We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice`Staff, comfortable accomodation, crap food, dodgy hotel exchange rate”
Review of Desamuda Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desamuda Village
Ranked #22 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Great Location, friendly staff, good clean Villas, very ordinary restaurant (crap food).....spoilt at the end by being overcharged for exchange rate for hotel payment & transit to Nusa Dua.
There is better value in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 482 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at the property and once again I was very impressed. This property has everything going for it, great central location, beautifully maintained grounds, beautifully appointed and clean rooms and extremely friendly staff.
This year we booked another property and were so disappointed that we quickly moved to this property and the staff were so wonderful they managed to find us a villa even though they were fully booked.
Once again I stayed in a 3 bedroom villa with a plunge pool, I highly recommend booking a 3 bedroom over a two bedroom if you can manage it as it is much more spacious and well laid out. The villa was well equipped with a small kitchen and dining area and large rooms each with beautiful bathrooms. The only thing the kitchen is missing is a microwave, if you are in need of this for very young children.
The grounds also have two beautiful pools and a restaurant that serves a good breakfast each morning.
The location of this property is great, with beautiful boutiques on the door step and the beach only 15 minutes walk. There is also a shuttle bus service if you need free of charge that can take you to the beach or Kuta if you need.
I highly recommend this property to anyone and believe that it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had 4 nights at Desamuda Village in September and loved it. We booked a 1 bedroom pool villa (indo.com was fantastic) and were upgraded to a 2 bedrm pool villa - they just locked the 2nd bedroom upstairs, but you could still go upstairs & sit in the lounge & on the top balcony) The villa itself was lovely and comfortable, although I do hope they change the lounge in the living area, as it had wooden arms & not so good for lounging on.The bedroom was lovely, and overlooked one of the large resort pools. Our kingsize bed was sooo comfortable with the mosquito net & great air-conditioning. Large bathroom with a shower as well as bath & outdoor shower. Our pool had sun the whole day & the kitchen had everything, including their own water filter. No need to buy bottled water, and a full fridge for storing all our drinks etc.
The beauty about Desamuda is that with 2 resort pools, it was great to swim in them and meet other travellers. So it is perfect for families that want a lovely villa, and some socialising as well.
Desamuda provides complimentary dropoff in Kuta/Legian/Seminyak etc, so each night they would take us to wherever we wanted to go to.
Breakfast was fine - normal egg station/buffet etc.
The staff were absolutely lovely and were always happy to assist.
Apart from our beautiful villa, the location was perfect - you just walked up their wide driveway, & were in the midst of great shopping and restaurants. The beach is a fair hike away, but it isn't very nice, so it was not missed at all. But the comp. dropoff takes care of that, if you really want to go to the beach.Once inside Desamuda, it is quiet & peaceful, and never did it appear crowded. The grounds are beautiful.
We will definitely stay there again when we return to Seminyak.
P.S. The 3 bedroom villas are absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our teenagers. we travelled with a group of three families. The hotel accomodated us all in the one location. It was truly special having our own pool when we got hot it was a quick dip in and out. These villas are amazing. As a group we could catch up when we wanted or hide behind the wall. The two large pools are also great for relaxing around. The villa has large bedrooms and bathrooms A/C outdoor living. You are provide with mozzie spray and coils, filtered water for both hot and cold water, free wi fi, and serviced daily. The staff are always welcoming and the hotel aslo provides a free shuttle service. As long as the van isnt being used they will take you to wherever you need to go within a reasonable distance. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fannyfub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Desamuda Village recently and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Staff were extremely friendly and very sweet; the room was really nice too with a kitchenette, dining table, lounge and TV, then a massive 4 poster bed and a large bathroom with dressing room, full-size bath and separate shower.

The gardens are beautifully landscaped and there are two pools - both were pretty empty as a lot of people seemed to have villas with private pools.

Breakfast was good with fresh juice, cereal, toast, some pastries & then hot food (Western & Indonesian) including freshly made omelettes.

The location is fine - set back from the road which has restaurants and nice shops, although we tended to use the free shuttle service and get dropped in 'Eat Street' where there is a great choice of eateries (we liked Ultimo especially - great service, especially as it was very busy on a Friday night; The Junction was also good & Nirvana was good with cheap & cheerful cocktails).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberryfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

First time to Bali and Seminyak and was very lucky to have picked this villa.

The villas have an airport pick up/drop off and we arrived late. Put us at ease that we were taken care of by the villa staff. When we drove down the driveway off the main street of Seminyak, we thought we had made a bad mistake. It is down an alley way but when you get to the hotel and out of the car, our concerns were gone.

We checked in late and the receptionist was waiting for us. We were offered a welcome drink. Quickly took us to our room and settled in within 5 mins. We had chosen a one bedroom villa and this was massive. Nice decor and clean. All you need really.

The grounds are lovely and mature, extremely well kept. Two good pools, bfast was included in our rate which wasnt over the top but good enough - no complaints there. Eggs cooked to order which was great.

Staff were extremely friendly and not over the top. We were told that they were close to being fully booked. You would not have known it. So quiet. This place is great for families as its safe for kids but also couples you can do your own thing.

If you are after 5 star accom, you most probably wont like this. No fancy trimmings but you wont be disappointed if u are looking for a nice 4 star hotel. The location is fantastic on the main street but set back and you dont hear all the noise. Close to all good shops and restaurants and all walking distance. Its a good 15 mins walk to the beach.

If we have to mention a negative, we had a tiny tv in lounge and the couch to sit on to watch was a wooden balinese style. Not the most comfortable but wasn't in the room too much.

Our Bali trip was Seminyak - Ubud - Seminyak. After our Ubud trip and had originally chosen to stay at the Oberoi and have cancelled that to come back to Desamuda.

Really recommend guys!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Furree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our family of 8 planned destination Seminyak as our last stop in our week long trip in Bali and Desamuda as our choice of villa.

We were spot on with our selection! Desamuda is situated right in the heart of seminyak, its just a walk away from the main road with plenty variety of boutique to choose from. We got loads of dresses for our kids while making our last minute shopping! Only a walk away from the villa, really no need for cars or taxi.

The beach with beautiful sand and view is only a street across. The location of Desamuda is truly perfect for us with our last two nights in Bali. Everything was so accessible from our villa.

Our family stayed in Villa No. 1, a 3 bedroom villa with our own private pool. The room was clean and the pool is well heated, not at all cold. The only whine we have for the place was the mosquito, and plenty of them, so do bring your own repellent if you prefer even though the staff can provide you with them. And it will be better if they could replace the sofa with a more comfortable one, really not a good sofa to sit on, especially with a tired body. And most annoying thing was most of our bodies were bitten by fleas because we sat on the sofa!

However the staff of Desamunda really leave a good impression with us, even before we arrive in Bali. We definitely made a lot of calls to the villa inquiring on so many things, and they always remember us and answer our query with clarity and to the point, as from our experience in booking hotels.

The house keeping staff responded to our every whim, from the mosquito situation to laundry and all other request. The staff responded to us in a jiffy. Kudos to staff Kadek Arya, really left our stay with a fantastic memory. On our late check in and settling down, we asked Arya for recommendation on any good place to eat, but noticing our tired face and body, he offered his help to take away food for us, the Balinese favorite - Babi guling! We won't want to trouble him as we have our car, but we got persuaded by his offer. The food he got us didn't disappoint our hungry stomach at all, it lifted our taste bud and our tired body, really delicious comparing to the famous Ibu Oka we tried days ago. He truly helped us a lot in our short stay in the villa, noticing we are heading to the beach, he offer us new towel for our beach trip. A lot of little details he notices and help us really make our stay a memorable one.

I'll leave out the details and let the future visitor enjoy this 6 star service villa. We will come back again, definitely!

Once again, thank you to the staff of Desamuda for making our stay a really memorable one

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChocoEclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bali Yarra Villas
Bali Yarra Villas
#31 of 426 in Seminyak
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#28 of 426 in Seminyak
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa III Seminyak
0.7 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#32 of 426 in Seminyak
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desamuda Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desamuda Village

Address: Jl. Raya Basangkasa no. 30A, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $38 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desamuda Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desamuda Village is still one of Bali's most idyllic resorts. Consisting with collections of 26 private villas set within a tropically landscaped garden.The resorts were surrounded by Bali's most vibrant tourist districts in a stylish shopping and restaurant arcades for all your favorites gourmet treats in the prime area of SEMINYAK, Kuta - Bali. 7 minutes drive to many points on the Exotic white or/and black sands of The West Ocean Beach, 5 minutes from the night life, clubs, Bars & Lounge and sunset spots with its surroundings and 20 minute drive from/to Ngurah-Rai International Airport Featuring in one, two & three bedrooms, the air-conditioned villas come with wooden furnishings, garden views and a semi-outdoor private bathroom (Hot & Cold). LCD-screen satellite TVs and DVD players in all rooms, A gallon of drinking water; Breakfast and Dinner could be served in the villas. For convenience: Room service, laundry & Dry Cleaning service is also provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desamuda Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desamuda Village Hotel Seminyak
Desamuda Village Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing