We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“7/10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Taman Ayu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taman Ayu
Ranked #100 of 137 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“7/10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Had a Superior Room for seven nights over New Year. The room, dressing area and bathroom whilst old were large, with a nice balcony to sit overlooking great gardens. Step up bath had no overhead shower other than hand held hose. Bathroom mirror lighting was poor for shaving/makeup etc.This was my first time stay. Staff were very friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    101
    44
    11
    11
See reviews for
28
68
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed. It's nothing like the website pictures - it might be photo shopped. My husband and I have booked the Superior room and our first impression was that we got the wrong room. It was very small, mold odor, saggy mattress and so on….It was when I found a nasty object (that I cannot even describe it) on the soap cap that I’ve decided to go to the reception and inquired the staff to change our room. They gave another room, which we paid a little more and I thought for a moment that it would be better….gosh, how wrong I was! I couldn’t sleep – awful mattress and stinky mold sheet (which is grey and not white - so old it is). Also, dirty and old bathtub, rusty toothbrush/cup holder, crap furniture….just look at my pictures. And not only that the staff is so rude and they charged as the second night, we couldn’t stay there longer as we’ve planned – what a nightmare. Even our Balinese drive said the staff was rude and he had the mistake of not telling us that he knew some tourists who also had left the hotel as we did… Check the pictures…

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank valzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Although I was disappointed over Bali, the hotel choice, however, proved to be perfect. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, clean them regularly every day, every day fresh linen and towels every day bottles fresh water per person. Staff very friendly, helpful. Reception and restaurant rain 24 hours .. I like the peace in the surroundings of the hotel, although the front is quite a busy street, so to get a taxi is no problem. Price of taxi to Kuta is approximately 50,000 IRP to the taximeter. The beach is approx 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was the second time I have been to Bali. I had a friend that lives in Bali booked me this room. I thought the located was great! Although the place was full to capacity it was not noisy and didn't feel packed with people. The bar restaurant is 24 hours and served reasonable food and fair prices. The pool was a quiet oasis and never seemed crowded. The room was spacious and clean with all amenities. The balcony was a nice plus also. I will definitely stay at Taman Ayu again when I visit Bali!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_fish59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It was my second time in Taman Ayu (Seminyak) and this time was a big big disappointment. I've been in Taman Ayu 2 years ago and I'd a great experience there. We were 3 people and we got a family cottage. It was great, everything was brand new and beautiful.
This time, I booked by internet and the room assigned was really really bad. Everything was old and crap, the forniture was broken, the mattress awful, the towels instead of white were grey, the bathtube was dirty, the bath curtain moldy...for the price I payed I could get a better accomodation in Seminyak or Kuta. Definitely it was a bad value for money and I will never go back Taman Ayu.
Suggestion: Do not book Taman Ayu by internet and check the room before doing check in. Family Cottages and Villas are nice but not Deluxe or Superior Rooms.
Sorry about my english :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreiaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wife and myself plus our four kids enjoyed this place; it was quiet, had the minimum required - pleasant staff, pool, ok breakfast, adequate room service, clean. We knew we were on to something when we met several different families/couples/singles who were repeat stayers.

Probably the best element of Taman Ayu was the room size - enormous compared to similarly priced other places.

Second best element was the location - you could head north to any number of restaurants/warungs up towards Kerobokan, or head into the much busier Seminyak eat-street area. We had some truly memorable family meals at an Italian restaurant, but also, up on Batu Belig, at a little noodle 66, with the most delightful views.

Taman Ayu hires scooters at reasonable rates and I headed over to Denpasar a few times, down into Kuta, as well as going exploring up the coast to the north.

Clay tennis court not too far away. Good spa, hairdresser, ATM short walk. Biku, famous for high tea, 250m walk but you need to book; Ku De Tah - 1km taksi or walk it.

In short, nothing special, but everything it should have been :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

we booked this villa for only a day to give us a place to stay before a late flight out. The photos in the brochure are definitely very deceiving and out one bedroom villa was not what was advertised! The room was dark, dirty, the airconditioning was not powerful enough to cool the room and the bathroom was not clean. The courtyard to our villa was dirt not grass and the outdoor cooking area covered in cobwebs.

The pool was badly in need of renovation and to get to the pool bar you had to climb out up over a huge ledge! We ended up spending our day elsewhere and only using the room to have a quick shower before leaving.

Would not recommend this place at all when there are so many nice villas nearby!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni33C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Bali Ayu Hotel
Bali Ayu Hotel
#92 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#59 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
ANANDA RESORT
ANANDA RESORT
#87 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puri Madawi
Puri Madawi
#93 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
#48 of 137 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puri Dewa Bharata Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taman Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taman Ayu

Property: The Taman Ayu
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Kerobokan, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taman Ayu 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Taman Ayu Seminyak A Premium Location , with Privacy, Excellent Value & Full Service. A true Bali experience awaits at Taman Ayu in Seminyak. With full service hotel combines traditional elements with all modern conveniences. Everything that has to offer is at your doorstep. The best restaurant precinct, fashion shopping and an array of glorious sunset bars, are all within easy reach. Inside this premium location is a spacious garden setting that gives guests a feeling of seclusion and tranquility. With various options from our superior rooms right up to our spacious private villas, we are sure to have something to suit your needs. Welcome to the real Seminyak and The Taman Ayu. New for 2014: Come and enjoy our expanded main pool & new deluxe accommodation wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Taman Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Ayu Cottage Hotel Seminyak
Taman Ayu Cottage Kuta
The Taman Ayu Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing