We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic, best ever, must go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kunja Villas & Spa
Ranked #2 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic, best ever, must go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

This was our first trip using a villa and it doesn't get any better than that. The facilities were outstanding and so luxurious with a fabulous private pool, bedrooms and bathrooms. we stayed in both the 3 bedroom and 1 bedroom villas. The service was the best and when moved from the 3 bedroom to the one bedroom nothing was too much trouble. they even bought in a larger table so that our extended family could still come to our villa and eat breakfast with us. I would go back in an instant. For those of you with children, do what we did and go out and buy pool toys. At bali prices very cheap which means you don't mind leaving them so you don't have to pack them in suitcases. Their car service was brillant and they even organised restaurant bookings and things to do. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markstanley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    53
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
135
393
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

Where to start?
Thank you friends back in Perth for recommending The Kunja!
The minute we stepped through the great wooden doors to our own private villa you enter your own little paradise which is always welcome after hours of shopping and dodging traffic in the main streets.
The luxurious and spacious 1 bedroom villa comprises a sumpteous and inviting king size bed in a large room with WIR.
Kitchen, dining and lounge area are combined in a a very generous alfresco area overlooking a large pool to beat the heat.
Breakfast is cooked for you in the villa by warm, friendly staff. "Thank you guys for the best ever pancakes!"
Although a little off the beaten track, The Kunja is situated close to some of the best eateries in Bali, Breezes at The Samaya being within walking distance.
The Kunja offers its guests free transport to its surrounding areas as far as Kuta.
They also offer spa services and I'm looking forward to my last massage on our last day tomorrow. Ooh, another week here would be perfect!
We will definitely come back next year and will recommend The Kunja to our friends and any discerning traveller wishing to stay in a Bali Villa in the Seminyak area.
Special thanks to Reception, Suta, Oka, Wayan and The Accountant for making our stay so special.

Allan and Rosalie, Perth, Australia.









.
tthe KunkPancakes super umidityhy ekng wirwalk, p with a king-size sumpteous=size erawooden

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navcompipingalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

After deciding to visit Bali on the spur of the moment, during the height of the peak season, finding quality accommodation was always going to be a problem. As such, we were forced to take a few days here and there and take our chances with waitlists and cancellations. We also acknowledged that we would be paying top price; but who can put a price on romance? Anyway, it gave us the chance to stay at several resorts and compare them.

The absolute standout was the Kunja. The is a collection of 1 and 3 bedroom villas, with magnificent private swimming pools. The 3br villas are blessed with a brilliantly designed 16metre pool, while the 1brs make do with something a little smaller. great indoor/outdoor design, excellent sound system, with a jack just waiting for my iPod. (I paid US$600 for one night at the Sofitel which, amongst numerous other disappintments, did not see fit to supply such a cable; a separate review will follow.)

One quirk with the Kunja is that there is no on-site restaurant. Breakfast is prepared in your villa, but after that you must rely on home delivery if you are not stepping out for the evening. The Kunja staff do optimise the home delivery method, providing several menus i the room and going to collect your food to ensure it arrives in the best condition. But inevitably, the quality does vary.

The area that might have been a restaurant is occupied by a quality Spa. so, with the well equipped rooms, huge indoor/outdoor bathroom (and did I mention the magnificent private - behind very high walls - pool?), and complimentary transfer to the variety of excellent restaurants in the area (walking distance from kudeta if you aren't wearing high heels), we were happy with this compromise.

Kunja is manager Rob's third or fourth project in Bali, from inception through to on-going execution, and it shows. The rooms are nigh on perfect for the hedonistic and demanding traveler.

Hard to please? Moi? Apparently not.
CS

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CS3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

First of all, the villa (we had a one bedroom villa) is really amazing.
Big pool, big bedroom, nice living room. The pool is the nicest, we ever had in a villa.
It is a 4,5 star room. Especially the bathroom is big and trendy, but the furniture is not of high quality.

Unfortunately the service seems to be the major problem of this hotel. We booked a airport transfer. We were waiting for one hour then calling two times the hotel which told us that the transport was already there. There was no one. Can happen, but an apology of the reception staff was missing. Not a 5-star service.

The location is north from the Seminyak center. Not a bad location, but definitely to far to walk. So you need a transport to the beach and to restaurants. On the website the hotel promises there is a "complimentary and unlimited transport by the hotel". The first evening, we called at 6.00 PM that we need a transport at 7.30 PM. At 7.50 PM nobody picked us up. We called again and were told the transport is not available but we could call a taxi (we did). On the following days we sometimes got a transport from the hotel, but it was never on time and we always had to call several times to get it. Waiting, waiting, waiting .... They never apologized and behaved like it was our fault. Definitely not a 5-star service. They don't seem to be organized in any way.

Breakfast is served in the villa. This seems to be a great idea, we thought. Unfortunately the choice of what you can get is really limited. The only choice you have is between different kind of eggs. The breakfast consists of toasted bread (very dry), butter, jam and honey, a small croissant and a small pain-au-raisin, the egg you chose, some juice and fruits. Sounds not bad, but in the way it was delivered this is getting really boring. We had much better breakfasts in most of the B&B we stayed in. You book your breakfast one day before. For sure, it was always late.
If you order breakfast "on call" (which was a option by the hotel) you get a wake-up-call inclusive, if you like it or not. A breakfast in a hotel restaurant would have been much better, they should change.

After the breakfast you have to tell them at which time they should clean the room. They are calling nevertheless additionally checking at which time they should come and then they will come early. To not getting disturbed, we put out the DNS-sign, otherwise they come in whenever they like. But they had a nice trick for that, too. In this case they called.
Privacy only when they like.

Last but not least, the internet access drove me crazy. We tried to access by iphone. Thye good message is, that you can make it work. The bad message is, that you have to log in to the hotel network via username/password everytime you want to connect to the internet. This is because they us a pop-up technique. A pop-up has to be opened as long as you are browsing. After one day I had the cryptic password in my mind after I putted in so many times.

Don't ask for a restaurant recommendation. They will send you directly to the most expensive ones (which are also overpriced and under-delivered).

In our room we could still hear the construction work form the hotel next door. Sometimes loud. In other villas, which are closer, this can get really annoying. So better ask for a quiet room.

To sum it, the room is really nice. They had a good architect. But the hotel is not managed as a luxury hotel. For the money you pay, you would expect a much better service. It would be very easy to fix that, we think. You can stay there if you want a nice room and pool but don't expect service for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank traxilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

First impressions are always important and our first impressions of The Kunja were very good. We arrived on a Sunday night. Collected by the hotel car and provided with water immediately which was nice after spending an hour clearing customs.
The driver took us straight to the villa and also handled the check in so within 5 minutes we were in the pool. Certainly the pool would have to be the largest in size in comparison to other private villas in Seminyak.

Next morning we awoke to breakfast being cooked by one of the staff members who we would get to know quite well over the coming week. Toast, pastries, orange juice, Bali coffee (very strong), bacon & eggs followed by fruit which we put in the fridge for later on most days. Breakfast was nice. Not exceptional but not having to do anything other than sit at the table is the winner.

As some of the other posters have mentioned there was quite a bit of noise during the day from a building site next door. Now this wouldn't normally be a big deal as most of our time we would be out during the day, however I got sick for a couple of days where we didn't go out and the noise got really irritating as I was trying to rest.

The staff are what makes this place. They were brilliant. Nothing was any bother for them. I couldn't count the number of times I was greeted with a smile every day.

But I wouldn't stay there again in a hurry. There were some issues which I just don't like or appreciate for the money we paid:

- ants everywhere in the kitchen that would appear an instant you put anything on the bench - even a can of soft drink
- I too starting receiving mysterious telephone calls multiple times a day. I refused to take any of them and told reception "no more calls' but they kept coming.
- location is just a bit far off the beaten track. It's a good 20 minute walk to "Eat Street", so be prepared for plenty of cab rides back home. I wouldn't even attempt to walk back at night unless you want a broken ankle. The foothpaths, if you can call them that, are very hazardous and there's not a street light to be seen in the road up to The Kunja.
- the noise from the building site. One day that will stop but I wouldn't take a chance again in the next 12 months.
- wifi was a pain as you kept having to obtain a username/password each day to logon. And it was limited to one device. My wife & I both had iPads and iPhones so this wasn't particularly useful if we both wanted some online time.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves immensely but in the end the location was probably what would stop us from staying at The Kunja again. If it were closer then no problem. I'm sure some of the smaller issues could be resolved but when you pay 360+ USD p/night I don't want any issues at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

The best hotel in bali , i went there with my husbend & it was soooo amaizing speacially the private pool with the private breakfest is the villa with the great staff,there where more than helpfull
i loved the villa & the bed & the bathroom with noo bugs as the usual in balis hotels

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REMA_ALRAJHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We booked diretly with the hotel over 10 months ago a 1 bedroom villa in a quiet location.

We arrived from Ubud and not one member of staff got up from there chairs to welcome us this is the first time ever that it felt like no one could be bothered! Not the best start.

Was shown to Villa 4 right next to the main entrance and as soon as we entered the villa we could hear construction work from a near by building site, drilling, hammering etc. We explained that we could not stay in this villa due to the noise and was shown the only other available villa next door! We were told all other villas were full and then they bascially washed their hands of the problem. We explained we could not stay and they offered us use of their office to find alternative accomadation.

We finally did find a private 3 bedroom rental villa for the same price and got out of the Kunja as soon as possible we felt extremely let down and it was the worst welcome and experience we have ever encountered any where in the world. Please also note the hotel is far away from anywhere (althoug it does appear to be in the middle of building suite) also what little we did see of the villas were that they were worn and dated and had realy high walls which made it quiet enclosed.

Sorry but can not recommend and we would never try to stay there again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
15.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunja Villas & Spa

Property: The Kunja Villas & Spa
Address: Jalan Lebak Sari 8 Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kunja Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in breathtakingly expansive surroundings. The Kunja Villa Hotel boasts 18 exquisite one and three bedroom villas providing traditional yet sophisticated ambiance with standards to please the most discerning guests. Add to this complete privacy (except for private chef and in-villa dining staff at your service), a 24 hour vehicle totally dedicated to your every whim and you have an experience that exceeds all expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kunja Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing