We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the price at all”
Review of The Taman Ayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Taman Ayu
Ranked #110 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not worth the price at all”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

luckily we only stayed for a night, we got the worst room near the reception. everything was run down from the bed to the creepy bathroom, it looks worst than my late grandfather's house in the kampong (rural area) from the 1980s.
the whole room has a damp feel to it. I couldn't sleep at all for the whole night. and to think it cost us USD60 a night. the only redemption is the location. I could pay a bit more to get a better room elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strangger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    119
    51
    11
    16
See reviews for
36
81
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was our worst hotel ever. Dirty bathroom upon arrival : Had to ask two times to claen the bad, it was black, not cleanded at all. Never again !
Sorry that we had to end our trip in Bali here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline_02-1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. I added extra bed.
The hotel location easy to reach. Nearby you can find so many minimarkets and restaurants.
But if you want to find fast food restaurant such as KFC and McD, you need to travel to Kuta for approx 4-5 km.
The room cozy, though I found a bar soap that used by the previous guest still layed on the basin.
The scenery inside the cottage is very green. There was a peacock in a cage and rabbits that my daughter loved it :)
The pool was OK.

The seminyak beach is better than Kuta beach. It is still natural, clean and less sellers.

Overall, its worth the money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoddyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed in super deluxe room which was spacious enough for 2 girls short stay and the price were incredibly value for money!! the place itself brought serenade environment. the staffs were all very good, very helpful, always looking at you with smiley face, even helped me to call upon the restaurant nearby for a dinner reservation during my stay. i'll be back and stay here again for sure for my second trip next time! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dygmaisarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We've stayed at Taman Ayu cottages from 13th till 17th of January. From the beginning that we arrived at the premises.. we have been served well by the their staffs!
It was really one of our most memorable stay in Indonesia!
Our room at the 1st floor was nice spacious and well maintained. The aircon is functioning perfectly, the bathroom is clean and well stocked with bath amenities and shaving gears as well! Our King size bed was truly awesome! Very comfortable and spacious!
Our room was overlooking the garden and the reception entrance via our balcony. During breakfast hours the restaurant staff served Indonesian nasi goreng or American breakfast with fresh toast and fruits platter. But a la carte breakfast selections are available too at a small additional charges.
The waiters are very helpful and always in the mood for a morning chat :-) Unfortunately some of their guest are NOT always in a good mood.. some of them are even a bit impolite! Shame them, you supposed to be a guest.. then please act like wise!
In the afternoon we swim in Taman Ayu beautiful pool which is secluded within their lusty garden. For tasty fresh fruit juices just order at the pool bar and the bartender make it right away for you! In our case we ordered fresh young coconut in its shell... awesome delicious!! The most positive issue we have encountered during our vacation is the fact that Taman Ayu is not in a busy street location sited or having children's in their premises :-)
So nice calm and peaceful in the whole premises! I believe due the remote distance to the most tourist 'trap' as Kuta, Taman Ayu is blessed with a peaceful surrounding.

Thank you all of your staff at Taman Ayu for our great memorable stay in Bali!
Terima kasih banyak atas perhatian kalian semua di Taman Ayu cottage!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disc0vering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

A group of us visited Seminyak after an amazing stay in Ubud and figured we might have carried our expectations too high coming from Ubud.

We booked several different category of rooms through agoda.com and 90 percent of our travelling party was disappointed.

Granted hotel prices in Seminyak is more costly than the rest of Bali, on average each room was about USD 55.00 and we expected a bit more than what we got.

The hotel is in need of some freshen up, some of the 'better' super deluxe rooms enjoyed bigger overall room space, but the bathroom was old and dark. From all of our experiences at the hotel, we all agreed that the part most worthy of our complaint was the shower/bath. The water pressure was very low for Bali standard and it was very difficult to get the water temperature right - it was either burning hot or just freezing cold..a balance aka comfortable shower temperature in an tropical environment was rarely attained.

Another point to watch out - several of us hear a loud "thump" sound in the middle of the night, we tried to figure out what it was, and the consensus amongst the group was that it came from the air-conditioner. Not many of us enjoyed a solid night of sleep...

Ask for the deluxe room if you have to visit, its the best room (newly renovated, and most well designed room with best value for money)!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Lovely staff, beautiful lush gardens, great pool (tho surprisingly deep!), clean rooms, comfy beds, awesome resident masseur, decent breakfast (go the Indonesian breaky or the omelette), 24hr restaurant/bar with pool table out the front. Location (for me) was perfect - nice & peaceful, and far away from the hussle and bustle that is Kuta & Legian! But only cpl bucks in a taxi if you wanna go there to shop or whatever. Also... awesome food at the restaurant directly across the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RippaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.1 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#91 of 143 in Seminyak
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Ayu Hotel
Bali Ayu Hotel
#87 of 143 in Seminyak
293 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Alea Hotel Seminyak
The Alea Hotel Seminyak
#92 of 143 in Seminyak
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amalfi Hotel Seminyak
Amalfi Hotel Seminyak
#86 of 143 in Seminyak
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#56 of 143 in Seminyak
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#82 of 143 in Seminyak
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taman Ayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taman Ayu

Property: The Taman Ayu
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Kerobokan, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Taman Ayu 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Taman Ayu Seminyak A Premium Location , with Privacy, Excellent Value & Full Service. A true Bali experience awaits at Taman Ayu in Seminyak. With full service hotel combines traditional elements with all modern conveniences. Everything that has to offer is at your doorstep. The best restaurant precinct, fashion shopping and an array of glorious sunset bars, are all within easy reach. Inside this premium location is a spacious garden setting that gives guests a feeling of seclusion and tranquility. With various options from our superior rooms right up to our spacious private villas, we are sure to have something to suit your needs. Welcome to the real Seminyak and The Taman Ayu. New for 2014: Come and enjoy our expanded main pool & new deluxe accommodation wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Taman Ayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Ayu Cottage Hotel Seminyak
Taman Ayu Cottage Kuta
The Taman Ayu Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing