We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location at reasonable price”
Review of Desamuda Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desamuda Village
Ranked #22 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Based on Trip Advisor's review, we booked a 2 bedroom villa at a discounted price via asiarooms.com. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we were given a three bedroom with one of the room locked up. The staff at the villa were very friendly and helpful and took time to give us a brief tour of the villa and explain how the safe works. The location is very good, right smack on the shopping street in Seminyak. However, it would have been even better if there is a regular shuttle service to and from Kuta town. Although the villa has a shuttle, we need to book an hour in advance and it is only one way, meaning we have to find our own way back.

The private pool was rather small, good for children to play in but not for adult to swim.Hence, we choose to use the main pool instead. The only one complaint we had was the number of mosquitos after dark. My younger daughter was badly bitten even though we had lit the mosquito coil. The second night, we hid in our bedrooms once we got back from dinner and kept all the doors tightly closed.

Nevertheless, we would still stay at Desamuda the next time if we could still get such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 482 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was my first trip to Bali I got to stay in the beautiful Desamuda Village with their friendly staff. We booked a 2-bedroom villa (which the girl at booking.com told us could fit 6 people), but unfortunately the villa we requested for was not available. We were upgraded to a 3-bedroom villa with a bigger pool and living area, though they locked up one room and we had to pay 50USD/night to open up the extra room. Tip: Out of their seven 2-bedroom villas, there is 1 villa at the same rate which has 6 beds. To get this special villa you have to make your request directly to Desamuda rather than book through an agent, else they'll assign this villa randomly. This was about the only downside to my stay at Desmuda. Otherwise, the villa was really beautiful, with princess-y beds (those with a mosquito net around), resort-style toilets which have a portion that is open air so you can look out into the starry sky, TV in every bedroom with a wide variety of channels including HBO. Even their toiletries were great-smelling. As for the location, it's apparently in a more upscale area of Bali, there are bars lining the street to the left and a western food cafe called Eat Well on the right, which serves a great wagyu beef burger. I would highly recommend families and groups of friends to spend your Bali holiday in Desamuda Village. The pictures speak for itself!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the most amazing time staying here! We are already planning a trip back soon.
We opted for the 1 bedroom pool villa which was such a good choice! There were 3 of us but we just had a rollaway bed which was fine. Having our own private pool was amazing! There was so much privacy, yet the only room which was completely enclosed was the bedroom. We really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor nature of the rest of the room which was perfect for the hot weather. The room was immaculate, the beds were very comfortable with high quality linen and everything in the room was quite new and modern. We were always greeted with a smile by the staff, and nothing was too much hassle. We wanted a DVD player one night which was no extra charge (had been charged at other places we stayed) and there were also free airport transfers.
I would definitely recommend staying here for your next visit to Seminyak!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a pool villa! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My partner and I had an amazing, romantic 5 night getaway at Desmuda Village this month. It was our first time travelling to Bali and we were a little apprehensive when making a booking for accommodation as pictures can always be deceiving.
On arriving at Desamuda we were not disappointed. The greeting was friendly and check in went smoothly. We were staying in a one bedroom villa with a private pool which we just adored. The only thing you needed for the evenings was some mozzie spray as the "living area" is semi outdoors. The staff at the village were top notch, extremely friendly and always ready to help. The location is great and we found a fantastic little Indonesian restaurant walking distance from the villa which we ate at most nights. We ate at the Desamuda restaurant one of the nights (The Rice Table) and ordered their special Rijsttafel dinner which was scrumptious! We found the buffet breakfast good value and it had a large selection to choose from. We highly recommend Desamuda and would be happy to stay their again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. Amazingly quiet as it is so close to the main road. The staff go out of their way to ensure you have a good holiday. Will definitely stay there again on our next visit to your wonderful island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedroom villa with private pool from the 18th to 22nd of August 2012 and it was great! The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. Our entourage comprised 5 adults and 4 children and this villa was just perfect for us. The villa is located just a short walk away from a myriad of shops and amenities. The staff were attentive and helpful throughout our stay here and made our stay memorable.This is a place we would be happy to come back to if we return to Bali.

The area for improvement would perhaps be the water pressure for the showers which was erratic. Also, a word of caution for those with children who intend to stay in the same villa: the pool is 1.5m deep throughout and not suitable for very small children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealHonestOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Awesome by anyone's standard..Private and very relaxing, clean and spacious. We chose Desamuda Village for our next holiday to Bali on a previous trip. We were not disappointed by our decision.. Having stayed at villas close by, Desamuda outshines. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flytrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bali Yarra Villas
Bali Yarra Villas
#31 of 426 in Seminyak
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#28 of 426 in Seminyak
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kumpul Kumpul Villa III Seminyak
0.7 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#32 of 426 in Seminyak
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desamuda Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desamuda Village

Address: Jl. Raya Basangkasa no. 30A, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $38 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desamuda Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desamuda Village is still one of Bali's most idyllic resorts. Consisting with collections of 26 private villas set within a tropically landscaped garden.The resorts were surrounded by Bali's most vibrant tourist districts in a stylish shopping and restaurant arcades for all your favorites gourmet treats in the prime area of SEMINYAK, Kuta - Bali. 7 minutes drive to many points on the Exotic white or/and black sands of The West Ocean Beach, 5 minutes from the night life, clubs, Bars & Lounge and sunset spots with its surroundings and 20 minute drive from/to Ngurah-Rai International Airport Featuring in one, two & three bedrooms, the air-conditioned villas come with wooden furnishings, garden views and a semi-outdoor private bathroom (Hot & Cold). LCD-screen satellite TVs and DVD players in all rooms, A gallon of drinking water; Breakfast and Dinner could be served in the villas. For convenience: Room service, laundry & Dry Cleaning service is also provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desamuda Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desamuda Village Hotel Seminyak
Desamuda Village Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing