese massage, it was nice, nothing special.
Shuttle bus: we rented the shuttle for our next hotel which was 45 min away from ubud, the rate was around $35 which is slightly higher than the regular taxi however it was convenient.
Overall, I highly recommend villa 999.

Room Tip: villa 999 is very nice. do not go for villa 4 or 7.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shera111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Shera

Thank you very much for the review and we are very happy that you enjoyed Villa 999. Unfortunately there are sometimes renovation works inside and outside our property, so we will immediately move guests should there be any noise that disturb our guests - your peace and tranquility is very important to us. Thank you for the reminders of villas 4 and 7 which we will correct as soon as possible.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in here in my Friend's Rented Villa overnight after my "Backpacker Style" adventure from Lombok and Candidasa before went back to Hong Kong. And this place really great!

This beautiful place are really had almost everything. It's also had an awesome Cafe and Spa. This place really "imprisoned" me with it's charm. Their staffs are also wonderful. Well, not all of them speaks good English, but believe me, they are really wants to help me in every ways possible.

We can't expect everything 100% perfect. Believe me, whenever we try to do so, we will always founds imperfection everywhere and eventually, we'll wasted our Holiday with anger and ugly feeling because our own ugly behavior instead of enjoying the holiday itself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 399andrewc399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Andrew

Thank you for your review. We llok forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed in villa 15,next to reception,whch at first i thought would be anoying,but our stay was amazing.The villa was well maintained,had all we needed,and very quiet.The staff were very efficient ,friendly and helpfull.we are planning a trip next year with 10 friends and hope to try their large 7 room villa,looks amazing.If i had any complaint it would be the cocktails sent to our room were very bad,in apperance and taste,but was no big deal as there are plenty of bars etc close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear David

Thank you very much for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. In light of your comments we have initiated new training for our cocktail mixologists and the drinks presentation.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there with my wife for 3 nights in Villa 999. The whole stay is to be classified as amazing.

Villa:
The villa is very spacious and clean very well maintained. At the entrance you'll find a big fish pond full of variety of nice colored fish and stone walk through. Then separate dinning room connected to the kitchen and this is where you'll have your tasty breakfast made upon your request in your room.
There is a bedroom besides the dinning room (for us it was an extra room) with a nice dressing room and outdoor shower and toilet.
In the middle of the long corridor you'll pass through the spacious living area which I believe you can have a party of 20 to 30 ppl easily and comfortably. This area is equipped with Ipod station connected to high end "bose" speakers and "pioneer" sound system.
The pool is very big with massage jets and night lights. beside the pool there is a very nice gazebo. and pool deck has two pool beds.

The master bedroom is very big with a very high ceiling where you can feel that you are in a hall rather than a room. sleeping quality is perfect, feather pillows and cotton linens make your sleep very comfortable, to the extend that we once over slept till noon !!!!
Bathroom is very big with an AC and outdoor shower and bathtub.

Service:
The service is amazing, the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast made is extremely delicious. Mini bar is filled upon your preferences that you inform them with.
We didn't try other meals than breakfast as we were trying other Seminyak gourmet spots.

The villa provides you with free bicycles, however we didn't use them as Seminyak street is just 3 minutes walking distance.

Spa:
The spa is good and therapists are well trained and professionals. The therapy lists are wide with variable treatments.

We highly recommend staying in Villa Kubu and we will be there again.

Just one comment for the management that few other villas (mainly one bedroom villas) needs minor maintenance to walls, ACs,..etc. We noticed this as we get the opportunities to check some of the other villas.

I would like to thank Made who welcomed us in the reception and was of a help through out our stay and Astina the lovely driver who introduced us to many of Balinese traditions and customs as well as his free lessons in "Bahasa Indonesia"

Thank you Villa Kubu staff for the lovely stay.

Room Tip: Villa 999 is recommended for luxury stay
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Fattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Fattah

Thank you for your kind review. We are constantly trying to make our villas as perfect for our guests as possible and will make sure that all the AC's are working properly and corrects everything mentioned.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. Overall the Villa (12) was amazing, very clean, and we can tell that they have maintained the place really well. we love the little things in the villa such as iPod with lots of good music, there were also some books and well stocked mini bar. Kitchen and utensils are all very clean. Everything in the Villa was Perfect.

Just a few comments:
- The food portions were slightly on the small side (as commented previously by another visitor)
- We requested for the front desk person to help us call and find out if we could change the reservation just half and hour later, and she instantly said no, which to us was a bit surprising, as we have stayed in Bali before this, and the staff were usually very attentive and will at least show some initiative to help us at least to call to find out, instead of outright no for an answer. Also, it was our anniversary dinner, but they may have forgotten to mention to the restaurant, as the table which was booked was not the best seats and only when we arrived and mentioned to the restaurant they changed it for us.

Other than that, the Villa is amazing!!!
Thank you!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nurul128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villakubuseminyak, Front Office Manager at Villa Kubu Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Nurul

Thank you very much for the review. In light of your and our previous guest comments we have told our kitchens to give bigger servings. We apologize for the lack of help with your dining booking which hope through more staff training future guests will not have similar problems.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 147 in Seminyak
734 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 147 in Seminyak
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#4 of 147 in Seminyak
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 147 in Seminyak
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kubu Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kubu Seminyak

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak Gang Plawa no. 33F, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $237 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kubu Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kubu is a stunning estate right in the centre of Bali's hip Seminyak, combining the privacy and luxury of one, two and three bedroom private pool villas, with the convenience of full hotel services, including Spa Venus, The Oasis Restaurant & Bar and our renowned Kubu concierge, who start tailoring your Bali holiday experience from the moment you book. A brand new website now allows individual villas to be browsed and booked, showing specials, new image galleries, floor plans and even Virtual Reality walk-throughs for each property. Honeymooners and couples love the tropical romance of our one-bedroom villas, while two-bedroom and three-bedroom villas provide ample space for families and larger groups. The estate is just minutes from Seminyak's very best stretch of beach, swept pristinely clean each morning and home to the renowned KuDeTa & Cocoon Beach Clubs, and within walking distance to some of Bali's most fashionable restaurants, bars and boutiques. Owned and managed by Australian designer, Dee Mytton, together with her 106 Balinese staff, these beautifully-appointed villas blend traditional Bali design with contemporary elegance, each with a large private swimming pool set in vibrant, tropical gardens. Each of the spacious and elegant villas also offer kitchens and maxi-bars, air-conditioned rooms, complimentary high speed wifi, made-to-order breakfast, full room service, free airport transfers, complimentary shuttle, 24-hour concierge and security, plus in-house spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Kubu Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kubu - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
Villa Kubu Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing